We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Piece if Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ikies - Traditional Houses

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ikies - Traditional Houses to your Saves list
Ikies - Traditional Houses
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oia 84702, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offers Online
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Oia
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Piece if Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Ikies in June of 2012. This was our last leg of our two week Santorini vacation. Ikies was absolutely fantastic. The staff was wonderful and courteous. They speak english and were always ready to assist when needed. When we arrived at Ikies it was not busy so we were lucky enough to get a tour of the many different rooms. Each room had it's own unique style and all were extremely clean. We stayed in Boatsman room. It had the most fantastic view of Oia and the caldera. Our first day at Ikies we ordered room service for lunch to be served on our patio. We had a fantastic fresh pizza and sandwich. They were both fresh and delicious. On our last evening in Oia we wanted to watch the sunset from room and decided to order room service again. The staff was so wonderful they even surprised us with a desert as a good-bye. Since we had a very early departure, we asked the staff if there was a possibility we could have something for breakfast in our room. We had to leave by 5:00 AM. The Ikies staff informed us that the kitchen would be closed but would deliver breakfast the evening before so we would have something for the morning. They delivered, fresh bread, cereal, fruit, meats, cheeses, milk and juice. We had so much that we made sandwiches to take on the plain. I can't say enough about our stay at Ikies except when we return to Oia we will stay at Ikies. Thank you to the staff for making our stay a dream come true.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    25
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
369
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a place I will never forget! Santorini is amazing and this hotel too. The view is one of the most beautiful views I've ever seem. The hotel staff was really nice, everybody was helpful. Breakfast was great, try the Greek yogurt!!! We had the smaller room they got, but it was very comfortable and beautiful. I hope one day I can be back to this lovely place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is how Santorini is meant to be experienced.....traditional cave-like houses, built along the cliff overlooking the sea, whitewashed with blue windows and doors typifying Greece. Picture postcard perfect. Arguably one of the best sunsets on the island. We were at the Captians which was wonderful, though never ended up using the outdoor jacuzzi. Ikeas is a must for couples who desire a Santorini experience to cherish for a lifetime. Though we were there a couple of years back, it's still a vivid and haunting memory. Will surely go back there someday.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The photos speak for themselves, this is a paradise. From our own outdoor spa bath overlooking the stunning village we enjoyed divine sunsets. And when hungry the chef himself would deliver his lovingly made creations to our private dining table with the very same view. The rest of the time you can just be naked in total privacy. I couldn't fault this place if I tried. DIVINE.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed in the Cook’s House for 4 nights this past September and absolutely loved it! The layout and size of the room was perfect for us as one could relax downstairs or on the patio while the other one dozed off on the cozy loft. The view through the loft window to the sea below is amazing. We would lie in bed and look at the seagulls fly by as well as the sunset cruise boats go back and forth below us. The service was just perfect and we could not have asked for anything more on our honeymoon! Loella, Maria and Katerina took care of us and would greet us at the reception level providing us with information on restaurants and beaches when needed. All the staff were extremely polite and were not intrusive on our privacy in any way. It was a dream come true honeymoon and we are so happy we chose the right hotel and destination!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Ikies hotel is the most lovely, romantic and special hotel - perfect for couples. We stayed in the Winemaker's room - complete with steam room and private plunge pool on the private (and large) patio overlooking the most beautiful view. Breakfast is to die for and the staff are simply out of this world. Room service is a must for lunch or snacks - the Greek salad and trio of dips and pita...drool worthy and not pricey. Local Santorini wine is a must. This hotel is a real gem in one of the most special places on earth.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed in the Artisan's Room, which is the second to the leftmost room on the premise. The view of the caldera was amazing from the room; sunset is not to be missed especially when champagne is served. Breakfast is per-ordered the night before, and nicely laid out in the balcony the next morning. You can order anything you want and as much as you like, it's something that we looked forward to every morning. The Artisan's Room is a bit on the smaller side, but it does spelled "traditional" in a good way. The only down side of this room is that the people in the next room have to trespass your balcony to get in and out, so you do lose a little privacy there. The private jacuzzi is spectacular, the staff was very helpful, all and all, it was a wondering experience.

A few practical details, they offer pick-up/drop-off from airport; staff will help you to rent cars and make dinner reservations. They also offer in-room massages, free breakfast in the morning and free champagne / snack in the afternoon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ikies - Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikies - Traditional Houses

Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#5 Family Hotel in Oia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikies - Traditional Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ikies Traditional Houses is a special type of hotel. Its small size, exceptional location, traditional design, range of accommodation (honeymoon, maisonettes, and studios) and professional operation result in a rare blend of intimate and personalized service offered against a setting of unique physical beauty. Located at the edge of the picturesque village of Oia in the northern part of Santorini and with commanding views over it, into the caldera and of the surrounding Cycladic Greek islands, our guests at Ikies quickly tune themselves into the complete tranquility of the romantic village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, T4B, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ikies - Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikies - Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Ikies Traditional Hotel
Ikies Traditional Oia
Ikies - Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ikies - Traditional Houses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.