We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful property except u can't see sunset from here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Katikies

Save Saved
You added Villa Katikies to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Katikies
5.0 of 5 Villa   |   Oia | Santorini, Oia 84702, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 54 Specialty lodging in Oia
delhi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“beautiful property except u can't see sunset from here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

we stayed in the villa for 2 nights,though we booked for 3 & the third night we were shifted to kirnies spa.... now negative part was this whole arranement was told to us after we arrived on the port ..so u r new to the place in ur own relaxing mode this will give u a real jolt .........on positive note as we were travelling light we fell in love with both their properties in oia....rooms r beautiful ,services promt & quality of food excellent..infact view of sunset was sooo much better from kirnis...it was a blessing in disguise we had a personal jacuzzi & had the best experience

Room Tip: take any room with personal jacuzzi in kirnis & villa7 in kartikies & dont worry to change i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    14
    3
    0
    6
See reviews for
8
69
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We just returned from a wonderful week in Santorini and are so glad we stayed at Hotel Katikies. I had booked Villa Katikies with a special off-season discount, but when we arrived, we were told that the Villa had been recently closed due to low occupancy at the end of the season. My concerns were wiped away the second we arrived at Hotel Katikies. (Not to mention multiple people told us the Hotel is better than the Villa, but who knows?) We were upgraded to a suite and fell in love the second we arrived. It was so peaceful and quiet, although I believe this is more characteristic of the off season.

The hotel is perfectly located at the East end of the tiled main pedestrian walkway that runs in between various hotels, restaurants, and then into the quaint shopping area and finally ends on the West end of the island where you can view the sunset. It takes less than 10 minutes to walk from the hotel to the West end of Oia. As has been stated multiple times, Oia is not very handicap accessible and Katikies Hotel is no exception. We stayed in Room #1, which we loved, but there were dozens of stairs to get to the room. They will carry your bags, but you need to feel comfortable with stairs, or at least take a break halfway. Just think of it as your workout for the day!

The hotel is impeccably kept. The staff was excellent and the service was unbelievable. Room #1 is right next to the amazing infinity pool shown on the website. Our room was very spacious, complete with a complimentary bottle of wine, free Wifi, TV, etc. When we walked in, a Bose iPod player with an iPod was playing relaxing music. This was nice to have when we wanted to charge our phones. The bed was very comfortable. The view from our balcony was unbelievable - and the perfect place to have the amazing breakfast they prepare every day - Yogurt, Greek omelets, Greek Pies, pastries, all delicious! I can't overstate how incredible the infinity pool is. There are multiple people standing by to get you food, drink, or just adjust your umbrella! We watched the sunset from our lounge chairs and it was great. We never had to wait for a chair either.

We booked a catamaran day cruise which was outstanding. We also arranged airport transportation through the hotel. They wanted to charge 20Euro pp, but when we said we wanted a taxi instead for 25euro total, they still took us, but only charged the rate of a taxi.

Although we had friends staying at Andronis Suites (for 3x more $$$), we opted for Katikies because of the price and the online reviews were good. I am so glad we ended up there given the location, service, rooms, food, pool, etc. I can't wait to come back to paradise again!

Room Tip: Room #1 is right next to the pool if you're okay with walking up and down more stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We booked via online serval months in advance and get 70% off for 2 nights. We also double confirm the reservation via email 10 days in advance. However, when the hotel picks us at the port and tell us that they need to transfer us to another hotel not under Katikies group for the 1st night, we are shocked. Without any choice, we have to say "yes". This is totally wrong. Why the hotel didn't inform us before we arrive Santorini ??? Why they reply our email stated that the reservation is confirmed??? Think twice if you really want to book this hotel since they may move you to some other hotel and you will not get what you have paid

