We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canaves Oia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Canaves Oia Hotel to your Saves list
Canaves Oia Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Oia, Santorini, Oia 84702, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Oia
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed at Canaves for a few nights on our honeymoon through Greece. This was our favorite stop. From the minute we arrived on the property to the moment we checked out the staff was amazing. We ate dinner at the restaurant the first night just because we were so tired. It is a great view and the food is good, but it's a little overpriced. That would be the only negative to our stay here. I would visit this hotel again without hesitation.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    44
    17
    11
    6
See reviews for
43
397
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our stay at the Canaves Suites in May 2013 was one of the highlights of our 3 week trip to Greece. We had a fantastic view of the caldera from our patio and from the area surrounding the pool. The room was perfect with 2 bathrooms, a sitting room and a large bedroom with comfortable bed and fine bedding. The staff coundn't have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful. What a beautiful spot to renew our wedding vows after 27 years of marriage followed by a romantic dinner in the cave by candlelight. The food was fabulous, with a great choice of wine and excellent service. We so enjoyed our breakfast every morning with the beautiful view and the fine choices of hot and cold entrees; although I did get hooked on the greek yogurt with honey. What a wonderful place to stay in Santorini, it was everything I'd dreamed it would be and more!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the Canaves suites, the location is perfect, the view from the private balconies breathtaking, truly spectacular setting, and waking distance from the old town of Oia arguably the most special part of the island with the world famous views and sunsets.

We were upgraded to a honeymoon suite which in terms of space, privacy and view was a great suite. However the interior was mediocre, smelly old furniture and generally in urgent need of a renovation. The decor and overall cleanliness esp of the bathrooms was not up to a luxury experience. The service was generally good, polite staff, with the odd hiccup.

The hotel manager explained that they will be renovating the last remaining 4 rooms next summer, so my advise is to ask for a renovated room or wait till next year, but in terms of location it's one of the best.

Needless to say Santorini should be named one of the Wonders of the World. A stunning island whose views and architecture take your breath away.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Canaves Hotel came recommended by Small Luxury Hotels, and endorsement I take seriously as they only include well-run, unique boutiques style hotels. Canaves Oia is a great compliment to their portfolio of distinctive hotels and they take their affiliation with SLH very seriously.

The location in Oia is very nice, overlooking the caldera, but just far enough away from the daily onslaught of cruise buses to give it more privacy but a few minutes walk to be in the center of the town. From the reservation manager, Thanassis to the charming and friendly staff, I was treated as a special guest. I was traveling alone and at the last minute and they made sure that I felt welcome, safe and happy.
My last-minute reservation was accommodated with the only room available, a sign of a popular place as the season has not yet officially begun. My room was small but comfortable, plush bed and crisp sheets and wonderful view from the patio of the Caldera.
The daily breakfast was served looking out at the splendor to the Aegean Sea and volcano. The staff recommended several activities and restaurants that were hits- all of them- the favorite being a semi-private sail around the islands.
If you seek extraordinary hospitality in an idyllic setting, friendly attentive staff that makes you feel warm and welcome, this is the place in Oia.

I don't generally like to repeat trips, but this one I would do again if only to see my friends in Oia once again.

The gods and I found heaven on earth!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at the Canaves Suites in June 2013 for 3 nights. I can not say enough about how fantastic this place is. The suite was beautiful with a great view and outdoor Jacuzzi and 2 bathrooms. The restaurant was outstanding. The staff were genuinely friendly and helpful.
Vassili, the food and beverage manager, was educated in the US. He extended us a warm welcome. He and his staff, in particular Dorota, George, Sergei, mario and Jenny, were all outstanding. In addition to the included breakfast, we ate two dinners there as we felt we could not do better in a restaurant along the pedestrian path. Great food, great wine and superb service. Mariana and Sophia at the front desk were wonderful.
An absolutely delightful and memorable holiday.
Thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: We were in Suite # 20 which was very spacious with 2 bathrooms and a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Mississippi
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in #38 for 4 nights in June. This was a fabulous end to our 30th anniversary vacation. We found the entire experience to be wonderful! The staff was especially helpful and attentive. Dined in the cave one night, the good was great! Loved having breakfast outside with the breathtaking view.
We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

In summary, excellent courteous and friendly staff, a pleasant view from room terraces, breakfast and pool areas. This was let down by rooms, especially bathrooms, misrepresented on the website. If you value a modern bathroom and stand alone shower, this is not the place for you.

I had booked in a Superior Double room in Canaves Oia (not Suites) part of the hotel, on the premise that these had been 'freshly renovated', and based on the photo of a modern style, renovated bathroom on the website. Upon arrival, we were informed that we had been upgraded to a Junior Suite at Canaves Suites, in particular room 30. This 'suite' was a completely different style - traditional, unrenovated, loft bedroom reached by ladder-like 'stairs', and worst of all, a tiny old bathroom with a hand held shower head over a bath with shower curtain. When we informed the staff that we had specifically booked in Canaves Oia as we wanted the modern style room, we were told they were fully booked and we would have to wait until the next day to change rooms.

The next day we were moved to the Canaves Oia side of the hotel, to a (honeymoon?) suite with a jacuzzi. While this room was a lot brighter and renovated, still no sign of the modern, glass-screen shower as shown on the website. We still had a bath with a hand held shower head. This meant the entire bathroom got wet every time we showered. I felt like I was showering in a dark cave.

As a place for rest and relaxation, it is imperative that accommodation make guests feel comfortable. I did not feel this was the case here, and in all honesty, this probably tainted my overall experience in Santorini. It is unfortunate that the hotel should have such inconsistency between rooms. If they have such a wide spectrum of different rooms and bathroom styles, they need to show this on the website. Not doing so is misrepresentation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canaves Oia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaves Oia Hotel

Address: Oia, Santorini, Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Oia
#3 Family Hotel in Oia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Canaves Oia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dramatically clinging to the cliff face, perched high over Santorini’s caldera, Canaves Oia Hotel has been transformed from 17th century cave houses. Consisting of two sections, Canaves Oia and Canaves Oia Suites are 100 metres apart and divided by the pretty cathedral of Oia. Each section has its own pool, pool bar, sun deck and reception and of course the same impeccable service.Enjoy breakfast on your balcony as you soak up the amazing vista. Afterwards, go into Oia and visit the Venetian castle and wander through the steep, narrow streets packed with small boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Canaves Oia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canaves Oia Resort
Canaves Hotel Oia
Canaves Oia Hotel Santorini, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canaves Oia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.