We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, slow service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petros Restaurant

Petros Restaurant
Kaldera, Oia 84702, Greece
22860 71263
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 70 Restaurants in Oia
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely food, slow service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Well the food is excellent undeniably, and they have two beautiful settings to choose from! You can be seated upstairs or downstairs both with gorgeous views of the sea..
The staff and friendly and good but the food takes a long time to get to your table... the primary reason being that this restaurant is always soo packed!
But a must visit for sure, make sure you try their lovely grilled fish. So fresh and yummmy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    56
    38
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Restaurant is known for its seafood. We stopped by here our first night after watching the sunset. We ate stuffed squid and moussaka, which were both very tasty, and to top it off they serve large portions of delish baklava.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Greek comfort food with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I ate here one night and it was so good I went back 2 nights later and ate the exact same thing! The moussaka was so amazing... the views are lovely and it's in the heart of Oia so there's a lively enough atmosphere. Service is attentive without being overly so - highly recommended.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Recommended by our hotel, Petros did not disappointed us. Two terraces, very good quality of greek cuisine (we had souvlaky, octopus, fried vegetables and desserts) at a raisonable price. At 9PM it was full, so maybe better to book or going early if you want a table by the sea. Nice staff and good service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Avoid at all cost”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

On the first day of our weeklong stay we were sent there by our hotel. The worst experience we had. Do not be fooled by people telling you that reservations in restaurants are necessary. This may be true for some of the front up tables to watch the sunset, but generally you can always get a table as long as you go prior to all people coming back into the main street from watching the sunset on the far end of Oia. At Petros both the service, food and overall arrangement were extremely bad. We did not finish our food, paid and left after a short while. The waiter was sourly,
the mussels inedibly tough, the wine (if it really was wine) was a disgrace to Greece. For a good meal with excellent service go to Ochre restaurant, run by two brothers who really care about their food, wine, service and their guests.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petros Restaurant also viewed

Poros, Saronic Gulf Islands
 
Oia, Santorini
 

Been to Petros Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petros Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.