We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marizan Caves & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Marizan Caves & Villas to your Saves list
Marizan Caves & Villas
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Oia Santorini | Garbinoi Miloi, Oia, Greece (Formerly Marizan Studios & Villas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

This place was great to get away from it all. It is really quite at night, so you can get the much needed rest. The location was amaizing. The hussle and bussle of IA is just a few minutes away, and the bus stop is about a ten minute walk. You can take the bus from IA to Fira then you can pretty much go anywhere in the island from Fira.
The host Yannis, he was very helpful. He drove us to the bus stop a couple of times and was very helpful in giving directions and on how to get around the island.

The beds are not that comfy, but that is expected in most places outside the U.S. I would also say that the breakfast is a little blah and could use some veriety. Other than that, it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
222
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

My Mum and I arrived at Marizan after leaving our home 37 hours earlier so were a little tired. Giannis could not have been more helpful to us. After showing us to our room and letting us freshen up a little, he drove us to Amoudi Beach to have lunch before a long overdue sleep. He then came back and picked us up and drove us to the market to pick up supplies before taking us back to the resort. We stayed in a Romantic Cave studio (yes, with my Mum) and were pleased we had selected this bigger style of studio for our stay. It appeared to be about twice as big as the regular studio apartment. All the necessities were there along with plenty of breakfast supplies in the fridge. The studio was air conditioned but was quite cool anyway being built into the cliff face. The temperature during our stay was about 35 degrees each day so a cool room was a must. The spa deck and pool were great to have on those hot days. The studio was well located with the best views of the sunset of anywhere else in Oia and the best part was we didn't have to leave our balcony. It was only a short walk to the centre of the village for shopping and eating although you do need to be able to walk up and down stairs if you want to stay here. Although the studio, location, pool etc were fantastic the best part of staying at Marizan was Giannis. He went out of his way to assist us with anything we needed - booking a boat trip, transfers and taking us for a drive around the island to see some private churches and the best view of the full moon. We would highly recommend Marizan to anyone wanting to stay in Oia.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

Marizan service was unbeatable. The owner was friendly and very professional - he was kind, knowledgeable and very sweet. He wouldn't take our tip to thank him for his service - he said that the service was already set into the price. However, it is upto us if we want to personally tip the cleaner and the baggage boy - which we did, because they were very sweet aswell. The rooms were massive, view from the balcony is spectacular - blue waters, beautiful blue and white buildings off the cliff, the sunset... Everyone makes their way to Oia in the afternoon to catch the sunset - we had the privilege of sitting at our balcony with a glass of wine and enjoy the view without having to push and shove for a clear view. Oia is definitely the place to be in Santorini - the pebbled streets full of off the cliff restaurants, jewellery stores, ladies fasions, its just beautiful. There are no clubs there but after sunset (after 8pm) its time to have dinner, then change location for dessert, another place for a glass of wine, then another place for coffee and more deserts and by the time you know it, its past 1am and time to sleep after an amazing time relaxing and enjoying the view with great company! Lying at the pool also gives you breath taking view of the waters - all blue and relaxing. Theres a bar right there serving amazing frappe coffees and cocktails. Very friendly aswell.
For photos of the area check out their website http://www.marizan-oia.com/home.htm

The price at Marizan is soooo cheap for the service received, the location offered and luxurious rooms. We loved it and I will definitly go back to Oia, back to Marizan. Thank you Yannis for an amazing holiday in paradise.

Regards,
Karen & Lydia

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

The views from the private balconies are remarkable. You have the volcanoes and the caldera right in front and a great view of the sunset. The swimming pool also has gorgeous views and the water is wonderful. At night, we looked at the stars while soaking in the warm jacuzzi, which we usually had to ourselves. Also, you look down on Amoudi Bay, which is a wonderful spot for a delicious seafood dinner and a truly unique experience.
The rooms were large and very clean. The breakfast was simple but yummy, especially the warm, fresh bread.
The best part is the welcome we got from Giannis and his daughter. On our first day he even drove us to a resto to pick up a souvlaki! They got a good deal on a car rental for us and took care of allll of our worries. We really could not thank them enough and cannot wait to go back for a much longer stay!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Visiting Santorini is an experience itself, but finding the right place to stay was a real challenge....
...we ended up in Marizan Oia (I actually decided after seeing a comment on TripAdvisor, which is why I am writing this) and this made our stay in this wonderful island the best holiday ever!
I was there for 8 days with my partner and, even if arriving quite late at night, we had a really special welcome and felt immediately at home! Ianis and Giorgia were there waiting for us and they actually kept being there all the time every time we needed something, were it big or small.
Marizan is the perfect mixture between the apartment and the hotel, you have total freedom to enjoy the place and at the same time you have the services you would find in a hotel. Just ask, and you will find in Ianis not only an owner but a friend whose only goal is to make you feel at home!
Moreover, we visited all the island and when we got 'home' at sunset we repeated every day that we had made the right choice because we didn't find another place like Marizan!!
We are now discussing the possibility to get married there....and I look forward to meeting Ianis and Giorgia again very soon!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

'Thank you!' is not enough, just not enough to show how grateful we are to the owner of Marizan Villas. He is beyond describable when comes to his hospitality & friendliness towards his guests! He certainly makes every guest feels like home at Marizan Villas!

Marizan Villas is EXTREMELY SUPERB! Again.. EXTREMELY SUPERB! We would suggest you don't need to search further! Marizan Villas is the place!!! The most beautiful sunset & beautiful seas! Our wonderful stay at Marizan will be forever engraved in our memory! We were mesmerized by the beauty beyond beauty of Marizan Villas! The peacefulness of the place is unbelievable but believable!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We are a young Australian couple that stayed here in May 2009. I cannot say enough good things about this place. The owners went above and beyond for us and the accommodation is superior, I celebrated my birthday whilst staying here and the owners bought me beautiful flowers and cake! They were so hospitable. We were shown around the property which has an intimate and relaxing atmosphere. All of the studios were fantastic and a lot of hard work has been done on them. This is nothing short of a five star resort and you don't pay the high prices because he is a new small business. I beg you to try this place and support their amazing studios! Thankyou Giannis and Maria! Sam and Paul

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marizan Caves & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marizan Caves & Villas

Address: Oia Santorini | Garbinoi Miloi, Oia, Greece (Formerly Marizan Studios & Villas)
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marizan Caves & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Marizan Caves & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marizan Caves & Villas Hotel Oia
Marizan Caves And Villas
Marizan Caves & Villas Santorini/Oia, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marizan Caves & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.