We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canaves Oia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Canaves Oia Hotel to your Saves list
Canaves Oia Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Oia, Santorini, Oia 84702, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Oia
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in a junior suite at Canaves Hotel the beginning of September. I must say we were very impressed with our room and the spectacular view of the caldera. The room was pretty spacious by European standards and had a cozy feel to it. The bed was comfortable and the room also included a very cozy couch to kick back and relax on. The bathroom, which was located directly behind our bedroom was also very spacious, it included a full size jacuzzi and a separate shower that is more than big enough for two people. The view from our room was stunning and we found ourselves spending most of the night sitting on our balcony with a bottle of wine and some snacks just soaking up the beautiful night sky enjoying the lights of Santorini. The included breakfast was not bad at all, we had it delivered to our balcony every morning. My only complaint would be that the hotel tries to up sell you on excursions and dinners that are way to expensive, other than that we had a great time and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThanassisPapetanas, Manager at Canaves Oia Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear John,

Thank you for your nice words! We would like to thank you once again for trusting us with your special vacation.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful island in the future.

Friendly Regards,

Thanassis Papetanas
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    45
    17
    11
    6
See reviews for
45
401
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The room we had a spectacular view of the sea. We had a "private" pool (hot tub size) on the balcony which was a fabulous treat, although the water was not warm. The bathroom and sitting area were quite nice and the entire suite very clean. The bed was in an alcove and no window, so ventilation was not good.
We dined here for lunch and dinner and food was as good as any we had at any restaurant on Santorini, but a bit pricey. Staff were welcoming and helpful. Would definitely recommend it for a stay in Oia.

Room Tip: request one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThanassisPapetanas, Manager at Canaves Oia Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Taylor52,

Thank you for your nice words! It is always a pleasure hearing that our guests left with good memories from the island and of course our hotel.
We are really glad you enjoyed your Honeymoon Suite!

We need to mention that the majority our suites , like almost all cliff side hotels in Oia, are cave like and have only one or two windows. Being built on the edge of the cliff, our hotel's rooms used to be "Canaves" , natural caves were Santorinians were keeping wine stored in ideal temperature, aging all the way back to the 17th century. Those caves have their own, very advanced, ventilation system.

We cannot wait to have you back to Santorini!

Warm regards,

Thanassis Papetanas
Assistant Hotel Manager
Canaves Oia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

After research and reading of reviews we (2 couples)
decided to stay at Canaves Hotel in Oia which is definitely the loveliest village in Santorini
On arrival we were informed that we had been "upgraded" to Canaves Suites. Of course we were wowed by the breathtaking views, but our rooms, although very large, were certainly not 5 star. There was a definite smell of damp. The furnishings and the bathrooms were more suited to a 3 star hotel.
After speaking to the manager we were moved to a much nicer suite with upgraded bathrooms. One couple had a large bedroom and bathroom, while the second bedroom and bathroom was extremely small. There was a nice living room which opened onto a terrace with a hot tub and amazing view of the caldera. The rooms were spotlessly clean, but the toiletries were not replaced every day.
A good breakfast was served on the terrace by the pool, although we felt that there could have been a little more choice. The serving staff were extremely professional and helpful. We ate dinner in the restaurant one night which was excellent.
The day we checked out we requested to keep our room longer as our flight was in the evening. We were told that this was not possible, even the ough the hotel appeared to be quite empty (end of the season). We felt that after a 5 night stay for 2 couples they could have been a little more obliging.
All in all, the hotel is lovely, but definitely not 5 star.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a renovated room with upgraded bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThanassisPapetanas, Manager at Canaves Oia Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear JPRaanana,

Thank you for submitting your review!

Firstly I would like to thank you for your nice comment and all your kind words on our services and facilities. We feel ,though, it is necessary to reply on some of the remarks you have made.

We checked with our reservations department and the hotel was indeed not full on the day of your check out. However your suite was expecting a new arrival the same day. Being a unique room type it had to be ready for the next guest, the latest by check in time. We always do our best for a late check out but sometimes as you also understand it is not possible.

Regarding your first suite, unfortunately we didn't have the time to implement changes in few of our largest, best suites during past winter due to limited time. However as of next winter the hotel's renovation will be completed and there will be no room that has a more classic/traditional style. All our suites in both Canaves Oia Hotel or Suites will have a white contemporary style like the suite you stayed at.

We have seriously considered your remark on the variety on breakfast and as of next year we are planning on adding many more options in our breakfast menu. The hotel will also fully upgrade its dining facilities in general adding a new restaurant at Canaves Oia Hotel section as well.

I would like to thank you once again for choosing our hotel for your vacation in our beautiful island. It was a real pleasure meeting you in person during your stay.
We really look forward to welcoming you back to Santorini in the near future.

