We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived Uo Tp Expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Katikies Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Katikies Hotel to your Saves list
Katikies Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Oia 84702, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Oia
Mount Laurel, NJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lived Uo Tp Expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

As part of our 30th Anniversary celebration, we decided to spend ten days in Greece. I had been to Athens twice for business but Greece was number one on my wife's bucketlist of places to visit, so we decided to start the trip with five days in Santorini. We picked the Katikes based on recommendations here and by our agent, True Greece.We stayed from May 21-25. I wasnt sure the place could live up to its billing, but it certainly did. First a quick sidebar. We had booked a junior seaview suite. When we arrived, we were place in room 5 and altouhg the view of the cauldra was amazing and amentities what we expected, I was diappointed with the size of the room. We had booked way back in October and I visited the hotel website often and was expecting one of the rooms with seperate living quarters or loft. I apoligetically (complaining is not in my nature) brought this up to the reception team, and the next day we were moved to amazing room 36, with loft, beautiful living room, nice patio for breakfast and of course the amazing view! It was also just a short flight of steps up from the Upper infiniti pool.
As for the property itself, the staff is simply amazing. They know all guests by name and they are there to cater to any request promplty and with a smile. The service at the infiniti pool was great. Drinks made right there always fresh and ice cold. I have to give a special shout out to the turndown service. We would come in every night for dinner and the room would look simply amazing, not matter what condition we left it. Everything arranged neatly and folded perfectly. We did not eat our meals there other than breakfast, but that was quite a treat as well. Breakfast always arrived promptly and having it outside with the incredible view was a highlight of every day. Hotel Location is perfect in that it is located at the begining of main walking street in Oia, but also close enough to some ot the more off the beaten path places which are much less touristy. My only caution is to beware of the steps! Especially heading down after a few drinks. But if you cannot handle the steps, Oia in general is probably not the place to visit. Beyond that we were extremely satisfied.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 5. It has to be the smallest on the property. Ask for a room with a loft. Provides great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    43
    19
    6
    9
See reviews for
26
377
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We left for our honeymoon the day after our wedding, and after 24 hours of transit, in late April this was our first stop... and WOW. It was amazing. From the second we arrived, the staff were extremely friendly, the views were astounding and the hotel rooms and facilities just looked stunning. It was everything you would expect Santorini to be, and more. We stayed for 5 nights and were very sad to leave.

Our days consisted of waking up, having more breakfast than we needed, a daily walk down the main strip of Oia and returning to the pool, a few cocktails by the pool, intermittent dips into the pool, constant service by the staff, lunch at the hotel, more cocktails until it got dark enough to worry about dinner. BLISS! The sunbeds near the cave pool are an excellent way to spend to an afternoon!

The rooms were spacious and well fitted out, the views were absolutely priceless and we could not have hoped for it to be any better. We will return and hopefully soon! An amazing experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here in November for our anniversary - it was their last week of operation for 2012 but that didn't affect their excellent service throughout our stay. The whole hotel is gorgeous and the views are incredibly beautiful. The honeymoon suite has windows offering picturesque views from your bedroom, bathroom etc. This gorgeous suite also has its own outdoor jacuzzi, and a huge balcony with day beds. We enjoyed sunset and sunrise daily from our balcony. We even managed to enjoy the infinity pool (we were blessed with warm weather still)! The staff are exceptional - always so helpful, efficient, kind and friendly. Breakfast is served to your room daily and is a scrumptious spread. Location is perfect - you are on the main walking strip which takes you to shops, restaurants and more spectacular views. We really loved everything about Katikies and it was a perfect vacation. Thank you Alejandro and team for everything!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were in Santorini last week for our honeymoon and couldn't have asked for a more special place to stay. We loved the people at Katikies. The service was amazing, but beyond that, we appreciated the kindness and generosity of Alejandro and his entire team (and a special shout out to our new buddy Jorgos/George :)). We want to go back every year!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent a very enjoyable week in early May at Katikies Hotel, the welcome was warm and friendly at check-in, and the staff were extremely helpful and professional throughout our stay, The views are fabulous across the Caldera and there is a good choice of restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel, all with exceptional views. The room was comfortable, and although described as a senior suite was not particularly large, but that seems to be the norm as space is at a premium generally. Others have referred to the steps, there are plenty and no lifts anywhere, so be aware, also if you like to keep in touch with news etc the range of english speaking TV channels is limited. The main swimming pool is pleasant and the beds comfortable, but perhaps the 'chill out' music running all day does not suit all tastes, particularly avid readers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, CT
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

From the views to the staff to the pools to the overall setting, you will be hard pressed to find a better place to stay in Santorini than the Katikies. Everyone is immensely helpful, friendly and willing to strike up a casual conversation on a personal level. The location is basically at the top of the main walking strip in Oia, so it is a perfect setting to go for a walk. Having stayed at the Katikies, if I were to return to Santorini, I couldnt possibly stay at another place. Just a wonderful time and experience here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The views are undescribably beautiful, but the service was even better. The staff really got to know us on a personal level quickly and were so attentive to every little need. The Hotel itself is set right into the hillside above the Caldera and really gave us a outstanding relaxing trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #1 right off the infinity pool and loved it. But it is very low and requires many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Katikies Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katikies Hotel

Address: Main Street, Oia 84702, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#8 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Katikies Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katikies Hotel in Oia Santorini is renowned for its leading luxury, unparalleled services, warm atmosphere and sense of romance uniquely combined in an exceptional setting and natural environment in Oia Santorini, inviting its guests to experience moments of pure luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Katikies Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katikies Hotel Oia
Katikies Hotel Santorini/Oia, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katikies Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.