We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ikies - Traditional Houses

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ikies - Traditional Houses to your Saves list
Ikies - Traditional Houses
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oia 84702, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offers Online
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Oia
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My friend and I had booked Santorini as a stop to relax in the midst of a strenuous two-week trip. Ikies Traditional Houses were the perfect choice -- a truly beautiful spot, an accommodating staff, comfortable surroundings. We were somewhat disappointed that the spa tub and patio were not entirely private (and the couples up the hill who appeared to have the honeymoon package were probably more disappointed!). We truly enjoyed the peace and quiet, the good food and wine, and the wonderful view,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear 342scm,
We are thrilled you enjoyed your time here and were able to relax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    25
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
370
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The view and service at Ikies is excellent! I loved the location just a short walk from Oia but away from the noise.

We stayed in the Antiquarian House and it was great! Beautiful patio and view! Not entirely private in all the suites because the rooms above can see you down below however the hot tub was tucked away and felt very private.

The only reason for four stars is that the hotel was not able to provide competitive rates for different services (sailing etc) and the people they recommend tend to be far more expensive.

Other than that- recommend the hotel completely!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear mattlespace,
Thank you for your kind review and we are glad you enjoyed the Antiquarian’s House.
Sorry to have let you down with your excursion choices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

There are not too many words to describe our experience at Ikies but "perfect." The Oia location is absolutely ideal, near the village but not in it. The rooms are charming and cozy and the views are endless. The breakfasts were wonderful and and the staff was accommodating in every way. We hope for a romantic return as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Fisherman's Cottage was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear SearchingUsa,
Thank you for your kindness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My daughter and I spent 4 wonderful days on this stunning island, and the hotel and the staff are just simply amazing. Marie, Katarina, Loella and Michael made our vacation so special, and the hotel is breathtakingly beautiful. We stayed in the House of the Sailor and it had a wonderful view. Breakfast is elegantly served on your patio every morning, and I have no complaints about the housekeeping at all. All you have to do is ask and you will be provided with fresh towels and evening turn down service. The meals at lunch and dinner are excellent. The wine is also fabulous. The walk into town only takes about ten minutes and there are lots of shops and restaurants. We were also able to book a private book tour with Captain George on a sunset tour of the caldera. On our last day we spend an hour hanging out with Maria and the girls while waiting for our transfer and I felt like I was with family. You will not regret staying here. I can't wait to come back soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Divotdiva88,
Thank you for such a nice and supportive review! We are so glad you enjoyed the Sailor’s House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We went to Ikies for our anniversary and my husband's birthday and I must say it turned out to be one of the most memorable trip of our lives! Santorini/Oia was always in my bucket list and i used to keep seeing the pics of the breathtaking caldera and the oh-so-blue Aegean sea! And i must say that the place turned out to be even more spectacular than i had ever imagined it to be! :) It was also our dream to stay at Ikies...and so it was truly a dream come true! We stayed at d cook's house...small and really cute i'd say with amaaazing views of d caldera from d balcony! I so enjoyed my early morning there and our breakfast was served there as well! Late nights with d lovely breeeze and a lamp lit on that sweet table in d balcony ...are still fresh in my memory! Sunset was ofcourse an out of the world experience ...a must see /do in Oia and we could enjoy that from the comfort of our balcony! The hotel staff was exceptional in their service and sweetness!!!! Maria /Katerina/Loella d three angels! truly! They even helped me organize a sweet surprise for my husband for his bday -all planned over email before we finally arrived(a choc truffle..and they even got us some wine!...i was soo touched and ecstatic with all d help i got to plan that little surprise..Greek people are soo sweet n so warm :)) Also, thru d mails exchanged i had kind of blurted out that its our anniversary and so we were welcomed by a bottle of wine and warm wishes on our arrival ..there was a lovely card wishing us a happy anniversary!) Such sweet small gestures one never forgets. Heartfelt gratitude albeit this review comes in a bit late...but, last yr around this time i was heading to santorini/ikies and so feeling even more nostalgic! And i still remember d amazing food we had at wind mills which Maria recommended to us! Oia was magical! loved d streets d free spirit in d air...d sweetness ..one of d most romantic places i have ever visited! And Ikies surely contributed towards making it d most special vacation! Would definitely go back one day:D

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear divinedivs,
The gratitude is ours for such a sweet review!
The Cook’s House is indeed perfect for an evening under the stars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

It was our second time at Ikies having visited five years ago for our honeymoon. We stayed in the Boatman's room which, in our opinion, is one of the best rooms on the property. As before, the staff were fantastic and the location and room are perfect. There's not much to add to what others have said before but just that we'll do our best to return as soon as we can.

Room Tip: The Boatman's is undoubtedly one of the most private and has the most spectacular hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear londonaustralia,
We are honored to have had you back at the hotel for a second time – thank you for the support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich Suffolk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have just returned from our anual trip to Greece this year we decided to go to Santorini for a few days first. Our first impressions of the Hotel Ikies and the surrounding area was wow The welcome we got was second to none and nothing was too much trouble from the staff... Waking up on our first morning to a fantastic view of Oia and having our breakfast served to us on our own private patio was something we will never forget. I would recommend Ikies to anyone who wants to be spoilt in fantastic surroundings. The whole experience is quite unique. All our food was served to us on our patio including lunch the quality was superb.

Room Tip: All rooms look amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear IpswichSuffolkMeg,
Thank you for your great review and praise. We are so glad you enjoyed Santorini and Ikies so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ikies - Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikies - Traditional Houses

Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#5 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikies - Traditional Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ikies Traditional Houses is a special type of hotel. Its small size, exceptional location, traditional design, range of accommodation (honeymoon, maisonettes, and studios) and professional operation result in a rare blend of intimate and personalized service offered against a setting of unique physical beauty. Located at the edge of the picturesque village of Oia in the northern part of Santorini and with commanding views over it, into the caldera and of the surrounding Cycladic Greek islands, our guests at Ikies quickly tune themselves into the complete tranquility of the romantic village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, T4B and Despegar.com so you can book your Ikies - Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikies - Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Ikies Traditional Hotel
Ikies Traditional Oia
Ikies - Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ikies - Traditional Houses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.