We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Connection

SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Connection
P.O. Box 23020, Oia TK 84702 , Greece
+ 30 22860 71474
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #2 of 12 activities in Oia
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: For the discerning traveler, NOT TO BE MISSED! We offer daily private and semi-private wine tours,cooking classes,island adventures and more... in small groups to explore Santorini's wine culture. You will visit vineyards and wineries as we travel the island and of course, drink some of the most distinctive wines Greece has to offer. Learn how the ancient, indigenous varieties are transformed into the world famous VinSanto, the crisp, bold fresh whites and the mellowed oak fermented whites. Discover the new and surprising reds, all paired with local, traditional dishes. We also offer customized food/island events.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We cannot say enough wonderful things about Phenix and her knowledge of the history of wine and the island of Santorini. From the moment she picked us up at our hotel until the moment she dropped us off, we felt as though we were with a friend. The wineries we visited (Argyros and Gaia) enthralled us with their delicious selection of island made wines. Phenix and her island wine and cooking tour is a must do while visiting Santorini!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAFOWI, Owner at SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Connection, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
That is exactly how you are intended to feel, with an old friend showing you her island! Glad you enjoyed...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We did the wine tour and cooking class with Phenix and it was fabulous. The wine tours were great- learning about the wines of Santorini while tasting the product in beautiful settings was a definite highlights of our time in Santorini. Phenix keeps the group size small, which made the entire tour far more personal and enjoyable. The cooking class was also really enjoyable- definitely geared for people with any level of cooking experience. Would absolutely recommend an outing with Phenix to anyone who is interested in learning more about the wines of Santorini from a local expert!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAFOWI, Owner at SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Connection, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Brittany, I am so glad that you got to join in the fun. It was a great day, thank you for letting me share it with you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A must-do experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you are interested in good food and wine, don't miss this; A visit to 2 wineries with an informative explanation of the history of winemaking in Santorini and the uniqueness of the region, followed, not only by a sumptuous dinner in an excellent beachfront taverna, but the opportunity to help the chef prepare it, learning the little tricks to good greek salad, tomato keftethes and pork medalions in vinsanto. Of course it was washed down with the wonderful local assyrtico wines. Our host, Phenix, shared with us her passion for Santorini and its amazing food and wine. We were picked up and dropped off at our hotel and were lucky enough to share our experience with a beautiful mother and daughter from the US. Well worth doing, a great way to spend an afternoon in Santorini.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAFOWI, Owner at SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Connection, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thanks Nick, it was a fun afternoon.
Let me know if there are any hook-ups between the offspring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Phoenix, the best !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

TRUST Phoenix !!!! She knows how to make you experts in Santorini wine and food !!!
You will really enjoy a wonderful half day tour !!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great trip for adults and nearly adult kid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were lucky enough to go on Phenix's wine tour in late May 2013. It was a great side trip to see the island and get a very detailed tour of the beautiful wineries and the island. My husband and I and our two nearly adult children (17 and 20 years old) enjoyed learning about the farming practices and of course tasting the wines and appetizers. Phenix was a very skilled tour guide and certainly knows her stuff so you won't go wrong here.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAFOWI, Owner at SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Connection, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
I thoroughly enjoyed the whole family and am very glad it was a hit with all of you. Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Connection also viewed

 

Been to SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Connection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Connection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.