We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Wine Tour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours

SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours
P.O. Box 23020, Oia TK 84702 , Greece
+30 2286 071474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Food & Drink in Oia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For the discerning traveler, NOT TO BE MISSED! We offer daily private and semi-private wine tours,cooking classes,island adventures and more... Never more than 6 persons, you are guaranteed a private tour feeling at a semi private price! You will visit vineyards and wineries as we travel the island and of course, drink some of the most distinctive wines Greece has to offer. Learn how the ancient, indigenous varieties are transformed into the world famous VinSanto, the crisp, bold fresh whites and the mellowed oak fermented whites. Discover the new and surprising reds, all paired with local, traditional dishes. We also offer customized food/island events.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Huntington Beach
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Wine Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is an excellent way to spend part of your time in Santorini. Having heard about Santorini wines before our trip, we booked this hoping to learn a little more. We learned a lot and had a great time in the process!

Phenix has an amazing knowledge of wine and the history of winemaking on the island. I was fascinated to learn about Vinsanto and its place in the history of Greece and the Greek church. We visited three wineries during the tour, and what I liked is that it is SO different from the touristy wine tasting tours that you get in Napa/Sonoma. This is private, personal, and unique.

My favorite part was visiting Estate Argyros where the "tasting room" is actually the chemist lab where they do various tests on the wine. In talking with Panayota at Argyros, she told us where we could find their wine back here in California (High Times in Costa Mesa). We went shortly after we returned and bought their Assyrtiko and Vinsanto Mezzo. FYI: High Times also has some wines from Sigalas which is also on the tour.

Definitely take an afternoon and do this tour with Phenix. You'll learn a lot, enjoy some great wine and have some good stories to tell when you get home.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAFOWI, Owner at SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thanks for the great review and very happy that you found Santorini Wines in So. Calif. It was a pleasure to show you both around, a fun day for all and very nice to know that you were listening. Enjoy those wines and spread the joy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga,Ontario Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great time spent with Phenix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

From the time we read the reviews until the time we visited,Phenix Gilbert was wonderful.Our experience on the island was highlighted with our private day tours first for the wine tour and then secondly all day tour"showing us Santorini of the heart" It was time well spent and we really believe we have a new friend. Phenix your kindness and care to show us two incredible days on your beautiful island has left us memories that will never be forgotten. As people who do not use tours to see places as a rule, we would have no reservations recommending your wine tour whether private or group. Thank you for showing us so much on out trips, hopefully we will meet again upon our return. The reviews placed here are echoed from both of us ...see you again soon...when you are in CANADA ...we will share some more Vinsanto...Joe and Naysan....P.S. we found Luckys..very cool and you were right...the perfect place for a light lunch....

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAFOWI, Owner at SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Well you two, I hope the island lived up to your dreams! It was my pleasure to show you around and help you to see a side as experiential as it is visual. All the best to you both and look forward to seeing you upon your return. You know where to find me. XXOO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Pleasures of Santorini Off the Beaten Path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We had a free afternoon in Santorini and wanted to get away from the shops and bars. Phenix Gilbert gave us just what we wanted: a chance for friends to taste wines, see the countryside, talk with residents and understand the island a little better. After picking us up in Fira, we visited three producers: Gavalas, Argyros and Sigalas who grow grapes using both the traditional "basket" techniques and newer ones with trellised vines. The tastings included the excellent whites that the island is noted for, very good reds that the wine producers are starting to make and the traditional sweet vinsanto. The tour ended with wines and light meze on the terrace at the Sigalas estate: a wonderful way to end the tour and a great prelude to dinner overlooking the caldera. Phenix is knowledgeable about wines and the island, outgoing and enthusiastic, making us want to experience more of the island. This was one of the highlights of our Mediterranean cruise.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A perfect day in paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We booked this tour from Australia prior to arriving in Santorini. We debated whether to book a private tour or a small group tour but decided to book a private tour, despite the cost - this turned out to be one of the best decisions of our trip! We had a fantastic day with Phenix who was very knowledgeable and great company. We had a tour of the island, stopping at awesome photo points and visited four wineries sampling the wine and food of Santorini. We learnt about the history of wine on the island and enjoyed listening to Phenix impart her knowledge of how wine is grown and made in Santorini which differs dramatically from here in Australia! The four wineries we visited were all very different, giving us a varied and insightful view of the wine industry of Santorini. Despite there being no pressure to purchase, we bought four bottles of Vinsanto, some Vinsanto chocolate and three bottles of local wine, most of which we enjoyed whilst watching the sunset back at our hotel. I would recommend Phenix to anyone visiting Santorini - she had thought of everything! It was very warm while we were there and Phenix had cold bottles of water in the car for us and also some delicious bread sticks for us to enjoy in between wineries. Even if you are not wine lovers, this is still a great way to explore a different side of Santorini. A must do!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Well done Phenix!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I did this semi private tour in early July 2012. Phenix picked us up near our hotel and then we travelled to pick up another couple. There were just 4 of us and Phenix bubbled with energy and enthusiasm. We were given lots of information regarding all facets of winemaking and regarding the climate of Santorini. I am no wine connisseur but was able to follow and more importantly enjoy Phenix's unique anecdotes and history of wineries in Santorini. It truly was a pleasure to listen to her. I would advise anyone to take this tour. It was truly one of the highlights of our stay in Oia. Thanks again Phenix!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours also viewed

 

Been to SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.