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed 3 nights at this incridible hotel that has the most beautiful view ever. I'm very picky about hotel rooms and was so glad to find a lovely, clean and charming suite that matched all expectations. The bed was so confortable that my husband and I had trouble getting out of it!! Staff was so attentive and professional at the same time. The manager, Alexander, was very nice to book all restaurants (best tables) and to give us good tips on where to go and what to see. I have to mention Catarina, a nice, young lady that was very helpful and kind. We rented a Crossblade Smart (shop is right in front of the hotel) and moved all around the island. The Catamaran ride in the morning was also another great experience. We were lucky to have a lovely group and a beautiful sunny day, it turned out to be one of those moments you will never forget. The Red Beach is a different sight, we stayed there for half an hour, just to visit. We really liked Parivolos Beach, where we could really relax and enjoy some nice drinks and food. This place was magical, specially for couples as it is very romantic. But I loved all of Greece, a place I will definetly return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I have stayed in many beautiful boutique hotels worldwide but Villa Katikies is in a league of its own. Our stay there has redefined our definition of luxury in paradise. It is the first time that my wife and I have gone on holiday and immediately felt 100% relaxed from day one.

Everything was absolute perfection and I can not think of a way that our experience could be improved upon. The rooms were spotless, the view breathtaking and the hotel itself so incredibly elegant and refined without being pretentious.

Spectacular location aside, the thing that made our trip so magical was the manageress Eva and her team, both in Villa Katikies and the main hotel complex. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they made everyone feel like a million dollars. They had the rare gift of being so attentative yet at the same time being unattrusive and the warmth and sincerity was very special.

My wife and I rarely stay in the same location twice but both of us would return to Villa Katikies in a heart beat as Eva and her team have given us the best holiday we have ever been on by a long stretch. They strive for perfection and effortlessly exceed it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I must admit that I did not have too high expectations of Santorini. As we were invited to a wedding on the Island it ended up being on my travel itinerary. As the marriage took place in Oia, the wedding couple stayed one week at Hotel Katikies and I did want to be in walking distance, I ended up choosing the more private and quite Villa Katikies. Villa Katikies, is much smaller then Hotel Katikies, has one pool, and is 3 hotels away on the same hillside of Hotel Katikies. The architecture and the interior design is the same, it has 7 rooms, and one pool. They don't have a restaurant but offer breakfast served on your terrace or in front of the reception. As I was traveling with my partner and we could use some privacy, I booked a suite. Our room (number 7) is the best Villa Katikies has to offer, it has a huge terrace and is one floor higher then the pool. The room isn't as large as you would expect from a suite, but it offers a unique atmosphere and was exactly as romantic as I wanted it to be. The room has a rather small bathroom with shower. Due to the small size of the hotel, you get connected to the local staff and the general manager from day one. They all are very attentively, professional and do everything to make your stay pleasant and relaxing as possible. They offer 3 different breakfasts (Continental, Healthy and Greek) which preferably have to be ordered the night before. If you like cold coffee do order the delicicous Café Fredo's. They don't come better then this! As a guest of the Villa Katikies, you can use all the facilities of Hotel Katikies, which offers two different pools and thee different restaurants (normal, Greek, gourmet). If you are on Santorini, please do a boat tour and take your jogging shoes with you. From Oia you can run up on the top of the closest mountain. It's a 30min run with 400m elevation and offers the most spectacular sunset view of the Island. The Spa at the Kirini hotel, which belongs to the same group is a most-do activity if you are a couple. You get the whole spa for yourself and can enjoy cave pools and 100% privacy. All by all the Katikies group offer excellent service quality and a unique experience for couples. It is not suited for singles, families or a party crowd.

Room Tip: suite number 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

A big thank you to Eva for making our anniversary celebration in Santorini so beautiful and unforgettable one! The personalized service from the manager herself is highly commendable. Thank u so much Eva!
The will be no other place that I want to stay when back in OIA again.Highly recommended and you definitely won't regret it! Simply the best!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Katikies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Katikies

Address: Oia | Santorini, Oia 84702, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 54 Specialty lodging in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Katikies 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the cliff sides of Oia in the magical Santorini Island, overlooking the sublime Caldera of Santorini, lies Villa Katikies, a small cluster of seven idyllic private Santorini villas, magnificently designed in traditional Cycladic architecture and contemporary style that mingle this distinguished luxury villas in Greece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Amex, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Villa Katikies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Katikies Santorini/Oia, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Katikies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.