We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thats the place to stay in Oia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of VIP Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added VIP Suites to your Saves list
VIP Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oia, Main Street, Oia 84702, Greece   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 48 Hotels in Oia
spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Thats the place to stay in Oia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2008

We booked at the last minute in high season (end september) so we didn't know what to expect. Fortunately, we arrived to extremely friendly staff, clean & tidy apartments. Vip suites is a stylish and clean complex of apartments in a perfect location in the middle of oia (near the sunset point), within walking distance of major sites, shopping, cafes, restaurants and public transportation. Our suite was quite spacious, modern and comfortable with divine view on the caldera. I only wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Liked — I loved the overall facility itself , almost jewel-like, small, cute and cozy‏
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    36
    21
    16
    16
See reviews for
15
102
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2008

Stayed at Vip suites for a week with and had a great experience. The rooms are modern, clean, and you have everything you would need in close range (shops ) without being in the center of everything. the area has great and restaurants ,bars ,art galleries etc right around the suitesThe view from the balcony is breath taking.Everyone who works at the information desk when you check in is super nice, super informative and extra knowledgable.Altogether it was a great experience , if and when we return to Santorini ,Vip suites will be at the top of our list of places to stay while there.

  • Liked — Location,view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2008

Although in our 60's, we were offered the 'Honeymoon Suite' - the only one still available. We were quite happy with the offer, although it cost at least twice as much as the other lovely hotels we stayed in on other islands.
SANTORINI is expensive!!
We were kept waiting for at least 25 minutes in searing heat until someone could take us to the suite. There is no reception - you have to book in at the agency near the bus station.
The position was wonderful - down many narrow steps in the heart of old Oia. The views of the caldera from the very small terrace were truly spectacular.
On the terrace were 2 wooden slatted sun loungers but no pads - very hard to lie on. We asked if any were available, but none materialised during the 4 days we were there. There was an adequate umbrella with 2 chairs and a table. It was lovely to come back from a meal in the evening and just sit, looking out at the wonderful view.
Unfortunately, work was being carried out on the suite nextdoor, which meant that workmen were having to use our terrace for access - not very private for honeymooners!
The suite itself was built into part of the rock, offering a very welcome reprieve from the high temperatures outside.
The furnishings were adequate, although we found it rather strange that a 'Honeymoon Suite' should have a third bed and table and chairs for 4 people.
The suite was cleaned daily and fresh towels were provided, although I scrubbed the terrace where there was evidence of dog activity!
Generally, if we had have been on our honeymoon, we would have been disappointed with the overall shabbiness of the suite, even though many of the 'nicknacks' were antiques.

  • Liked — Views of the caldera and the coolness of the suite
  • Disliked — Shabbiness of fittings and not living up to its description as a honeymoon siute.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIPSUITES, public relations at VIP Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2008
Thank you for your comments, Oia is indeed a beautiful village. There are some points that you raised that we feel need addressing:

The office is Air Conditioned and equipped with seats where you could have waited rather than outside in the ‘searing heat’. Due to VIP Suites being located down many steps we have people to assist with the carrying of suitcases, during busy periods there can be a short waiting period.
Unfortunately we cannot dictate to private owners when and when not to carry out work on their properties.
The terraces were cleaned daily however we cannot control what happens once the cleaners leave.
The suites are traditional cave houses and are decorated as such.
You state that you would be slightly disappointed if you were on your honeymoon, however you were not. Honeymooners surely have other things on there minds than how many chairs are around the table!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

It is hard for a hotel to be anything less than average in santorini, given the incredible views and romantic ambience.

However, VIP suites did a good job.

The rooms were so thoroughly average (even by greek standards), the location was excellent but it was a hell of a lot of work to get there, cleanliness was not the hotel's strong-suit and there really were absolutely no facilities... I don't mean, no free internet, or free meals, or little soaps... I mean there isn't even a lobby or a reception!

We loved santorini, and we loved the view from our hotel, but I doubt that we would ever stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIPSUITES, public relations at VIP Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2008
Thank you for your recent review. We will address one point that you raised.

