We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sigalas Winery

Sigalas Winery
Mpaxes, Oia, Greece
+30 22860 71644
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 14 Activities in Oia
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We went first for a wine tasting which we'd arranged from the UK as my partner works in the industry. We were really well looked after by Thalia and did the full wine tasting complimented by a selection of nibbles, we were there for a couple of hours but who wants to rush!
We then went back for dinner as they have a small menu and are open until 9pm just after sunset. We had the daily special of prawns with rice, a lovely bottle of wine and the blackberry and Greek yoghurt dessert which was amazing. Sunset from here is great and makes a nice change from fighting the hoards in Oia. Loved it that much we went back again for diner and enjoyed a Greek salad and local cheese platter and had to have the dessert again! Their wines are great and they have a really good well thought out set up that is definitely worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    44
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great wine - not so great service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My friends and I were introduced to Sigalas wine when we first arrived in Santorini and loved it so we were very excited to hear that the winery was just down the street from where we were staying. Unfortunately, the service was so bad at the winery we preferred to buy the wine and drink it back at our place. When we arrived, we were seated on the terrace and it took almost 20 minutes for them to take our order. We asked for the wine flight but soon realized after another 15 minutes of waiting for the first wine that we would be there for hours so we reduced our order to taste a few wines. We had to repeatedly remind the waitress that we were waiting for our order and couldn't wait to get out of there. It's too bad the experience at the winery didn't match the great quality of the wine.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Relaxed and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Sigalas does not offer tours but offers a selection of terrace areas where you can relax with a number of local wines. We took a cab from Oia at the cost of 10 Euros at around 5pm local time and found it relatively empty.

We took our choice of table in partial shade and took the opportunity for a little amble round taking photos.

The wine menus are very good. Sigalas offers around a dozen wines and you have the choice of trying a glass, a bottle, a mini tasting or a full taste of all wines on offer for 11.05 Euros. There is a small food menu to give you something to nibble on while quaffing. All prices for the glasses of wine are about half what you'd pay in the restaurants.

We chose the full tasting. Well it would be rude not to wouldn't it? For our 11 Euros a head, we received 13 glasses of wine: 6 white, 2 rose, 3 red and 2 dessert wines; tasting notes to go with them and as much time as we wanted to go through them.

They are not miserly with the measures either and we enjoyed a good couple of hours there.

All wines are available for sale inside the shop and the ladies who work there are very knowledgeable. They will also order a taxi for you which we were happy to take advantage of - 8 Euros back to Oia.

Very much recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A "must do" in Santorini!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This winery offers not only excellent wine but a fabulous menu as well! The views are great, the staff is friendly (helpful with ordering / recommendations, if needed) and the atmosphere is peaceful. A very relaxing afternoon!

Tip: If you are not part of an organized "wine tour" that includes this winery, you will need to either rent a car or take a taxi to reach it. The bus from Fira to Oia doesn't stop near here. My recommendation - rent a car so you can stay as long as you like!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best wine/wine tasting experience in Santorini.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

A visit to the Sigalas winery is a must. Their wines are excellent and the staff very friendly and knowledgable giving useful information.
Sigalas is off the usual tourist track and it will cost about 10 euros by taxi from Oia or 20 euros from Fira to get there. The cost to taste their full range of 12 wines costs 11.50 euros- but it's well worth it. Their food menu is basic but very tasty and compliments the wines beautifully.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sigalas Winery also viewed

 

Been to Sigalas Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sigalas Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.