We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant,great food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Krinaki

Krinaki
Centre of Finikia, Oia 84702, Greece
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 70 Restaurants in Oia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: This is a traditional taverna in Finikia (on the outskirts of OIa). It is referred to in a couple of forum topics, but not yet listed as an eatery.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant,great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

As we were staying at the edge of Oia at Onar Villas this restaurant was not too far for us to walk to.It was already dark as we strolled along the road into the village of Finikia and down a pathway that leads to Krinaki.The restaurant is traditional and rustic.
My wife had the Lamb on a spit and I had the chicken souvlakia,both dishes were delicious.We shared a dish of tomatoe fritters to begin with,these had mint in them and were the best we tasted while on holiday.This was one of the best meals we had whilst in Santorini and was one of the cheapest,great food at very reasonable prices.When I mentioned to our hotel owner we had eaten there she smiled as she and her husband eat there as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    35
    7
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Good value and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were recommended Krinaki by our hotel (Kirini Suites) who made a reservation for us. The restaurant is in a small village just about a mile away from the edge of Oia and easily reached on foot from where we were staying.

As we had walked past the village car park earlier in the day to get to the vineyard, we detoured off on the way back to suss out where the taverna was. I'm glad we did as I may have thought we'd taken a wrong turn otherwise. The restaurant is at the end of a track which starts off wide enough for a car, but narrows as it nears houses and becomes a cobbled alleyway.

As the last reviewer has said, the village is very traditional (the dustman went past on his donkey collecting refuse sacks from neighbouring properties) and there are no cars or bright lights! We were sat on the terrace overlooking the roof-tops of adjoining properties so had a birds eye view of simple village life.

The food is also traditional - a good range of starters and mains were on offer and we shared three starters (tzatziki and homemade meat balls being two) to prior to our mains, which were chicken souvlaki and lamb chops respectively. Both meat dishes were superbly cooked.

The wine list included choices from the local vineyard, which was priced considerably lower than elsewhere so represented good value.

The owner was also the waiter and he was very helpful and friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Charming and authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

About a mile outside of Oia lies the small village of Finikia. This is a quiet traditional settlement where paved paths wind between white washed houses and cars are absent from the narrow streets – a delightful place to wander and get away from the bustle and crowds of Oia. In the heart of Finikia lies a wonderful small tavern called Krinaki. During the day it has lovely views over the vineyards to the Aegean sea and the islands of Ios, Sikinos and Folegandros at night it has a relaxed atmosphere.

The food is traditional Greek and the specials vary from day to day as if it is made up based on whatever ingredients were available in the market. This is not the showy European cuisine you’d find in Oia or Fira nor the typical tourist Greek food you can find anywhere, this is good home cooked basic Greek food. It is testament to the quality of the food that each time we ate there Greeks were eating there too. I saw several people attempt to tackle the shin of pork: so enormous all either left some or took it home for later.

The service was somewhat erratic but quite charming with it, starters may not arrive together and you have to ask for the specials rather than being told or having a board up anywhere and the order of service did not often bear any relation to the order the guests arrived!
But over all an inexpensive, rustic and (presumably) authentic little restaurant. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Art Of Meat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I have several times visited Krinaki and steel is one of my favorite Restaurants in Santorini.

It's a traditional Canava House with one of the best yards with beautiful flowers in the center of Finikia Vilagge outside of Oia.

The service is family style with attentive staff.

The food is as simple as tasteful with choices of traditional Greek cheeses local green salads special dishes of the day and of cource the best cooked meat in the island

It worth a visit not only in the summer but in the autumn too!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My Sister and I visited this lovely restaurant last week, thanks to TripAdvisor reviews. It was not far from Atlantida Villas were we stayed. The service and food were wonderful. We had Green beans and Tomato starter which was lovely, followed by spit-roast Lamb which was devine. Despite the reviews we had the house red wine and it was lovely and really complimented our meal. Our waiter, who I think was the Owner was really nice and helpful, stating everything was locally sourced and fresh. It really was a great place with lovely views, we were lucky as we did not make a reservation and although it became busier later in the evening, we still felt we were made to feel special. I would definately recommend this lovely restaurant, it was off the beaten track in the Old Town of Finikia which was as pretty in the day as it was in the evening. It was close to Baxedas and Paradise beaches and also a fine winery.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krinaki also viewed

Oia, Santorini
Oia, Santorini
 

Been to Krinaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krinaki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.