The booking you made was for VIP Suites not VIP Hotel. It states very clearly on the booking form and the description that these are self contained, self catering traditional suites in various locations across Oia thus making it impossible to have a reception facility. There was never any mention of free meals or free internet (there is an internet café a short walk away) and there are soap dispensers in the shower and next to the sinks.
It is advisable to fully check the description of properties facilities to avoid disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

VIP Suites ROUTINELY books people for their hotel and upon arrival they tell guests that there is no more room in that hotel, but that they will put them in the sister hotel, which guests are told is an upgrade. This is a huge lie, as it is not an upgrade at all, despite the insistence by all accomplices that it is an upgrade. So if you, like I, like how the hotel looks in photos, INSIST on not accepting any reported upgrades or any room that is not a "VIP Suite". Once you manage to get into a VIP Suite, you will most likely love it. We got a Superior Suite (their base suite) and loved it, plus it was an amazing value. The suite was in a beautiful, traditional Greek style, and it had a gorgeous view of the caldera/sea. The decor was great, the location was excellent (in the middle of Oia, the most beautiful part of Santorini by far) and the amenities were very nice. We even had a fridge and stove to cook meals, plus a nice little balcony to sit in.

The only down side to this hotel is the lack of pool, but when you're in Santorini for a few days, who has time to swim in a pool?

To get to the hotel, you have a few choices. If you don't want to spend the 30 Euros for them to pick you up or take a cab, you can take the airport bus to Fira (the capital of Santorini), and from there take the bus to Oia. There aren't many daily airport buses, though, so be warned. Another option is to take a cab to Fira, and from there take one of the numerous daily buses to Oia, which go about 1-2 per hour. The bus is only about 1.40 Euro. To check in at the hotel, you simply go to a travel agency next to the Oia bus stop (can't remember their name now) and they are the ones who actually check you into the hotel as the hotel has no other reception desk.

  • Liked — View and decor
  • Disliked — Initially not providing the accommodations promised
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIPSUITES, public relations at VIP Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2008
We are glad that on the whole you enjoyed your stay very much. There is one issue however that we would like to clarify:

The only difference between the hotel that you were offered and VIP Suites is that the hotel has cable TV, reception, telephone and swimming pool facilities.
There was no intention to ‘con’ anyone and had you seen the hotel this would have become clear to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florianopolis
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2008

I would echo all the positives written in other reviews; very pretty suites right in the middle of oia town with an amazing view over the cliff.Picking a hotel in santorini was a challenge because we had never been to the island. We opted for VIP suites because it offered us the privacy that we wanted.Those suites caters to people that simply do not like commercial hotels. Our one bedroom suite was huge and the bed was very comfortable.The location of the suites was also perfect. It was right in the city center . Lots of history in the oia area. The caldera neighborhood still preserves it character. We were minutes away from all the great restaurants and lounges.The staff at the travel agency where we ve checked in was always ready to lend us a hand with anything that we wanted. One thing I found very interesting is that they had made reservations for me at a restaurant that I had not requested and the place was great. It was good to see that the hotel took the initiative to plan our dinner since we did not know the town.As for the views,just perfect, uninterrupted views of the caldera , Thira (fira) town,the volcano,and thirassia island.We had our own terrace with chairs and umbrella but also used the common areas to sit and drink our wine while watching the sunset,it was hard to go away from peace and tranquility of our suite.I want to emphasize the I liked the VIP suites and enjoyed the experience.I recommend those suites to anyone going to santorini looking for an escape from it all or simply a romantic vacation

  • Liked — the viewsssssss
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rawson
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2007

This is a beautiful complex of studios and apartments located a couple of blocks from oia center . The rooms are very spacious ,clean,and nicely decorated.We wanted a decent priced but centrally located accommodation and this is exactly it. The location is perfect - it is a walking distance from all major sites. We are a young couple of Doctors and we were in Santorini attending a Congress; so we have very little day time to know the island.Some good restaurants are very close (less than 100 meters), and the shops are one block away.The views were incredible and awe-inspiring.
The staff (girls )at the ckeck in point (agency in the bus station)are very friendly and accommodating. The receptionist that welcomes us was Tia: she really took time explaining us about the island and the area… she even advised us to rush to the sunset cruise (we didn’t know about it!,and it was excellent with saxophone , snacks and wine). All in all, this is an excellent place to be based in if you want go out and about and do all the touristy things or if you just want to stay in, unwind and not feel guilty that you’re in a foreign town and not out sightseeing.
I could only say the stay there was one of the best things of my vacations. Thumbs up !

  • Liked — The caldera view,the location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to VIP Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIP Suites

Address: Oia, Main Street, Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 48 Hotels in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — VIP Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated traditional suites are tastefully furnished with traditional and modern overtones, awash with light and host 2-6 persons in comfort and privacy. Make your stay a memory to cherish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your VIP Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vip Hotel Oia
Oia Vip Hotel
VIP Suites Santorini/Oia, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VIP Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.