We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Literally, one of my favorite places in the world!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fanari Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fanari Villas to your Saves list
Fanari Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oia santorini, Oia 84702, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Oia
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Literally, one of my favorite places in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I went to Santorini for part of our honeymoon and Fanari was one of two places we stayed (the other was Canaves), because we wanted to experience them both. Each was a wonderful place, with Fanari being smaller, more intimate and more classically designed.

I honestly don't think anything about this hotel could possibly be improved! The staff was so nice and helped advise us on places to go, and when we arrived a bit late the first night, they still ensured we had some dinner. The food was excellent, they had the room STOCKED with complimentary drinks when we arrived, and one morning they brought us breakfast to our balcony...and I mean they brought us a little of everything they offer at breakfast to be sure we had what we wanted! Their service is almost ridiculous it is so good, but in a laid back non-pretentious way.

The facilities are impeccable and show a lot of character! The room we stayed in had a HUGE bathroom (both shower and tub), a sitting room area, a TV and DVD player, an in-room hot tub that was more like a pool in size (although they don't keep it steamy hot like they do in the US), a semi private balcony and THE sunset view of Santorini above all others. I say THE sunset view, because people will specifically come to this hotel to order a drink and watch the sunset, because it is perfectly positioned.

I had always wanted to stay at one of these world-famous cave hotels and this was such a dream come true, particularly being able to share it with my new bride. What a treat! I will definitely look forward to going back for our five year anniversary. I love Greece as whole, and I love Santorini (Thera) in particular.
(we actually went in October 2010, but the date selector does not seem to go back that far)

Room Tip: Ask about the island boat tour, where they grill you lunch on the boat and let you swim to a sulfur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    18
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
30
134
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We got married at Fanari Villas. Our villa was so beautiful with our own private entrance, terrace & balcony. The views are to die for, the staff incredibly helpful & friendly & everything of our stay was just perfect. Our photos don't look real, the scenery is so spectacular. The little detail at the villas added to our experience such as great food, the beautiful individual hand made lights from the boutique down the road in Oia (we bought some for our home) the unique layout of the rooms, the quirky but stylish furnishings, the beautiful artwork, the unbelievable pool in the grotto, the gentle whoosh of the windmills, the cool hush of the private domed chapel - we loved it all. Cannot wait to return!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Cloud France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Rooms are in authentic caves decorated with charm and including modern confort. Our terrasse was totally private with nobody walking in front of it (which is not the case in all hotels). You have to go to your own room through a serie of stairs which makes the place even more charming and authentic. This is a boutique hotel with a limited number of guests (around 12 rooms). The swimming pool is not too big, but sufficient for swimming (10m), and quite special as partially embedded within the rocks. The sunset from you terrasse is beautiful and the view quite nice and relaxing, though this is not the best view that you can have in Santorini: the hotel is located at the end of Oia, and you can not fully see within the caldera, but rather at the exit of it. We had dinner every night on our terrasse, and enjoy it at affordable price while profiting of the sun set. The breakfeast was good with various choices, and still a beautiful view with limited number of people: the bad thing is that the best located table for 2 persons is booked all day by the owner of the hotel..... A real bad thing which really needs to be improved is that there are no umbrella on the terrasse close to the swimming pool meaning this is nearly impossible to enjoy the deckchairs during the afternoon when the sun is strong.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were recommended to stay at Fanari Villas at Oia instead of staying in Fira and travelling there for the sunset, and what a recommendation it was. You could not ask for a better location, on the cliff, with a fresh sea breeze and a view to die for. We here for 3 nights, arriving at night, to the delightful view of the lights of the hotel and other nearby properties. Despite our late check-in due to our ferry being 2 hours late, we were still able to dine well after 9:30pm, the staff were so accommodating. If you are not fit and wary of stairs, then this is not the place for you as there are many stairs to climb just to go to dine and then more to reach reception, and then more to leave the property. Fanari has a beautiful pool that is half in a cave. You can borrow a laptop from reception for internet access. Breakfast and dinner can either be taken outdoors on the terrace or inside. Dinner on the terrace was a magical experience, with brilliant food and a tremendous wine list, with attentive staff. Our only criticism, was breakfast, which we were both disappointed with. Considering Fanari is a 5 star hotel, the breakfast offering was more 3 star. Would we go back, you bet, for the location, the view and sunsets and the friendly staff!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a review for the restaurant. My wife and I have spent two evenings here within 3 years, most recently for our 13th wedding anniversary. What a beautiful setting with stunning sunset views.

Fanari does not take the views for granted, however. We enjoyed lamb, fillet, mussels, and volcano desert - each were perfectly prepared. One of the most memorable meals in our trip.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Fanari Villas are an amazing place to soak up the sun and experience the beautiful Oia.... There are 100's of people gathered to view the sunset every evening and staying at Fanari means you are in the prime viewing position- its like a dream!
The rooms are gorgeous- not glamorous, but homely, clean and full of charm. Nicholas- at reception- is an amazing staff member and willing to provide assistance in any way at any time!
Truly beautiful- we spent a week of our honeymoon at Fanari, felt very blessed to have done so!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

A wonderful location with outstanding service and views of possibly one of the the best sunsets in the world. A small boutique hotel with very attentive and friendly service. The rooms in the cliff are excellent and provide really a holiday without ever having to leave the property. A built in pool with sauna, whirlpool all very convenient. The restaurant is excellent and provides some of the best food in town. Excellent place to have an early dinner and watch the sunset. Location is perfect with a few steps in to town and a host of other restaurants and shops. A convenient car park which provides reasonable access and the hotel provides help with taxi and luggage right to the room. Service is personal and the manager goes out of his way to look after you and book some special trips and menu items if required. A place to just rest and hang out with spectacular views.

Room Tip: Book an early table in restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fanari Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fanari Villas

Address: Oia santorini, Oia 84702, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#11 Family Hotel in Oia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fanari Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream-like, magical, and absolutely breathtaking are words that are used by our guests to describe the indescribable: the beauty of Fanari Villas Luxury Hotel in Santorini!Located in one of the finest locations in the world, Oia Santorini, Luxury Hotel Fanari Villas is a favorite destination for those who want the highest quality accommodation in an enchanting and peaceful setting. From the hotel, guests are provided with the most stunning view in the world: the deep blue Aegean and the Caldera, which at sunset are enveloped in the orange and red rays of the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fanari Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fanari Villas Hotel Oia
Hotel Fanari
Fanari Villas Santorini/Oia, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fanari Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.