We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atlantida Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Atlantida Villas to your Saves list
Hotel Atlantida Villas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oia 84702, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 47 Hotels in Oia
Warwick. UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“fab view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

Just returned from a week at volcano villas. The view is fab and all the rooms have spacious balconies so that you can make the most of it. The walk into Oia is 0.6 miles but there is a path for most of the way. Oia is heaving for most of the time which spoils it in many ways. First thing in the morning the cruise ship passengers are bused in followed by all the other island buses later in the morning. I have never been to a place where you have to queue up to get a view of the sunset!. However if you pick your time right then Oia is wonderful, quite unlike any other plave in Greece.
Hotel was OK but pool is a bit dated nd they need more sunbeds. The Hotel has a bar and serves food but reluctantly . Hotel had a good library of books which was useful. The caldera walk to Fira is worth doing- the path is right outside the hotel. It is 5 miles and takes a few hours.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — price for a 3 star hotel was expensive
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    76
    26
    17
    10
See reviews for
45
90
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington. dc
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2007

The rooms were nice, esp comparing it to the rest of our hotel stays throghout the Greek Islands. The view was incredible. we could see the complete sunset form outside the front of the hotel. It was about a 10 min walk into the center of town. I do rec renting a car so that oyu can get into Fira town easily. If you do, you have to go to the restaurant Mama's house! it is just outside Fira town, and it was the best and cheapest meal we have had throughout our whole Greek stay! The hotel owner, was not that accomodating. he needs some lessons in customer service, but overall this hotel was just fine. We stayed one night at Armeni Villas in Oia center. we actually liked the volcano villas better. #1- you can park and walk right up to your room without the horrendous stairs (with luggage) like they have in most hotels in oia center. #2- the pool was much nicer, as well as the breakfast!
also a word of caution.....we did the boat cruise from Armeni Bay, it was great and I def recommoned doing it....., but I wish that we knew to bring water and a little snack. bc it is a long hike up the volcano. AND do not wear a white suit. wear an old suit that you don't care about. my cute white bikini is now ruined bc we swam in the hot springs and the water is brown and it stained the whole thing. if won't come out. anyways, thought I would warn you.
I don't think you will go wrong with this hotel choice. but best advice.....don't stay in Fira town. it is crazier that Mykonos in my opinion and you will not get ANY sleep. we were so glad that we chose to stay outside of Fira and drive in when we wanted some nightlife!

  • Liked — location and view
  • Disliked — disinterested owner. not what we found throughout the rest of Greece
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2007

The view and the proximity of this hotel to the town of Oia is what makes it as good as it is. This hotel should not be confused with the Volcano View Villas in Fira, which is a luxury hotel. The accommodations would probably have been fine for just two people. We were traveling with our two young adult children and the sleeping loft was less than pleasant for them. The space is a raised loft so the heat rises and they felt cramped. Our son could not stand while up there. The air conditioning unit is in the main bedroom and not very strong so the cool air never reached the loft. The decor is basic, pillows hard and beds are adequate. The patio and view from the room was spectacular. The service was less than friendly by the owners, although the breakfast servers were fine. This stood in sharp contrast to our stay in Aglios Nickolas Crete at the Akrotiri where service was exceptional. The pool overlooking the water is beautiful but the water seemed cloudy and they would close it down in the evening. It was also crowded so sometimes there was no space to sit. I would probably not return to this hotel but would stay in close proximity so as to reach Oia, the most beautiful place in Santorini. Fira is very touristy which appealed to our children but not to my husband and myself. The kids could take a bus into Fira if desired. The restaurant across the street was as wonderful as everyone has mentioned. Everyone was hospitable and the music was fun.

  • Liked — The view and location
  • Disliked — The loft sleeping arrangements and poor hospitality by the owners
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2007

Arrived at Volcanos Villas with our confirmation in hand only to be told they made a mistake and we couldn't have our rooms until the next day. ( (It took them a while to admit that they had made a mistake.) They did call around for and found us rooms across the street at Villa Agnandi for the night. (Our expense)
We returned to Volcanos Villas the next day. The views are spectacular, the villas are quiet and the verandas are wonderful. Rooms need updating, especially plumbing and although it was a treat to have a pool it also needs updating. (Not enough chairs to accomodate guests and cushions need a good washing.)
Oia is amazing and our six day stay was great. If we returned we would not stay here again. For half of the price the Villa Agnandi was nicer. The rooms were charming, the pool was nicer. The view is not as nice but the owner is very accomodating and much friendlier. If the owner of Volcanos Villas was more cordial it would have made the stay more enjoyable.

