We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ikies - Traditional Houses

Save Saved
You added Ikies - Traditional Houses to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ikies - Traditional Houses
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oia | Santorini, Oia 84702, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
2014 Offers up to 20% off
Ranked #4 of 47 hotels in Oia
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Seriously..... We were 2 picky couples, looking for the perfect oia experience. We had santorini on the bucket list... And boy did we get it right! We (2 couples) stayed here on a recommendation of a friend. What we got was:
- an upgraded spectacular 2 bedroom suite (complimentary)
- the nicest staff we'd ever met
- a spectacular cave home, with major luxury - like patio breakfasts, indoor outdoor hot tub and complimentary everything
- our every whim waited on
- assistance on planning our days (thank your santorini tours boat rides) and ATVs
- spectacular breakfasts, and free wifi

How do we rate the million dollar view? The perfect staff, and the patio that allowed us seclusion while showing us the sunsets? We call Ikies perfection. If you come with our expectations, do it. There is nothing else as perfect!

Room Tip: Go for a room with a hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    408
    23
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
333
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We spent the first week of June in Oia, staying at ikies for all seven nights on a friend's recommendation. We could not have been in a better place. All credit to the skills of the young & enthusiastic management team, you feel as though among considerate & yet discrete friends.
The Cook's House was perfect for the three of us, spacious with two bathrooms, one upstairs & one downstairs. The photo on the website doesn't do justice to the private balcony overlooking the caldera. Eating breakfast there, or an evening meal with a glass of wine watching the stupendous Oia sunset was a daily delight. As ikies is on the edge of Oia, ( a 10-15 min pleasant walk into the centre), the sunset can be enjoyed away from the mass of tourists & because of the way ikies faces you are still enjoying the sunset when most of the central Oia hotels are plunged into darkness! There is no restaurant as such, but besides a superb breakfast, food is freshly prepared to order & served on your balcony. There is also a fully equipped kitchen area & a table inside the house if you want to make your own food or eat inside. The room service menu was restricted but appetising & freshly prepared. It certainly kept us happy for most of the nights we were there. The Cook's House didn't have its own plunge pool but is close to the main pool, which is small, but we always had it to ourselves. Following previous experience on Corfu, we had come armed with mosquito repellent but did not encounter a single mosquito, not even a wasp or a fly! Certainly ikies is kept immaculate, but maybe the height above the caldera is inimical to mosquitos? Sited on the edge of the caldera, ikies would not be suitable for small children or for guests with mobility issues as there are, of necessity, lots of steps. It would be one of the most perfect places for a honeymoon, especially one of the houses with a plunge pool!
Thank you Maria, Ines, Loella, Michael, Bekim, Stavros, Adriatic, Julie & Claudie for making us so welcome & looking after us so well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This is where you want to stay. The hotel is in the best city in Santorini, and is on the edge of town so you are not in the daily bustle of tourists. We stayed in the Fisherman's room and it was perfect for us- a sitting area and kitchenette, a gorgeous bathroom with blue tile, and a lofted bedroom. The views from the porch of our room are what you see on postcards- the Caldera and the ocean. The morning breakfast on your porch is to die for- by far the best breakfast we had on our two week honeymoon. The pool is wonderful, and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We even had a minor credit card emergency and they allowed us to call the credit card company in the US for free. The hotel is quiet and luxurious. The only caution I would give is that it is probably not the best hotel to stay at with multiple children (a baby would probably be fine)- as it is definitely oriented toward couples- and you do have to walk on a small stretch of the road to get into town (only a few minutes) which would make me nervous with children, but as an adult is not a problem.

Overall Ikies is fantastic and we hope to go back someday!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

From the moment we arrived the staff at Ikies were absolutely friendly. There were always trying to accommodate anything we needed and had superb knowledge of the cities nightlife, touristic sites and excursions that we needed to be arrange. They made our stay at Ikies fantastic. The location of the hotel is fantastic, we could literally enjoy the sunset view from our terrace along with our drinks whilst everyone flocked to Oia to view the sunset from the streets. Oia itself is a small town but it has everything that you need, its rather quite and more catered to couples but the party is literally a 20 min (18 Euro's) trip away. The services and room provided were amazing. Champagne breakfast and complimentary evening cocktails made our stay perfect. The 2 bedroom suite we stayed in (House of Carpenter) was massive with an indoor jacuzzi and steam room along with 2 double bedrooms. It was absolutely luxurious. The only thing that they could possibly improve on is the selection/potion of meals for breakfast and in room dining. Other than that i would most definitely be returning to Ikies (Oia) next summer ! I recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit Santorini. It definitely one of the best hotels on the island !

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best view and less steps :-) The room on the top 2 floors were the best !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills Estates, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

My wife and stayed two nights at Ikies. The hotel is built on the caldera in Santorini, and the view is spectacular, especially at sunset. It is within walking distance of Oia.
Our room was 2 floors, with the bedroom on top. Each morning, breakfast was served on our terrace, and the food was fine. The staff was eager to help in whatever way possible.
All in all, this is a great place. I strongly recommend it.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

If I could give more stars, I would! Ikies is, without a doubt, the most unique and wonderful hotel that we have stayed in anywhere in the world! We visited for our Honeymoon and just now for our 5th Year Anniversary and stayed in the Carpenter Suite both times! The accommodations are absolutely amazing and, again, so incredibly unique. Each room/cave is built into the side of the cliff! My husband loved the steam room in our bathroom and the hot tub on our large patio, which he enjoyed each day. Breakfast is served each morning at the time of your choosing on your patio with complete views of the Caldera! We have to truly thank everyone there for making our time (each one) at the hotel something we will never forget! Looking forward to returning again!

Room Tip: We highly recommend the Carpenter's Suite, which is situated at the end of the hotel and up agai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

A beautiful traditional hotel with modern touches without the snobby stuffy hotel vibe. The staff tends to your every need and are also just good kind people. It felt like home while we were there. It is in a great location in the village of Oia but not in the middle of the foot traffic. Spend the money and get a room with a private mini pool and add breakfast to your stay.
Will be back again!

Room Tip: Spend the money and get a room with a private mini pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ikies - Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikies - Traditional Houses

Address: Oia | Santorini, Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#8 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikies - Traditional Houses 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ikies Traditional Houses is a special type of hotel. Its small size, exceptional location, traditional design, range of accommodation (honeymoon, maisonettes, and studios) and professional operation result in a rare blend of intimate and personalized service offered against a setting of unique physical beauty. Located at the edge of the picturesque village of Oia in the northern part of Santorini and with commanding views over it, into the caldera and of the surrounding Cycladic Greek islands, our guests at Ikies quickly tune themselves into the complete tranquility of the romantic village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, T4B, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Ikies - Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikies - Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Ikies Traditional Hotel
Ikies Traditional Oia
Ikies - Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ikies - Traditional Houses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.