Kind regards,

Thanassis Papetanas
Assistant Hotel Manager
Canaves Oia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

wonderful hotel with lift and amazing views. this hotel is very new and with convenient facilities such as lift, and it is almost the first hotel at the beginning of the walking street which means the car can drop you off just at the door of the hotel.

Room Tip: the suite has two bedrooms with two double beds, suit for family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

What a lovely place to be! Our suite was fabulous with every need met.The staff were always cheerful and very helpful. There was a good variety of foods for breakfast.
Dinner was not cheap but the food was great and the wine was superb and the setting was beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Hotel is perfectly located at the start of the path leading into Oia with all the shops (and famous sunset spot). Our room had an unobstructed view of the caldera... breathtaking view every morning!

The hotel grounds are in immaculate shape, with beautiful pink flowers lining the doors of reception and walls so clean and white I felt they were painted the day before we arrived. Service quality was incredible.

Thanassis assisted with my wedding proposal and arranged everything prior to arrival (restaurant, menu, flowers, music, private waiter, etc...). He did an amazing job and I can't thank him enough for an unforgettable experience. Thank you Canaves Oia!

Room Tip: The Canaves Oia "Hotel" is for couples on a romantic vacation and rooms have a renovated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Canaves hotel in Santorini for 5 nights in October. This was our second return to Santorini, but our first stay at Oia - we stayed in Fira 5 years ago.

Weather - being October, it was a real wild card in regards to weather - however we were extremely lucky. The weather was absolutely amazing except for one day / night. Sunny, high 20s and not too cold at night. We would recommend October as a good time to visit - not too busy, great prices and not too hot.

Location - we absolutely loved Oia and would return here next time. The location is great with cute restaurants and shopping a short stroll away. And the views are amazing. Also this is a much more romantic location with lots of honeymoon couples.

Canaves Hotel - this was a very interesting experience and to be honest I don't think we will return to Canaves hotel again... Let me explain.

We booked this hotel on booking.com. We booked the Hotels part NOT the Suites after reading that the Suites needed a renovation and the Hotel part has recently undertaken one. We booked a Suite and were advised that we are guaranteed an upgrade on arrival in October.

When we actually did arrive at the hotel, we were originally dropped off at the Hotels part. However we were advised that we have been upgraded to the Suites part. This was middle of the day and we then had to walk from the Hotel to the Suites part only to find out that our "upgrade" was actually a worse class room than the suite we have booked with no private balcony / veranda and it was very much a "cave" as per the name of this hotel - no windows and no view.

We immediately called reception and were put through to speak to the hotel manager Marcus, who was helpful, however it took some time to get to an outcome. In particular as for some reason they thought there were 3 of us vs. 2 and hence why they gave us our room (which had 2 bedrooms). They also thought for some reason that we booked the cheapest type of accommodation vs. a suite (not sure why this was the case and we had to refer them to our booking confirmation which we had luckily printed). The unfortunate part was that the Hotels section of the restaurant was booked out for that night! Hence they were unable to move us to the part of the hotel which we actually booked (interesting in itself). We were given two options - a room with a private spa pool on the balcony in the older not renovated Suites; or to spend a night in the "cave" room and then transfer to the Hotel part the next day. Given we only had 5 nights, really did not like our room and did not want to move, we chose to accept the room in the Suites. (We later met another couple who had the same experience, hence this is a common scenario - be careful you get what you paid for!)

So our room.... The room at the Suites was good for one reason - the views. The views from the Suites part of Canaves are a amazing, maybe the best in Santorini (photos uploaded). Our room was on the top level and had maybe the best views in the hotel and easy access to the streets of Oia. This did however mean that we were right next to reception and could hear a fair bit of noise from our patio. We could also see right into the street, so it wasn't entirely private. Saying that, the views were unbelievable. The room itself however was old, the shower over bath not great, the plumbing in the toilets leaking. Also our spa for some reason was not heated - hence in October when the water was very cold, we barely used it. Overall if Canaves Suites undertook a renovation it would be amazing, but a renovation is really required.

The service - this is also very interesting. The staff seem not very interested and don't seem to smile very much. Not sure if that's because it was October and the end of the season, but the service was only 3/5 because of this. The girl at reception was great and very helpful, but the breakfast staff etc, all seemed very annoyed to be asked for help.

Privacy - another key concern for us was privacy. We would often wake up in the morning with staff on our balcony! I think it's because they were either collecting items blown away during the windy night or cleaning, but really is 8am in the morning the right time to clean??? This meant that we had to keep our blinds and doors shut at night and couldn't wake up to the gorgeous views of Santorini. Also because we were so close to the street, tourists could enter the hotel and take photos right next to our room. Hence the privacy wasn't quite as high as expected.

