We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pelekanos

Pelekanos
Main Pedestrian | Oia Center, Oia 84702, Greece
2286071553
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 70 Restaurants in Oia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $31
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were warned to get to Ohio early to get a good place to see the sunset, so we booked for 6.30 on arrival at 4.00pm. If i'm totally honest this isn't the best view, you can see the sunset on the horizon but it's not a totally clear view as there are other taverna's etc in your view. The atmosphere however was perfect, with chill out music playing as the sun went down, its quite an emotional moment. !!!!
The food was very good standard and the staff were attentive and very friendly. There were four of us and no one had any complaints. I would recommend this restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    119
    35
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We dropped in for lunch after touring Oia. We had the rooftop terrace to ourselves for most of the meal. An expensive lunch, but that is par for the course in Oia, particularly with this view. Calamari, Greek salad and Tzatziki - all excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great experience but lacking on the service side.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The food was good but service a bit slow and very patchy. At the end of the meal they were slow in clearing the plates and we're not offered a fresh set of cutlery for our main course. Asked for the bill and it was presented before plates were cleared. We're not asked if we wanted dessert or coffee.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Nice view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The view was nice but not as near to the sunset as we thought, the view of the sun setting would be better being closer
I would advise booking for a table with the nicest view as when we arrived these were all reserved.
Food was okay, expensive drinks meant a 1 course meal,cocktail, beer and bottle of average wine was nearly 90 euros.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended to this restaurant by our hotel and they were not wrong again.The lamb shank I had is still in my mind and the Caldera pasta that my husband had was terrific too,the view was absolutely awesome,there was no wind,we were soooo lucky!!!Young staff , so friendly and nice with us,they helped us to make fantastic pictures of the sunset and choose the correct local wine to pair our food!They just try to do your experience a good one.I definitely recommend this place in Oia :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pelekanos also viewed

Oia, Santorini
Oia, Santorini
 

Been to Pelekanos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelekanos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.