We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel and view in Oia!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ikies - Traditional Houses

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ikies - Traditional Houses to your Saves list
Ikies - Traditional Houses
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   , Oia 84702, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offers Online
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Oia
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
131 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Best hotel and view in Oia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Everyone should stay here. We stayed in the Antiquarian’s house and it really is a small, furnished, fully stocked home with everything you could need. From the moment we arrived the service was amazing. You do not have to deal with your bags at all, which is great because there are a lot of stairs. We had our own pool/hot tub which was great because during the day they would make it cold and then hot at night to relax. Breakfast was vast and delicious. The hotel crew there is so hard working and will do anything to make your stay perfect. One important thing about this hotel is that it is at the end of the walking path that goes through Oia which is awesome because there are not many hotels there and it is one of the few where you can sit and watch the sunset. Hotels further in Oia face the opposite way towards the caldera so you cannot sit on your balcony and watch the sunset...that was important to us since hotels there are expensive and we wanted to make sure we had the best view...we for sure got it!! The walk is short to the main center of town and we did it about 4 times a day and enjoyed it each time. The room was downstairs almost in a cave which was awesome because it was so quiet and nice and cool.

Room Tip: While there my Husband and I tried to decide the best room and we really think the best choice is th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear JordanB,
Thank you for the lovely review.
We are so glad you enjoyed the Antiquarian’s House so much. The downstairs room used to be a large cistern and was transformed into a bedroom with its own bathroom. When we were digging out the bathroom area we found a large round rock which is now the TV table!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    27
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
422
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

we stayed at the Fishermans Cabin for 4 nights, the view was fantastic and we couldn”t wait to get back to the hotel to admire it!!! We had a pool very close to our ”cabin”, but in may the water was rather cold. Instead, the bed was very comfy and cozy, perfect for a couple retreat from daily stressful life. The service was ok, but we had to wait a little for our dinner order, there were a lot of stairs to climb in order for the waiter to get right to our cabin! We had a little kitchen of our own with fridge, water and everything else.The hotel wine was absolutely memorable, the personnel was very helpful and every other detail just contributed to our perfect little dream vacation! If you like quiet, classy appartments, pampering, and breathtaking views, just go there! I know we will come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Irina V,
We are honored to have been a part of your “perfect little dream vacation”!
It is a shame the weather in May this year was so cool that you were not able to enjoy the pool but hopefully when you come back we will be able to arrange for better weather :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very nice place! Very functional. Room is more like an apartment which is really convenient. You can just buy few things at the local market and then enjoy the sunset from your terrace.
Perfectly located with amazing view on the village.
Delicious breakfast.
Hyper friendly staff. We had issues flying to the island because of bad weather conditions but the owners have been really helpful and understanding.
Expensive but I guess this is also Santorini...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Carlottafromparis,
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at IKIES and that the room was convenient and functional for you.
The houses were actually built as summer homes but the property was eventually turned into a small hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Found this place with help from TripAdvisor. On edge of cliff in stunning Oia, Santorini....there is no way to compare the view from our balcony as we eat breakfast each morning. Room equiped with TV (never used) kitchenette AC computer with free Wifi and even hot tub!

Staff has been exceptional, even helped track down missing luggage, and suggestions for dinner spots right on the mark! Would definitely recommend this place without hesitation....beware of stairs to everything here in Santorini.

Room Tip: Loved our location, Captain's House...magnificant view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Elaine TO,
Thank you for your kind words and for being so willing to recommend IKIES!
You are right about the stairs in Santorini – they are everywhere and seem to be slowly taking over the island!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Ikies for 5 nights in May as the end of our honeymoon. Before arriving, we had lots of plans to do things all around the island during our stay, but once we got to Ikies, we decided that there was just no reason to leave the hotel! We stayed in the Captain's Suite, which has a private jacuzzi on the terrace. I would absolutely recommend spending the extra money to stay in a suite. Though the hotel's pool is also lovely, there was just something incredible about having our own jacuzzi to retreat to. The staff was amazing - delivering a delicious breakfast to our terrace every morning, offering recommendations for restaurants and excursions, and even adjusting the temperature on our jacuzzi without our having to ask based on the day's weather. The view from Ikies is incredible. As other reviewers have mentioned, it is located at the edge of the village of Oia, which meant that it was a short walk to the restaurants, but a great retreat from the crowds. Lying on our private terrace, we felt like we were the only people on the caldera. We would absolutely recommend this hotel, and hope to make it back someday!

Room Tip: Choose a suite with a jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Leah K,
Thank you so much for your glowing review!
We are so happy that you had an amazing honeymoon and that the Captain’s House was ideal for you, offering privacy and tranquility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days and thought it was fantastic! The owners and staff could not have been any friendlier or more helpful. And for us, the location was perfect. The views from the hotel are beyond amazing! It is perfectly located with great views, an easy walk to the rest of town, yet away from the busy center of town. We cannot think of one thing they could have done better to make our stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.
We ourselves cannot get enough of the amazing caldera views!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the antiquarian for 4 nights and enjoyed it absolutely. The views from the private terrace are to die for. The room is wonderful and to top if off, the service is the best we have experienced. We highly recommend this gem of a hotel and am planning our next holiday soon !!! Jiko

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Jiko,
We are so glad you and your family enjoyed your visit and the Antiquarian’s House so much.
Thank you for your kind words and hope to see you all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.5 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.4 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#7 of 49 in Oia
5.0 of 5 stars 655 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atrina Traditional Houses
0.9 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
2.8 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikies - Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikies - Traditional Houses

Address: , Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#2 Family Hotel in Oia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikies - Traditional Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ikies Traditional Houses is a special type of hotel. Its small size, exceptional location, traditional design, range of accommodation (honeymoon, maisonettes, and studios) and professional operation result in a rare blend of intimate and personalized service offered against a setting of unique physical beauty. Located at the edge of the picturesque village of Oia in the northern part of Santorini and with commanding views over it, into the caldera and of the surrounding Cycladic Greek islands, our guests at Ikies quickly tune themselves into the complete tranquility of the romantic village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Ikies - Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikies - Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Ikies Traditional Hotel
Ikies Traditional Oia
Ikies - Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ikies - Traditional Houses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.