Activities - there is lots to do in Santorini and we would greatly recommend the semi-private sailing trip and the wine tour, both booked via the hotel.

Restaurants - eating out in Oia is good, but not cheap. Our favourite restaurants were Ambrosia and Floga.

Breakfast - breakfast is good and you can order eggs from the staff (although they won't arrive with a smile). Champagne comes with the breakfast and there are a good meats and cheese.

Pool area - this is ok, but no infinity pool and pretty small. We didn't spend any time here, as had the better views from our room.

Tip - make sure you specific you want to stay at the Hotel part of Canaves if you prefer newly renovated rooms. Also make sure you have a room with a private veranda / balcony, otherwise it's not worth staying here.

Overall - we had a great time in Santorni and will be back for the third time. However we will not be saying at Canaves unless they have as serious renovation and a change in attitude.

Room Tip: Ensure you get what you paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCHAI, General Manager at Canaves Oia Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Mrs. Princess_Di_26,

Thank you for submitting your review.

The village of Oia is definitely the most cosmopolitan part of the island and the amazing weather in October this year definitely helps. We are glad that you enjoyed our beautiful village.

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your return to our beautiful island.

According to our reservations department your reservation with booking.com was indeed for a Junior Suite for 3 persons as a part of a promotion that we had in October offering this room type at a discounted rate of the Double room.

In our reservation proof it clearly states that your reservation was for three guests. Because of the fact that we had the availability for a Superior Suite with 2 bedrooms and with the best intentions we offered you the upgrade so that you have a more comfortable stay. Superior Suite for 4-5 persons at Canaves Oia Suites are indeed the largest suites in the property.

As this suite has a size of approximately 70 sq m, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a very spacious living room we figured that you would be more comfortable compared to another suite with a king size bed and an extra roll away bed.Please note that 80% of our suites are cave like in the shape of the original Canaves (caves were Santorinians used to keep the wine).

After our Front Desk was advised about the situation, I personally came and offered you the option of upgrading to the suite with the best views and privacy in the hotel (Executive Suite), or stay for one night in the 2 bedroom suite (already appointed) and the following day to be moved to the suite you have originally booked without receiving an additional upgrade. You happily accepted the first option. The Executive Suite we offered has the most private balcony in the hotel. Kindly be advised that no hotel in Oia advertises its first two categories as having 100% privacy being practically impossible with the hotel being on the side of the cliff. Anyone who has been on the island can understand my point.

The incident with the privacy in your balcony was actually unique. As you also pointed out it was indeed a surprisingly windy night and our maintenance entered from a staff entrance very early in the morning in order to collect items that the wind had brought to your balcony and clean your plunge pool so that it is ready for you before you wake up. No guest or “tourists” can see or walk through your balcony in any way since it is practically clinging from the cliff.

We apologize if the pool area and the pool itself was a disappointment for you. The hotel never actually advertised having an infinity pool. We are proud to actually have the largest cliff side pool in Oia and probably one of the most spacious areas for lounge chairs.

We always encourage our guests’ comments on the quality of our services and they are always appreciated since these very comments improve the service offered. However I believe that more than 300 excellent comments from guest raving about our services and staff prove otherwise.

With the winter of 2013 Canaves Oia Hotel & Suites completed a renovation of both sections offering luxurious accommodation with Canaves Oia Hotel having an all-white minimal style and Canaves Oia Suites having a more elegant but contemporary feeling. From a total of 39 suites, the 4 of our best ones were not fully redone.

We knew that although classic in style they were unique in location, size, facilities and privacy. The photos of those suites were always presented online out of respect to our potential guests. In the winter of 2014 those 4 suites will be fully remodeled.

After you changed to the suite you seemed quite happy and never again complained or made a remark to our Front Desk or to me directly.

Our guests’ satisfaction is always our first priority and I really hope that you will give us the chance to revert your opinion with a future stay in Oia and our hotel.

Best regards,

Markos Chaidemenos
Hotel Manager at Canaves Oia Hotel and Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canaves Oia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaves Oia Hotel

Address: Oia, Santorini, Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oia
#2 Family Hotel in Oia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Canaves Oia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dramatically clinging to the cliff face, perched high over Santorini’s caldera, Canaves Oia Hotel has been transformed from 17th century cave houses. Consisting of two sections, Canaves Oia and Canaves Oia Suites are 100 metres apart and divided by the pretty cathedral of Oia. Each section has its own pool, pool bar, sun deck and reception and of course the same impeccable service.Enjoy breakfast on your balcony as you soak up the amazing vista. Afterwards, go into Oia and visit the Venetian castle and wander through the steep, narrow streets packed with small boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Hotel.de, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Canaves Oia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canaves Oia Resort
Canaves Hotel Oia
Canaves Oia Hotel Santorini, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canaves Oia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.