We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and great breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 160 Thea Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added 160 Thea Hotel to your Saves list
160 Thea Hotel
Oia 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 32 Oia B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service and great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I spend 4 nights in this hotel with my family. The hotel room is nice and well-equipped. They offer us a complimentary white wine and the breakfast in this hotel is just great. The hotel is located in oia, a little bit away from the busy street. We love it since it is quiet. The view is great but it is not on the side facing sunset.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Ga
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Hard to find their actual website: www.160thea.gr/en/

Only reason I gave location a 4 and not 5 is because you have to walk 5 min into town (which is very easy level walk once you are on road) but drivers here are crazy so walking on road makes me little nervous, But hotel is on cliffs, absolutely beautiful view and that location is perfect.
We have rooms 33 and 34 (Exec Sea View rooms) w shared patio, small wall giving each hot tub privacy.
Staff could not be friendlier in this 11 room hotel, sister hotel to Mystique which is right next door... Can use their bar and spa but not pool.
Natalie is great, she will assist in taxis, transfers, etc making tour stay easy and carefree, also a wealth of local knowledge. Her and her staff should be rated 10, not 5!!
We have 66 steps to road into town, so like any cliff hotel in Oia mobility may be an issue, but we walk slow and enjoy the scenic views as we climb up/down.
Water pressure/showers great on this dry island, little fridge nice, great room!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at 160 back in June this year via a special deal on the Secret Escapes website. Having never been to Santorini or looked at many pictures (we prefer finding our own way) we were blown away by the amazing view of the caldera.
I must admit I was somewhat disappointed by our room and wished we had paid the little bit extra for room with a jacuzzi. While the rooms were beautiful I had not expected to be next door to reception with guests walking in front of our room frequently. It made it a little difficult to sunbathe. But Natali and Lia were absolutely amazing, and even though the hotel was fully booked we managed to spend the last night of our 4 night stay in one of the jacuzzi rooms. They are both so helpful and go out of their way to make you comfortable.
The breakfasts are amazing - we even cook a version of one back in the UK for ourselves regularly. We highly recommend a visit to Akrotiri (car hire needed) if you like your classical civilisations - one of the best Greek archaeological sites I've seen - although I hope they've got more tourist information now the new centre has opened.
We stayed very early on from the hotel opening and we know they have been improving the facilities even further - looking forward to coming back one day.

Room Tip: If you can afford it the jacuzzi rooms are very much worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

First off I want to thank Natali, Lia and Fred. They really went out of their way to make sure we were happy. We would mention that we were going somewhere, and they would prepare it for us, give us best recommendations, setup a car. Fantastic. Hotel is brand new, air conditioning was the best of my trip to Greece. The little outdoor jaccuzi's are perfect after a day on the island. I recommend calling them and arraigning the airport transport, as how things are built on Santorini(everything is built ontop of each other), the hotel sign is easy to miss.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I spent a week at 160 Thea for our honeymoon. We had such an amazing time that we are already talking about celebrating our first anniversary there.

The staff, particularly Natali, Lia and Fred, were incredibly warm and welcoming - they went above and beyond, literally from sunrise to sunset, to make our stay special.

Our room was absolutely beautiful, clean, comfortable and cozy, with a view that took our breath away. The hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of Oia.

We cannot speak highly enough of our experience at this hotel and the sincere kindness and hospitality offered by Natali and Lia. Everything was top notch from A-Z.

We look forward to returning in the future and highly recommend it to anyone seeking the PERFECT place to stay while visiting Santorini.

Laura & Matt

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

The best spent money. The hotel is new. Airconditioning worked perfectly.The beds are impeccably clean and comfortable. An amazing view of a deep blue sea is with you when you wake up, and even when you shower in a very cozy, clean and spacious designer's bathroom. Breakfasts are delicious. Service is impeccable. There was even a gym space with a treadmill in our room! Very warm and welcoming atmosphere. One week in Oia and in the hotel specifically just wasn't enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Summary: This hotel is great. Pay a little more for a more secluded room and you will never in your life think that money was not well spent.

We took a risk as two of its very first guests and had no reviews to go by, so I hope I can help anyone out there searching, as we did, through the seemingly endless choices of hotels, bnb's, apartments and 'villas' in Oia.

Thea 160 is about 100m from the start of the pedestrianized main street of Oia. It commands a jaw-dropping view of the caldera. There are no rooms without this view. The units are well furnished with brand new everything and very nice big beds, robes, beautiful new sun beds. Simple, even sparse aesthetic, but very elegant and certainly comfortable; and just what we craved for an escape from our cluttered city lives.

Thea is a 4 star hotel with better service than I've seen at most 5 star hotels. Every one of Natalie's suggestions was spot on. The restaurants she recommended and reserved for us were fantastic and put us at their best tables, her suggestions on sites to see around Santorini (we rented a jeep (pay a little more for the jeep!!)) were just right for us. She was super friendly and her staff is of the highest caliber. The hotel is a sister property to the Mystique which is a five star hotel next door. We enjoyed their wonderful breakfasts, chosen from a limited, but very satisfying menu (the full Mystique breakfast is €55) on their terrace in the sun or in the shade but always surrounded by this enormous view. Order a Greek Frappe coffee - OMG!

Our room was #35 and it was huge, had its own terrace and outdoor jacuzzi at the edge of the cliff with nobody walking past us. This is rare in Oia because of the way rooms at all hotels are carved into the hill, one generally has to walk past the fronts of units to get anywhere. If this is a concern for you, you must request a more secluded room, and generally pay somewhat more for that. At Thea, there are a few rooms like this, but #35 has to be one of the best oriented rooms of any hotel I saw. Also, the huge bed is at the front of the unit, not at the rear as you'll see in so many of these cave rooms at other hotels. Wake up on your first morning, look out the window, and you'll think twice about ever leaving. We enjoyed sunbathing on those great new lounge chairs, and playing cards and drinking cocktails from Mystique's bar at our little table on the terrace. Jacuzzi at the end of every night was a must, watching the cruise ships far below and the lights of all of Santorini spread out in front of us... I can't believe I have to go in to work today!

Bottom line, I could get a little carried away talking about our visit to Santorini and this wonderful find that is Thea 160. You will enjoy your visit to this fabulous little place!

Ps: Oia has tons and tons of steps. I've seen too many reviews complaining about this. If you are remotely challenged on the walking/standing up straight front, go to a beach!
Pps: Santorini does not have a lot of good beaches. Again, people who complain about this miss the point, and really the magic, of this very special place.

Room Tip: Thea has no pool and no fitness center that I can recall. I recommend room #35'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 160 Thea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 160 Thea Hotel

Address: Oia 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in Oia's famous cliffs, 160thea consists of 11 suites with traditional Greek design and Cycladic architecture.Based on the promise of its name, each suite offers to our distinctive guests, 160 degrees breathtaking views to the Aegean sea and the famous Santorini volcano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Tingo, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your 160 Thea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
160 Thea Hotel Santorini/Oia, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 160 Thea Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.