We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth diverting of the Main Street” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karma

Karma
Oia, Oia 84702, Greece
302286017404
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 71 Restaurants in Oia
Price range: $12 - $23
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Dessert, Greek, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Well worth diverting of the Main Street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This place is a perfect little place off the Main Street away from all the tourists. It's really authentic & relaxed. The whole vibe is like this so don't expect quick fast service or food. Great value & great food in a different kind of setting. Would go back again

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    53
    7
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awful Food Awful Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Wouldn't advise going to this restaurant as staff are rude and food isn't much better! - my family didn't have the best dinning experience here as everything was too much trouble - also over priced! €5 for a bottle of water?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galanop, Ιδιοκτήτης at Karma, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Normally I don’t reply on reviews and any comments are always welcome and help us improve, but when I see your review I feel that I really have to answer , first our water price is 2 euro not 5 please correct this, definitely we are not rood with are customers that will be a very bad business strategy for anyone, about the food we always ask if everything is ok and always happy to replace any mistakes, please explain me what really happen.
Thanks
Giorgos Galanopoulos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Good food and service at reasonable prices book for table really good decor and excellent local cuisine



  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quiet little oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We picked this restaurant essentially at random while visiting Oia one afternoon; it provides a welcome break from the crowds, being down a narrow alleyway. The place isn't signposted at all, and giving the relatively slow trickle of passing trade I've no idea how they stay afloat! Because we were very late for lunch service (16:30), we were the only ones in the restaurant. The waiter slightly awkwardly hung around at a respectful distance, but within sight of our table, which marred the experience somewhat, but at least the service was prompt!

Food was good overall, although they were very heavy with the dressing on my girlfriend's salad, meaning it was hard to eat the whole thing. I had a refreshing chilled cucumber soup, followed by delicious grilled pork chops and potatoes. The atmosphere of the restaurant was pleasant, and it was nice to sit in a shaded garden with plants all around, in pots and growing on the trellis, and comfortable seating. It would probably be a more enjoyable experience with more people there, closer to the main lunch or dinner service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quite place + good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My boyfriend and I were recommended this place to eat by one of the locals. We had a wonderful dinner, and enjoyed their calm atmosphere. The streets of Oia can be crazy, and this restaurant was a nice break in our day. We enjoyed the Crete Bruschetta, Meat Pies, Musaka, Cod and ended our dinner with baklava. We truly enjoyed the variety of favors, and would high recommend this to anyone who wants a tranquil evening in Oia. Fair prices!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karma also viewed

 

Been to Karma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.