We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience in this property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canaves Oia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Canaves Oia Hotel to your Saves list
Canaves Oia Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Oia, Santorini, Oia 84702, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Oia
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
“Nice experience in this property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Amazing property on the cliff of the unique caldera. With an extraordinary view. The staff was amazing especially Panos(i hope i spell it right) in the front desk. He was very helpful and he organized for us the best vacations. Very sad that we left but we will definitely come back next summer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    44
    17
    11
    6
See reviews for
43
397
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for part of our honeymoon and were upgraded to the honeymoon suite. Honestly the best hotel room we have ever stayed in, with a private pool leading straight out from the bathroom window! Every part of the suite had postcard like views, the bed was amazingly comfortable and the hotel's service was excellent.
The only small negative was the breakfast buffet, which was not quite up to the standard of a five star hotel. Everything else was absolutely amazing. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left the hospitality and service we received from the staff at Canaves was 5 Star! They attended to each guest as if you were the only ones there! The view from our room and basically anywhere in the hotel was breathtaking! Canaves is a must stay and will be our hotel of choice for future visits.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Where to start...?? My wife and I stayed for 4 nights for our honeymoon. Service was by far the best service that I have ever had in a hotel. Room was super clean, cave style (typical in Santorini), outdoor jacuzzi, view of Aegean Sea. We were not in the Suite section of this hotel. Pool and service by the pool was 1st class. Incredible views. Bfast and lunch were incredible, great food. Recommendations for excursions and restaurants were spot on, this place has everything you are looking for for a 1st class experience. We did not want to leave this property and may have ruined every hotel experience we will have going forward. :) Stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #15. Not part of the 'Suites', but felt like a suite to us. Pictures att...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Point, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My wife and I recently returned from spending our 10th anniversary in Greece which included 3 days at Canaves Oia Suites. The service from all members of the staff was attentive, friendly, and warm. We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite that gave us a phenomenal view of the bay that we could wake up to every morning (my only minor gripe is that the jacuzzi tub on the deck was not heated). The location in Oia at the end of the promenade was fantastic and allowed us to explore the shops and restaurants during non-peak tourist hours. We travel quite a bit and having discerning tastes and the Canaves Oia Suites more than met expectations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at Canaves for four nights. The room was huge and walking out on the balcony provided stunning views that amazed no matter how many times you saw it. The Canaves had a great pool and the breakfast buffet made lunch unnecessary. The shower in our room was a little strange in that it had no door and tended to get water on the floor, but everything else was great. The staff gave great advice on excursions and their recommended boat tour was truly worth it. From our perspective, Oia is the best part of the island to stay, and the hotel is at the start of the pedestrian walkway in Oia so it is in a great location. Oia was the most picturesque part of the island and not nearly as chaotic as Fira. Canaves is situated in a great part of Oia. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed at Canaves for a few nights on our honeymoon through Greece. This was our favorite stop. From the minute we arrived on the property to the moment we checked out the staff was amazing. We ate dinner at the restaurant the first night just because we were so tired. It is a great view and the food is good, but it's a little overpriced. That would be the only negative to our stay here. I would visit this hotel again without hesitation.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canaves Oia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaves Oia Hotel

Address: Oia, Santorini, Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Oia
#3 Family Hotel in Oia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Canaves Oia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dramatically clinging to the cliff face, perched high over Santorini’s caldera, Canaves Oia Hotel has been transformed from 17th century cave houses. Consisting of two sections, Canaves Oia and Canaves Oia Suites are 100 metres apart and divided by the pretty cathedral of Oia. Each section has its own pool, pool bar, sun deck and reception and of course the same impeccable service.Enjoy breakfast on your balcony as you soak up the amazing vista. Afterwards, go into Oia and visit the Venetian castle and wander through the steep, narrow streets packed with small boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Canaves Oia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canaves Oia Resort
Canaves Hotel Oia
Canaves Oia Hotel Santorini, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canaves Oia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.