We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic place , Excelent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Katikies

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Katikies to your Saves list
Villa Katikies
5.0 of 5 Villa   |   Main Street, Oia 84702, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Oia
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Magic place , Excelent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stay in Villas Katikies in July for four nights . We won't forget the Excelent service , Lia , the manager, took care of all our needs . She has a wonderful staff , they made us fill very special . Our room was perfect in every way , very clean , very comfortable and beautiful . We will go back ,and we will never forget Lia and her friendliness and attentiveness , thank you for your effort to make those days part of a perfect vacation !

Room Tip: All are very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    17
    5
    1
    6
See reviews for
9
78
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

A really lovely property in the heart of Oia. The staff are excellent and extremely attentive. It is a five star property and they are extremely adept at service. Nothing is too much trouble and the manager is excellent. They are very discrete and leave you to enjoy the scenery and views, however if you need anything they are very quick to respond to your requests. The property only has 7 villas and is part of the Katikies Hotel next door so you also have access to the fantastic restaurants of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the room above the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Being on a tour of the cyclades for our honeymoon, we booked 1 night in Villa Katikies which is in Oia, the most beautiful village of Santorini. We got confirmation of the booking prior to that of course, and happily presented ourselves at the reception to receive our room.

We were absolutely shocked to learn that they had not kept a room for us, and that the hotel was fully booked, allegedly... They told us that our credit card did not work at the time of booking and that they did not succeed to contact us prior to arrival to let us know they would not keep the room, as hotel policy in case of a credit card not working. This was a lie of course, since the credit card worked perfectly for all other reservations, and they had all our contact details on the reservation.

I read now in other reviews here that the same story happened to other people... This is absolutely scandalous!

Basically, it turned out the same as in the other reviews: the only option given to us was to receive accommodation in one of their other hotels, in this case the Sun Rocks hotel in Firostefani, 25 minutes away from Oia. We chose Oia for its beauty, only to end up in some local basic village.
The other hotel was nice, but we didn't come to Santorini to be in a village far away from romantic Oia. As in the other reviews we saw that day that the hotel was still selling rooms at a much higher price than what we booked and the next day, still having available rooms they could not sell, they discounted them at the price we booked for...

Never in my life was I treated like that by a hotel !
They are a bunch of liers, stay away if you don't want to risk a very, very bad surprise on arrival.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandysul, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary,what a find, a little gem of a place. Never been to Santorini before, it was perfect in every way, and Oia is the best place to stay in my opinion. You can see the Caldeira from the Villas but you cant see the sunset, but don't let that deter you as, all you need to do is walk a good 5 miutes to the end of Oia through the village, and there are hundreds of people watching the sunset, unbelievable!!There are also plenty of nice restaurants to chose from. Villa Katikies,is very small with only 7 rooms, a very private place, you need to be pretty active though with plenty of steps at the Villas, but don't worry about your luggage they will carry it for you. Small pool available with 4 double sun loungers, but we seemed to have the place to ourselves when we were there in mid June, (even though there was full occupancy). Lia who saw to our every need was a little gem herself, perfect with advice about the island, and attention to detail was fantastic, and she was very friendly. The villas housekeeper was also excellent, keeping everything pristine. Breakfast was served at our balcony every morning at a time to suit us, as there is no restaurant, it is as I said a very small and friendly place. We could use the facilities at the Katikies Hotel which was about 2 minutes walk, we ventured over and it was very, very nice. The pictures of the villas are exactly as they are, but beware of other peoples photos they are a mixture of the hotel and villas, which can give a false illusion. As we assumed (after pics) we were getting a jacuzzi but that is in the hotel only. The rooms are very minimalistic, all white and just the right size for two really. I would add that it was at the top end budget wise, but would definitely go again on a special occasion. I did use the spa at a sister hotel (Lia will advise you, but I cant at the moment remember the name of the hotel, same group just at the outskirts of Oia) it was absolute bliss, and perfect in every way!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We had booked villa katikies for our honeymoon for 2 nights a month in advance. Upon arrival they informed us that the hotel was sold out and tries to put us up in some shady motel. When we resisted , they told us that we had no option. Then we looked up www.hotels.com and they were selling their rooms which was showing available at 10 times the price. We told them that the website was showing rooms availability so how can they tell us that rooms were not available. They said there is a big price difference in what we paid and what is on the net now. Ultimately because we were on our honeymoon and didn't want to loos time, we took the other Option that they were recommending but they wasted 1 full day. We got the room at 9pm.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Simply one of the best hotel experiences we've ever had in Europe. Lia - our host at Villa Katikies - was extremely helpful and attentive, as were all the staff we met at Hotel Katikies. Everything looks EXACTLY as it does on the Katikies website (so no nasty suprises) and Oia itself was every bit as magical as the pictures suggest. It is pricey, but definitely has the goods to back it up. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

*Before we arrived I didn't quite understand the connection between the various hotels in the Katikies group, so just wanted to add this note to clarify: We stayed in the Villa - about 1 minute away from Hotel Katikies - which suited us perfectly. It's slightly quieter than the hotel with only 7 rooms, but the same level of service and standard of room as Hotel Katikies. We ended up spending most of our time at the blissful Hotel Katikies infinity pool, where we were treated like royalty and receieved exactly the same level of service as any of the other hotel guests.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the lower level rooms, which had a balcony that caught the evening sun. The room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

In the past whenever I've gone on holiday, the reality has never really lived up to the hype. This most definitely was NOT the case at the Villa Katikies. The pictures that you see on their web site and on here are EXACTLY what you get. Oia is a beautiful place, and the staff at both the Villas and the Hotel Katikies could not have been more courteous, charming or helpful. The breakfasts were amazing, the service was top-notch and nothing was too much trouble. This was my first holiday in about three years, and I was looking forward to it enormously. Everything met or exceeded my expectations. If you are looking for a top-notch, romantic, battery re-charging holiday, this is the place for it.

Room Tip: We had Room 3 at the Villas, which was on the top level and at the end of the row, which meant we di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Katikies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Katikies

Address: Main Street, Oia 84702, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Katikies 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the cliff sides of Oia in the magical Santorini Island, overlooking the sublime Caldera of Santorini, lies Villa Katikies, a small cluster of seven idyllic private Santorini villas, magnificently designed in traditional Cycladic architecture and contemporary style that mingle this distinguished luxury villas in Greece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Escapio, Despegar.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Katikies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Katikies Santorini/Oia, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Katikies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.