We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip for adults and nearly adult kid” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours

SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours
P.O. Box 23020, Oia TK 84702 , Greece
+ 30 22860 71474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 activities in Oia
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: For the discerning traveler, NOT TO BE MISSED! We offer daily private and semi-private wine tours,cooking classes,island adventures and more... Never more than 6 persons, you are guaranteed a private tour feeling at a semi private price! You will visit vineyards and wineries as we travel the island and of course, drink some of the most distinctive wines Greece has to offer. Learn how the ancient, indigenous varieties are transformed into the world famous VinSanto, the crisp, bold fresh whites and the mellowed oak fermented whites. Discover the new and surprising reds, all paired with local, traditional dishes. We also offer customized food/island events.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great trip for adults and nearly adult kid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were lucky enough to go on Phenix's wine tour in late May 2013. It was a great side trip to see the island and get a very detailed tour of the beautiful wineries and the island. My husband and I and our two nearly adult children (17 and 20 years old) enjoyed learning about the farming practices and of course tasting the wines and appetizers. Phenix was a very skilled tour guide and certainly knows her stuff so you won't go wrong here.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAFOWI, Owner at SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
I thoroughly enjoyed the whole family and am very glad it was a hit with all of you. Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great way to see Santorini - Wine AND Cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I were able to make a last minute reservation with Phoneix and I am glad that we did. We both like wine, and like to cook, so the idea of combining the two was interesting to us. We had a pretty much private tour of the city, and learned a tremendous amount about the history of wine making. We visited 2 wineries, did a lot of tastings and explored some of the vineyards to see how the grapes grow. We ended the day with a cooking lesson and learned about the local cuisine and customs, followed by dinner on the beach.

The whole trip - starting with picking us up at our hotel and dropping us back off- took about 5 hours, and was well worth the 260 Euro for 2 (130 per).

Phoenix was also a blast to be around - very fun, great story telling ability, and a lot of information about the island.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAFOWI, Owner at SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
I am so glad that it all worked out so we could spend the time together. Thanks for the review and I hope the rest of your stay was as enjoyable. Did you make it to La Ponta?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I did the "wine and cooking" (semi-private) tour with Phenix. It was awesome; the best thing we did on our trip to Santorini. Phenix really knows about wine, and she's a great teacher. After taking us to two wineries, Phenix took us to the Nykteri restaurant for a cooking lesson. (I've got to think that tasting six or seven different wines helped me enjoy the afternoon. I did enjoy it immensely.) Here we got to meet Vassilis, an incredible, native Santorinian, chef, and also a great teacher. After our cooking lesson, they sat us down for a delightful Greek dinner by the sea.

The history of winemaking on Santorini is deeply interesting. There are probably several guides who can lead you through it, but I'm glad that we went with SaFoWi.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAFOWI, Owner at SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Well I am glad you choose Safowi as well! It was a great afternoon and thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Fantastic Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were on a cruise ship that stopped in Santorini late in the afternoon. Phenix picked us up at 3:30 and we did a half day semi private tour with her. She took us to a vineyard and explained the unique methods of grape growing on the island and then went to 3 wineries that each had different methods of making wine, from traditional to modern. At each winery an extensive range of wines were tasted. At the last winery a sampling of tapas style, delicious Greek food was provided. There were opportunities to buy wine at each of the wineries but no pressure to do so.
Phenix is very engaging, friendly and knowledgeable about wines.You don't have to be a wine connoisseur to enjoy this tour for, as Phenix says, if you enjoy the wine, it's a good wine. It was an informative and very enjoyable way to get a taste of Santorini. Definitely recommend this tour!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAFOWI, Owner at SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and very happy that you enjoyed yourselves!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great tour & Greek wine education”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We did the half day tour with Phenix and thoroughly enjoyed it. Phenix picked us up from our accommodation, and returned us at the end of the afternoon. She had a great understanding of the Santorini wine culture - teaching us all about the traditional basket method used by the Santorini wine growers. Phenix is very personable and had a good relationship with the staff of the vineyards we visited.

For fist time visitors, the tour provided us with a wonderful introduction to Santorini, the island history, and her wines. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAFOWI, Owner at SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review! Glad you enjoyed yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours also viewed

 

Been to SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours to your Saves list