We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ikies - Traditional Houses

Save Saved
You added Ikies - Traditional Houses to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ikies - Traditional Houses
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oia | Santorini, Oia 84702, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
2014 Offers up to 20% off
Ranked #4 of 47 hotels in Oia
Rio de Janeiro
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a place I will never forget! Santorini is amazing and this hotel too. The view is one of the most beautiful views I've ever seem. The hotel staff was really nice, everybody was helpful. Breakfast was great, try the Greek yogurt!!! We had the smaller room they got, but it was very comfortable and beautiful. I hope one day I can be back to this lovely place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    408
    23
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
333
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is how Santorini is meant to be experienced.....traditional cave-like houses, built along the cliff overlooking the sea, whitewashed with blue windows and doors typifying Greece. Picture postcard perfect. Arguably one of the best sunsets on the island. We were at the Captians which was wonderful, though never ended up using the outdoor jacuzzi. Ikeas is a must for couples who desire a Santorini experience to cherish for a lifetime. Though we were there a couple of years back, it's still a vivid and haunting memory. Will surely go back there someday.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The photos speak for themselves, this is a paradise. From our own outdoor spa bath overlooking the stunning village we enjoyed divine sunsets. And when hungry the chef himself would deliver his lovingly made creations to our private dining table with the very same view. The rest of the time you can just be naked in total privacy. I couldn't fault this place if I tried. DIVINE.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed in the Cook’s House for 4 nights this past September and absolutely loved it! The layout and size of the room was perfect for us as one could relax downstairs or on the patio while the other one dozed off on the cozy loft. The view through the loft window to the sea below is amazing. We would lie in bed and look at the seagulls fly by as well as the sunset cruise boats go back and forth below us. The service was just perfect and we could not have asked for anything more on our honeymoon! Loella, Maria and Katerina took care of us and would greet us at the reception level providing us with information on restaurants and beaches when needed. All the staff were extremely polite and were not intrusive on our privacy in any way. It was a dream come true honeymoon and we are so happy we chose the right hotel and destination!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Ikies hotel is the most lovely, romantic and special hotel - perfect for couples. We stayed in the Winemaker's room - complete with steam room and private plunge pool on the private (and large) patio overlooking the most beautiful view. Breakfast is to die for and the staff are simply out of this world. Room service is a must for lunch or snacks - the Greek salad and trio of dips and pita...drool worthy and not pricey. Local Santorini wine is a must. This hotel is a real gem in one of the most special places on earth.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed in the Artisan's Room, which is the second to the leftmost room on the premise. The view of the caldera was amazing from the room; sunset is not to be missed especially when champagne is served. Breakfast is per-ordered the night before, and nicely laid out in the balcony the next morning. You can order anything you want and as much as you like, it's something that we looked forward to every morning. The Artisan's Room is a bit on the smaller side, but it does spelled "traditional" in a good way. The only down side of this room is that the people in the next room have to trespass your balcony to get in and out, so you do lose a little privacy there. The private jacuzzi is spectacular, the staff was very helpful, all and all, it was a wondering experience.

A few practical details, they offer pick-up/drop-off from airport; staff will help you to rent cars and make dinner reservations. They also offer in-room massages, free breakfast in the morning and free champagne / snack in the afternoon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Ikies for our honeymoon at the end of September and absolutely loved it. We started out in the Carpenter's Suite (one of the two honeymoon suites), which was really spectacular. It had an amazing view, was incredibly spacious and had a nice private jacuzzi. Upon our arrival, we were greated with complimentary local wine (which was delicious) and some local snacks. Each morning we had the delicious breakfast, and the two mornings in the Carpenter's Suite we also received complimentary champagne. After two nights in the Carpenter's, we switched over to the Boatman's studio. It was smaller than the Carpenter's suite, but we actually liked it a bit better. The jacuzzi there was right up against the edge of the balcony, so you could sit there and feel like you were right on the edge of the caldera, which was amazing. The staff at Ikies was super friendly and helpful. Even before we got there, Katerina and Maria were helping us arrange transportation from the airport and helped set up excursions. Once we arrived they answered all of our questions and were really helpful in making reservations and suggesting restaurants and activities. The rooms were super clean and very comfortable. Ikies is just on the outskirts of Oia, so it was pleasantly removed from the hustle and bustle, but a short and easy walk into town. Ikies was definitely a little pricey, but 100% worth the money! I would absolutely recommend it to other couples and honeymooners!

Also, because I know I like to know what there is to do near a hotel, I'll give a few recommendations. We went on the SAFOWI wine tour with Phenix our first day and it was fun and informative, totally recommend it. We also did the sunsert catamaran tour, which was one of the highlights of our trip as we got to watch the sunset swimming in the middle of the ocean. As for restaurants, our two stand out favorites were 1800 and Floga (the tomato bruschetta things and the almond coated fried feta here were delicious). Skala was also good. Many people rave about Ambrosia and, while it was good, we felt it was overrated. We also took a walk down to Ammoudi Bay and ate lunch at the Sunset cafe down there. My husband and I split one of the fresh caught fish for lunch, and it was probably the best fish we had ever eaten. Just be prepared for a long walk (or donkey ride) back up those steps once you get down there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ikies - Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikies - Traditional Houses

Address: Oia | Santorini, Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#8 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikies - Traditional Houses 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ikies Traditional Houses is a special type of hotel. Its small size, exceptional location, traditional design, range of accommodation (honeymoon, maisonettes, and studios) and professional operation result in a rare blend of intimate and personalized service offered against a setting of unique physical beauty. Located at the edge of the picturesque village of Oia in the northern part of Santorini and with commanding views over it, into the caldera and of the surrounding Cycladic Greek islands, our guests at Ikies quickly tune themselves into the complete tranquility of the romantic village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, T4B, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Ikies - Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikies - Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Ikies Traditional Hotel
Ikies Traditional Oia
Ikies - Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ikies - Traditional Houses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.