We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Katikies Hotel

Save Saved
You added Katikies Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Katikies Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Oia 84702, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Oia
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This place is all about pleasure and relaxation. I was afraid, very afraid, that this would not live up to my expectations (especially at these prices). I have memories of booking beautiful minimalist all-white hotel rooms elsewhere and ending up in what looked like an old couple's living room. This was a special treat for us, so I wrote in advance to the hotel to ask for an all-white room, to ask for a private balcony if at all possible, etc. I think we booked a Senior Suite. If you are afraid too, I can say this: I am certain that the wonderful management here will go out of its way to make sure you are happy (Alexandros and everyone were wonderful). Even in June we were upgraded to a Honeymoon Suite. There is never a hard sell, as I've sometimes found at other upscale hotels; when they needed a few extra minutes to prepare our room and invited us to sit at the restaurant while we were waiting, we were asked if we would like some water or anything else (rather than pressured to buy a cocktail or lunch, etc.) Santorini is a stunning, stand-out experience, as is this hotel. It's definitely worth it if you can afford to go at least once. I deliberated between this and Perivolas and I was glad we came here - we were right in town and Perivolas is a small walk from the main drag (not bad, but I like being able to run up to get a bottle of water or whatever in 2 minutes). The complimentary breakfasts are wonderful and you can order as many dishes as you desire. I don't understand the people who write to say they could not get loungers to sit by the pool all day, because I cannot understand being on such an historic island and wanting to spend the entire day at a hotel pool (Akrotiri? Red Beach?). We used the pool when we came back from our day and late afternoon it is no longer busy but just as spectacular. I loved it. We were in Suite 10, I believe, (the one nearest reception). I am going to try to post 2 videos of the balcony if I can figure out how!

Room Tip: Suite 10 is a beautiful suite very close to Reception and to the main drag if you want to climb less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    40
    19
    6
    9
See reviews for
24
351
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I can't say enough about the beautiful Katikies Hotel.... nor can I say enough about the wonderful staff and people that run the hotel. They felt more like friends than staff.
The views were spectacular and having rented a car - I chose to drive down the steep steep hillside to the fishing village below for the sunset. So special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in August 2013. The first night we were in a standard suite - evidently all suites are loft style. There is a small sitting area on the lower level with the bathroom and closets. The bedroom area is upstairs. The first night the drink in our sink was clogged and running the water in the sink caused the bathroom to flood because water started pouring out of the drain in the shower. The sink was fixed the next morning but we had to endure 2 rounds of flooding. Also, all hotels in Oia are built into the side of a cliff - our room was 87 steps below the reception area. Leave the high heels at home. The next day we were upgraded to the Honey Moon suite right next to reception. This suite was beyond gorgeous with breath-taking views from a large, private patio with a sunned and jacuzzi. The room change made our stay amazing and a memory I will cherish forever. There is a small "Mimi-mart" next to the hotel which is a good place to get drinks and snacks. The staff are very helpful, we recommend the catamaran trip. The manager all recommended 2 excellent restaurants that are not the typical tourist places. The breakfasts at the hotel are excellent. Be prepared to climb a lot of steps!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We initially made a booking for a double room for 2 nights, then due too some misunderstanding our booking was cancelled. Luckily for us when we rang too complain they booked us into there sister hotel 5 mins away....on arrival we where then informed they had taken out complaint and offered us a complimentary upgrade back in the Katikies Hotel in the Honeymoon Suite above the infinity pool, but only for one night.....how could be refuse. The room(s) where divine....we were in the midst of the busiest part of the hotel but quiet enough to relax and enjoy the splendour. The room consists of a huge outside area with double sunbed.....dining table, jacuzzi and a seating area that can seat 8 people....the downstairs area a a lounge area with huge Tv.....walk in wardrobe, and huge shower room with a most amazing view from the shower....even the complimentary shampoo's were Bvulgar. Upstairs a huge luxury bed and jacuzzi bath with again a view too die for. The breakfast is never ending and a gourmet delight. The staff are very attentive and polite and easy on the eye (haha). With a complimentary bottle of wine on arrival they are truely on the ball. Our second night we were sent too another hotel (which is one of there rivals) again upgraded to a completely different type of room but as luxurious. Would like too thank the owners of this hotel for there customer service which is second too none......would I return.....a massive yes....note too self - buy a lottery ticket...!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed for three nights in September in a double room. When we arrived we heard another guest complaining at reception that his room was too small. We thought this complaint sounded a bit unreasonable until we were shown to our room - it was tiny, much smaller than our bedroom at home!

Given the rack rate we expected a lot larger room, at roughly 5m x 4m there was hardly enough room for two people with suitcases for the week. The bathroom was small but functional and the products were of a good standard.

The main pool is stunning, and very cool with nice chill out tunes playing all day, however there are only eight pairs of sun beds by the pool (there are four more double beds on a higher deck) and these would get reserved very early in the morning, and then often spent most of the day not being used. For a hotel that charges as much as it does for a night it should have a much better policy of ensuring that beds can't be reserved and then not used.

The suites are larger rooms and better value for money than the basic doubles but are also expensive.

As well as the pool, the staff were the big positive to the hotel, they were excellent, very helpful and always provided service with a smile.

The food at the hotel is of a high standard, the breakfasts in particular are very good.

If we were going to stay in Oia again we wouldn't stay here, we much preferred the few days we spent in a good sized suite at the Andronis Boutique (although the pool area there doesn't compare with Katikies).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed at Katikies in July with two friends. The hotel may be expensive, but it was worth every penny. The service was attentive, the room beautiful, and nothing can beat the infinity pool overlooking the caldera. The location in Oia is perfect as well for friends traveling to Santorini - an easy walk to many restaurants/activities, but not as overwhelmed with cruise ship patrons as Fira. I would happily return to Katikies!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Words cannot express the gratitude in our hearts for the wonderful stay that was provided for us at the Katikies Hotel for the week of our honeymoon on the breath-taking Greek Island of Santorini. Everything was perfect ~ the accommodations were immaculate, the food was exceptional, the service was amazing & the staff were extremely professional & attentive. Their daily all-inclusive breakfast exceeded all expectations from the delicious fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee, home-made Greek pastries, breads, fruit, choice of entree', etc. This property is 5 Star, 5 Diamond every step of the way ~ Well deserved status of a Small Luxury Hotel of the World ~ Bravo for their magnificent hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Katikies Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katikies Hotel

Address: Main Street, Oia 84702, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#8 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Katikies Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katikies The Hotel in Oia Santorini is renowned for its leading luxury, unparalleled services, warm atmosphere and sense of romance uniquely combined in an exceptional setting and natural environment in Oia Santorini, inviting its guests to experience moments of pure luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Katikies Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katikies Hotel Oia
Katikies Hotel Santorini/Oia, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katikies Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.