We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great "return to ship" excursion in Santorini!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santorini Sea Trips Anemos

Santorini Sea Trips Anemos
Ammoudi or Armeni Harbour, Oia, Greece
+30 22860 22932
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 14 Activities in Oia
Type: Tours, Adventure
Attraction details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great "return to ship" excursion in Santorini!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I recently visited Santorini on the Serenade of the Seas. We did the 6+ mile hike from Fira to Oia. We had considered taking a taxi or bus back to the cable car station in Fira at the end of the day, but we heard horror stories about the crowded buses and hard-to-find taxis.

What we ended up doing, along with a group we met on cruisecritic.com, is charter the Anemos for a 3 hour tour of the caldera. Stathis picked up at the gorgeous port of Ammoudi. We then made a stop in Thirassia to take in some of the local flavor. We then stopped at the hot springs for a leisurely swim. (It's not everyday you can say you swam in an active volcano!) After 3 hours, Stathis returned us to Fira port, completely negating the need for a taxi, bus, or a long wait for the cable car.

Captain Stathis was very accomodating, and was willing to modify the itinerary based on what we were interested in doing.

If you are in Santorini, I highly reccomend Captain Stathis and the Anemos. Santorini is a beautiful place...even more so from the water!!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    3
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A must do in Santorini!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We went on the Anemos boat for a tour to the volcano, hot springs and swimming spot for around 30 euro per person. It was a small boat which we met at the old port on Santorini (just near the cable car entry/exit) and it took us straight over to the volcano. Captain Stathis said we could take as long as we wanted at the volcano so we didn't feel rushed to get back. He then took us to the hot springs and then the swimming spot.

It was a very laid back experience which is what we loved about it. On a couple of occasions a packed tour boat went past with a tour guide speaking over the loud PA system and we both felt so lucky that we picked the Anemos Boat Tour. Captain Stathis was happy to tell you anything you wanted to know about the area/volcano etc but also gave you space to enjoy the experience which was great.

A tip for those of you going to the hot springs- don't wear a swimming costume that has any white on it (same for towels) - the water leaves brown marks.

Also, if you're tossing up between a small group tour and a private tour- choose the private. We were meant to be on a group tour but the other people didn't turn up and it made the experience just a bit more special.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A perfect morning in Santorini!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We visited Santorini in March, which was perfect. There were no crowds and the weather was perfect: sunny and 75 degrees each day. Many boat tours and sea trip excursions were not yet running since tourist season had not yet begun. However, upon contacting Captain Stathis via email @ santoriniseatrips@yahoo.co.uk, we were promptly greeted and happily booked a three hour excursion on the Anemos. We met Captain Stathis at the port in Fira, where he welcomed us aboard his ship with a warm and welcoming smile. He graciously escorted us around the beautiful Caldera, over to Oia, and back to Fira, tailoring the trip according to our wishes. He even allowed our four year old son to steer the ship, creating a memory that will last a lifetime! Our first stop was the Volcano, where we were free to spend as much time as we liked trekking around the wonderfully unique black lava rocks. Next, we visited the hot springs. Unfortunately, it was a bit too cool to experience this attraction. The boat anchors in a bay area, where you would swim over to the actual hot springs. We were not prepared for a chilly swim, so on we went around the volcano and did a little deep sea fishing en route to Oia. In warmer times, there would have been amazing swimming opportunities through this area. If I had a do-over, I would come a little later in the season and plan the excursion to sightsee, swim and drop off at Oia for lunch and shopping/exploring, then return to Fira via bus. Now, we know the bus service between Oia and Fira is simple to use, cheap, and frequent enough to accommodate daily travel plans. Since we chose to return to Fira, we were stuck waiting on a broken cable car to get back up to town. (Fira port has three options to ascend from the port to town: 1.) unending stairs up a cliff 2.) donkeys (not an option for us as our little one was terrified somehow.) 3.) cable cars that run less frequently in the off season. This excursion was a wonderful part of our vacation in Santorini. Our morning on the water with Captain Stathis made for an unforgettable set of memories while on this beautiful island filled with gracious, kind hearted and welcoming people.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The most picturesque [man-made] place in Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Forget Paris. Landon, bah. Barcelona, retrograde. Provence and Tuscany, well close. For my money, the most picturesque [man-made] place in Europe is OIA, a tiny village on the northern tip of the Island of Santorini in Greece. Don't take my word for it, consider how many travel magazine covers have appeared this year with one of Oia domed covered churches have appeared, back dropped by the azure sky with the multicolored shades of cerulean and cobalt blues of the Eastern Aegean. And all of the covers do not do it justice.
Unfortunately, I and my lovely wife were on a cruise vacation and we had only two and a half hours to wander its streets, note the people still leading work-donkeys, selling t-shirts, leather goods, etc. to we tourists and I cannot tell you what the inside of what any of these buildings look like. Nor can I review a single restaurant; although I can tell you -I saw them deliver it- the food, especially the seafood, was fresh.
The rest of Santorini, alleged site that inspired Mama Mia (I heard that said of several places was prosaic. Nice, but not up to the standard set by Oia. Take a donkey ride down the cliff, or the cable car. Go the the winery. By the way, except that the wine being free, you can skip the winery. Either way, ou will still prefer Oia.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The cherry on an already amazing trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

On our second to last day we took a three hour tour on the Isabella with Karen and Nick. We nearly missed the boat, having underestimated how long it would take to get from Oia to the port, but they had kept an eye out for us and turned the boat right around to collect us. They were without a doubt, the most hospitable and lovely people. We were on the boat with a family of four so it felt more like being on the boat of a family member as opposed to being carted like cattle like some of the other service operators.

We weren't able to get to the volcano because of extremely choppy waters (nobody was making it out) but we were able to sail along the coast, swim in the sea, and lounge in the sun. We had lots of wonderful nibbles that they prepared, as well as sodas, and it was an incredible experience. Excellent value for money.

I'd strongly recommend this over other boat tours - this was a far more personable, high quality and relaxed experience than what you'd get on a boat with 50 random people.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santorini Sea Trips Anemos also viewed

 

Been to Santorini Sea Trips Anemos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santorini Sea Trips Anemos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.