We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best day in Santorini” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours

SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours
P.O. Box 23020, Oia TK 84702 , Greece
+ 30 22860 71474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 activities in Oia
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: For the discerning traveler, NOT TO BE MISSED! We offer daily private and semi-private wine tours,cooking classes,island adventures and more... Never more than 6 persons, you are guaranteed a private tour feeling at a semi private price! You will visit vineyards and wineries as we travel the island and of course, drink some of the most distinctive wines Greece has to offer. Learn how the ancient, indigenous varieties are transformed into the world famous VinSanto, the crisp, bold fresh whites and the mellowed oak fermented whites. Discover the new and surprising reds, all paired with local, traditional dishes. We also offer customized food/island events.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Best day in Santorini”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

What a fabulous day. Whatever you do in Santorini, make sure you do this. Phoenix is a great host and has superb knowledge of local wines and the Island. There were three couples in the party, so not a BIG group! We visited 3 vineyards and sampled many different superb wines. No pressure to buy, but we couldn't resist in picking up a bottle from all three to remind us of a great holiday and superb day. The meze food served at the last vineyard was also excellent. Thank you to Tripadvisor.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAFOWI, Owner at SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for the great review and thank you for joining in. You were all a good fit together. I am sure you are enjoying your wines you took home by now. Correct?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We saw Phenix's trip advior reviews and were excited that she was from San Francisco. Glad we booked our tour with her. She KNOWS her wines. Took us to 3 incredible wineries and learned so much about Santorini wines. She was so friendly, warm, and interesting. All of the Santorini wine tours basically advertize, charge, and do the same, so go with someone who really knows their stuff-Phenix!!

Gave us a GREAT recommendation for a restaurant in Imerovigli afterward, and we went to Anogi, where we had the best meal on our trip to Santorini.

Thanks Phenix!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAFOWI, Owner at SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Well thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! It was a pleasure to have you along for the day. Glad you enjoyed yourselves and I know you will be spreading the good words about the islands wines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We spent a glorious afternoon with Phenix recently being introduced to the history of wine on Santorini. There was just the two of us on the excursion with Phenix who is delight to spend time with and really knows her stuff. Her style is relaxed and casual and she has great knowledge on wine and Santorini. We visited 2 vineyards and had great twine tasting at both....the white wines on the island are amazing. We bought wine at both wineyards and were only sorry we didn't have more room in our bags....this truly is a undiscovered secret!

I should mention a wine we had at the second vineyard, it was a 'wild ferment' and was out of this world. Unfortunately it's so poplar that they had none available to sell but we've already sourced some in the UK....if you get the chance to try this wine, grab it with both hands!!

We finished our day with a cooking class with a local chef. He was terrific, so pleasant and friendly and with a great sense of humour. He thought us to cook a few local dishes and while it would have been great to be more hands on I still walked away feeling confident enough to try the dishes at home. The evening finished with dinner served beside the beach - it was perfect!

Phenix takes cafe of everything on the day and really makes you feel at ease, from collecting you, getting you around the island and dropping you back to your hotel (much needed after all the wine:) . This isn't a cheap experience, but like anything you pay for quality and I feel we got great value for money out of the day.

Thanks Phenix

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAFOWI, Owner at SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
WOW, I am so glad you found the wild ferment! It is not an easy wine to find due to the limited production. Good for you. Thanks for the review and I am pleased you enjoyed yourselves. It was a nice afternoon and I hope it remains one of your favorite memories of the island. Come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ras Tanura, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Spent a wonderful afternoon with Phenix learning, enjoying and tasting wines from 3 different wineries. At the end of the tour, she gave us an incredible suggestion for dinner at Amoudi Bay. Thanks!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAFOWI, Owner at SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thanks for the review & joining in on the day. As I said, Ammoudi is not to be missed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Really great outing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We booked an afternoon semi-private wine tour, but there we so many of us, it was just our group. Phenix took us to three wonderful wineries and taught us about the unique way they make wine in Santorini. It was just the right amount of learning while having a relaxing and fun afternoon. Well worth the cost. Everyone in the group enjoyed themselves. I would most definitely do this tour again and send friends and family.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAFOWI, Owner at SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
You all were great & I'm happy you enjoyed yourselves. Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours also viewed

 

Been to SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours to your Saves list