We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food. Random location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ochre Restaurant

Ochre Restaurant
On the way to Ammoudi Bay, next to windmill, Oia 84702, Greece
+30 22860 71808
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 71 Restaurants in Oia
Price range: $15 - $60
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Our Chef Panagiotis Kerpelis is obsessive about the culinary details and fundamental techniques that are the foundation of an exciting culinary imagination and a kitchen that delivers the very best products of the earth to the table.No detail or element can be less important or more important than another.Because a great meal is not one that fills you up.A great meal is a kind of journey that returns you to sources of pleasure you may have forgotten and takes you to places you haven't been before.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome food. Random location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

There is no questioning the quality of their food and the friendliness of their staff. The location is a little random as it is all the way past the "end" of Oia, almost rounding the undeveloped backside of the town. Unfortunately, it was overcast the evening that we went so we did not the sunset bump that I think plays into the other reviews. The seafood moussaka is fantastic.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    114
    43
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bakewell
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Really disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Chose to eat here because we had seen the ratings on tripadvisor. I wish we hadn't. We only had five nights on the island and we wasted one special night on this disaster of a restaurant.
The starters were fine, but it was the mains that all went wrong. We waited for 45 minutes after finishing our starters before the main courses arrived.... when they did mine (the moussaka) was piping hot, but it was pretty bland and flavourless. My boyfriends meal was beef and it was barely warm.... it was nearly cold. My dish had clearly just come out of the oven whereas the beef must have been standing on the side somewhere for a really long time. We told the waiter of our dissatisfaction.... he apologised, whisked the dish away and returned a few minutes later with a dish of spaghetti with tomato sauce and cheese.... WHAT?! We said what is this.... He said he wanted to bring something back quickly so we didnt wait any longer. We said we didnt want the spaghetti and asked him to take it back. Then a few minutes after that a different waiter came bringing a hot beef dish... the beef dish was delicious and tender and full of flavour but our dining experience was farcical and a total joke. Not high enough standards by a long way and i'm so disappointed that one precious night of our holiday was a complete let down.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Friendly staff & fabulous views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

It's not the easiest restaurant to find and would be hard to stumble across but it well worth going to!

Ochre has lovely views especially at sunset and a nice romantic atmosphere. The food was very nice however the portions are a little on the small side and prices seem average for the area.

The staff are very friendly and the lovely waiter kindly deboned my seabass!

Would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Oia.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant. Great food, service and superb views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This restaurant deserves its reputation. The owners are clearly very keen to make this business a success. The food is fantastic - we had whole baked sea bass - wonderful. It was very windy so we sat inside the covered area. Tables are well spaced with plenty of room. The service was great - very welcoming. After the meal we were shown around the site and had an explanation of what had been created there - a nice touch. It is tough to find so go early!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great service and amazing view for the sunset.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We were really excited to try Ochre. It's definitely a tough place to find but worth seeking it out if you have a couple of nights in Oia. Last year we walked down the stairs to one of the restaurants recommended by our hotel to view the sunset...We had a much better experience at Ochre this year. It's a nice spot to watch the sunset and you don't have to deal with quite as many stairs to the bay! We tried the calamari and stuffed grape vine leaves both were good and for entrees we had mousaka and pasta dish with shrimp. The service was impeccable!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ochre Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ochre Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ochre Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.