  • Liked — the views
  • Disliked — crabby owners
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

Our stay in Oia at Volcanos Villas was part of a two week trip in Greece, and, definitely the highlight! The hotel location could not have been better...right on the cliff looking over the caldera - a more spectacular view would be hard to find. It was so peaceful and calm. Our villa was very spacious and clean, with what seemed to be a newly renovated bathroom. There was a kitchen area as well complete with sink, fridge, and kitchen table. It had two large french style doors opening onto two patios with lounge chairs. Straight across you can see the caldera and the sea. Another great spot at the hotel was the pool where you could hang out, catch some sun, and just gaze at the sea view. There was one day where there were no lounge chairs left, but you can just bring your chairs from off your patio if need be.
The owners were helpful enough, definitely not outgoing, but they get the job done. The two younger men (sons maybe?) seem to be the ones to talk to with anything you need or want to know.
We loved the hotel and location so much that we didn't even make it to Fira. We walked into the town of Oia several times which is quite an easy walk, takes maybe 10 minutes to get to the center of the town. Oia is a spectacular little town with unbelievable views and amazing building design...a photographers dream! The shopping was great also, even though somewhat expensive. But, there is authentic art, and some very talented craftspeople with shops there. You can watch the famous sunset from many places in town...but try to get a spot early! So many wonderful restaurants there too!
Across from the hotel there is the best restaurant in all of Greece(in our opinion!) called Santorini Mou's. A MUST while in Santorini. The owner, Michalis, is so welcoming, he takes your picture and gets you to write in his scrapbook, and he and his friends play live music every night. We ate there twice because the atmosphere was so fun and we loved Michealis! We thought the food was pretty good, too!
Make sure that you go down to the port in Oia and get boat tickets to visit the volcano. It cost 25 euros for the trip to see the volcano, swim in the hot springs, and visit another small island; and was a great way to spend the day and see more of the island. Note that the hike to the top of the volcano is very hot and I think it was about a kilometre long or so... You can ask the guys at the front desk for the times that the excursion leaves in the morning (I can't remember), but lots of people thought you had to go to Fira to catch the boat, which is not the case.
So, all in all, I thought this hotel was absolutely wonderful, and the view and location spectacular! It is definitely worth a stay...

  • Liked — The view, location from Oia, restaurant across the street, spacious villa
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island WA
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2007

The View is fantastic, It's also one of the few places that you can park and walk to your room in just a few short steps. Our room on the second level had a small deck just outside that had the most breathtaking view of any hotel in which I've stayed.

The rooms were an odd combo of knotty pine and stucco with a lofted bed and small kitchenette. They were reasonably clean, but for the most part, all you really wanted to do was sit on the balcony.

The breakfast was good; everyone gets the obligatory bucket of yogurt (how do these people eat that much yogurt??) and some dried bread, suitable coffee and and a glass of Tang (yes, just like the astronauts used to drink)

It seems like this might be a father and son operation. Both guys are not the most outgoing types, but they get things done.

One of the best parts is that directly across the road is a taverna called Sanorini Mou. The owner Mihalis is a friend to all who come into his taverna and he also provides great music. It's really a fun place to hang our and visit with other travelers.

  • Liked — The View and the Taverna across the road
  • Disliked — The price seemed steep
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2007

This is a good B and B type of hotel - easy access for those with limited mobility small pool right by the rooms breakfast on the patio, great view, nice people - it is not right in the town but a 10 minute walk gets you to the center of the acton. very simple rooms quaint cottage not cave style we liked it a lot.

  • Liked — simplicity
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Atlantida Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantida Villas

Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 47 Hotels in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atlantida Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santorini hotel, atlantida Villas traditional hotel is located in amazing region of Oia santorini. Atlantida Villas hotel of the Santorini hotels belong to the 4 star category of the Santorini hotels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Atlantida Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlantida Villas Santorini/Oia, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atlantida Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.