We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kastro Oia Restaurant

Kastro Oia Restaurant
Oia, Oia, Greece
22860 71045
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 71 Restaurants in Oia
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

If you have booked to eat, you will get the best table to see the sunset. No doubt. The food is good too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    98
    36
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We had just walked off the cable car and saw this restaurant that sits right on the side of the cliff and decided to eat lunch before strolling through Oia. The view was amazing but so was the food. Service was a little slow to start but well worth the wait. The Greek Salad for two was amazing as was the Gyros and Pork Souvlaki. We can't stop talking about it - haven't found anything close to the taste in Atlanta.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great view poor food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We prebooked a sunset front row table after reading reviews on tripadvisor.
This restaurant is near the Castle & although the view was amazing & service very good the food was very poor.I had the beef & requested medium & it arrived rare & luke warm! My partner had the lamb as said it was just ok.It was nice to have meal with the lovely view & for this reason only I am glad I visited but certainly would not be returning!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Great sunset view, simple Greek fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Be sure to reserve early and specify a sea side front row table as the sunset is the event. The food is simple, Greek fare that is good, but not great. Nothing stood out other than the sunset, but even that was bit marred by the many bystanders outside of the restaurant that continued to crowd into and block the view. The waiters attempted to keep them away, but with only short lived success.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sunset, romance and great food ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We were lucky to get a table here last night after stumbling across this restaurant off the main pedestrian path through Oia. We saw many people get turned away while we were eating so be sure to book if you want to guarantee a table. We went for the set menu which was excellent but we struggled to eat it all so probably wouldn't go for that unless your really hungry ! Good value option though as the menu is pricey but you expect that for the location. Fabulous views of the sunset, really something special to be enjoying a lovely meal and wine while the sun sets on Oia. The waiters were doing an excellent job of moving people on who were standing in the way of view on tge path around the restaurant! Quite entertaining!! Would highly recommend for a special evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kastro Oia Restaurant also viewed

 
Oia, Santorini
 

Been to Kastro Oia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kastro Oia Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.