We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in a small boutique hotel with stunning views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ikies - Traditional Houses

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ikies - Traditional Houses to your Saves list
Ikies - Traditional Houses
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oia 84702, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Offers Online
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Oia
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay in a small boutique hotel with stunning views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed there in mid-September 2013 - temperatures were still comfortably high, well into the eighties. There are only 11 rooms there and each one different - apparently they were all converted from caves. We were in the Fisherman's House which was absolutely gorgeous with thoughtful little touches like windows positioned to allow you to enjoy sea views even from well within the accommodation. The staff are wonderful - thoughtful, friendly and full of local knowledge and tips. Food, including a breakfast with the best Greek yogurt I've ever tasted, is served on the terrace as you gaze at the sea. The atmosphere is ever so tranquil and relaxing...a pleasure to go back there each night. The setting is so gorgeous it almost feels like you are in a dream, it felt a bit surreal. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    26
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
400
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were really impressed when we arrived at Ikies. Beautiful views from our balcony and a friendly reception greeted us. An amazing sunset and an impressive breakfast, beautifully served on the balcony made us feel very spoilt. The location of Ikies on the outskirts of Oia suited us well, away from the tourist buses seeking a sunset view but close enough for a pleasant stroll to excellent restaurants. You have to be prepared for lots of steps given the houses and restaurants hang off the side of the cliffs. A one day car hire tour of the island was enough to see what else was on offer and we concluded that Oia was the place to be and that Ikies offered a perfect location for the sunset. We tried the good local bus service into Fira and beyond and would recommend the walk back from Fira along the edge of the caldera with good shoes plus the boat trip to the volcano.

We had booked and enjoyed the Cook House from the 10th to the 20th October but were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to the Carpenters House honey moon suit as we were the last guest of the season.

Thank you to everyone for a wonderful holiday. We will definitely recommend you to our friends.

Room Tip: We would recommend the Cook House as good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a week at Ikies. From the moment we arrived (greeted on a cold windy night from our coach) we were made to feel welcome and at home. The staff were so helpful, from advising on restaurants, to trips around the island and even lending me a laptop to watch a football match not being screened in Greece.

The location is perfect- quiet yet close to a carpark for the days we rented a car. A walk into Oia itself takes about 10 minutes along a path with views over the caldera.

The room (sailors) was adjacent to the pool which for the most part of the week was hardly used by anyone else. Breakfast was served every morning on the veranda.

We had a wonderful time and would definitely recommend Ikies for a romantic break in santorini.

Thank you to Maria, luella, katarina, Michael and all the other staff at ikies

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here 23rd of Sept - 2nd of October, 2013 on our honeymoon and were blown away by the unique room, staff, location in Oia, and ofcourse the view! We stayed in the carpenters house for our entire stay and couldnt have been happier. We especially loved the plunge pool and the steam room in the carpenters house (even though the pool could have been hotter at night, but that is the only minor complaint about this place). The time we went was perfect as it's the end of the high season so the crowds were smaller and the weather still hot with a warm breeze.

The Staff helped us out from the day i booked this trip. I made a mistake by going through a travel agent to book the room initially because the staff was 10 times better at answering questions right away and I always felt like i was a priority. They even set up the private catamaran trip we did with captain ted and the car/atv rentals, which i highly recommend doing.

The wines and food (especially the breakfast) the staff supplied everyday was magnificant. And if you feel like eating out its a 5 min walk to the best restaurants on the island.

We will without a doubt stay here again, and hopefully soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Had another wonderful stay at Ikies in the Aritsan's studio. As usual the staff were excellent and offered a great level of service. The breakfasts were lovely and the views from the terrace wonderful. The studio was comfortable, clean and very well appointed. Already planning our next visit which says it all.

Room Tip: If you want complete privacy be careful which room you choose. The Boatmen's and the Winemakers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear SukeeHampshire,
Thank you for the kind support and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My friend and I had booked Santorini as a stop to relax in the midst of a strenuous two-week trip. Ikies Traditional Houses were the perfect choice -- a truly beautiful spot, an accommodating staff, comfortable surroundings. We were somewhat disappointed that the spa tub and patio were not entirely private (and the couples up the hill who appeared to have the honeymoon package were probably more disappointed!). We truly enjoyed the peace and quiet, the good food and wine, and the wonderful view,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear 342scm,
We are thrilled you enjoyed your time here and were able to relax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The view and service at Ikies is excellent! I loved the location just a short walk from Oia but away from the noise.

We stayed in the Antiquarian House and it was great! Beautiful patio and view! Not entirely private in all the suites because the rooms above can see you down below however the hot tub was tucked away and felt very private.

The only reason for four stars is that the hotel was not able to provide competitive rates for different services (sailing etc) and the people they recommend tend to be far more expensive.

Other than that- recommend the hotel completely!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear mattlespace,
Thank you for your kind review and we are glad you enjoyed the Antiquarian’s House.
Sorry to have let you down with your excursion choices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ikies - Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikies - Traditional Houses

Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#2 Family Hotel in Oia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikies - Traditional Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ikies Traditional Houses is a special type of hotel. Its small size, exceptional location, traditional design, range of accommodation (honeymoon, maisonettes, and studios) and professional operation result in a rare blend of intimate and personalized service offered against a setting of unique physical beauty. Located at the edge of the picturesque village of Oia in the northern part of Santorini and with commanding views over it, into the caldera and of the surrounding Cycladic Greek islands, our guests at Ikies quickly tune themselves into the complete tranquility of the romantic village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ikies - Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikies - Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Ikies Traditional Hotel
Ikies Traditional Oia
Ikies - Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ikies - Traditional Houses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.