We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dormy House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dormy House to your Saves list
Hotel Dormy House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route du Havre | BP2, 76790 Etretat, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Etretat
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“good views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here as a treat at the end of our holiday. We took a room views of the sea, cliffs and town. The decoration of the room is a touch traditional but it and the bed and bathroom were all spacious and comfortable.

The views were amazing and what makes the hotel worth the price. We had the best seats in the town for the Bastille day fireworks from the balcony.

Service in the bar garden was good, although the drinks are pricey - I guess you're paying for those views!

Again breakfast was pricey but a good buffet selection and nice to eat it on the terrace.

Access to the town is a few minutes down the coast path, which the hotel has its own entrance onto.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    213
    43
    18
    8
See reviews for
58
320
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was staying there during first week of May 2013 and it was very memorable experience! Hotel rates aren't cheap, but that is one of the best properties around. You are basically paying for staying at the best location. So if its romantic escape that is the place to be!
Nice atmosphere, nice restaurant, high level of service. Hotel is not new but was very well maintained. Bed was comfortable and bed linen was excellent. There is only one wish, it would be nice if they had a pool.
And sea view is amazing.
Will definitely get back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Last stayed at Dormy house about 25 years ago. It's still an AMAZING location for a hotel, overlooking the English Channel and the chalk cliffs painted by Monet. Our room and bath were very large, with a sea & village views. It's worth a few extra Euros to get the view. The bed was very comfortable and the in-room wi-fi worked well. We also had a delicious dinner in the restaurant (with especially tasty fish soup). If in the area, stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZRH,Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Great Location but make sure you have a room with seaview. Our balcony however was almost unusable due constant water dripping from upstairs ( not rain...) Hotel rates high, but rooms by no means deluxe. Pay per view ! Breakfast overpriced. Good parking but Long way to Hotel with heavy luggage. Nice short walk down to village. Les falaises are just spectacular.

Room Tip: must have room with view - even if it costs quite a bit more - but that's what you came here for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Excellent long week-end at this hotel! Ideal location, just a few minutes walk from the beach and the village. The staff is helpful and the restaurant serves good food. The view from our room was magical and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: "Directoire" rooms are nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Dormy House simply has the best location in Etretat, it's as simple as that. It is located on an elevated position allowing sweeping views over the ocean and the village below. Still, it is an easy 3-minute walk down into the village.

The hotel itself is pretty modest, nothing fancy, just ok. Breakfast is good and plentiful albeit somewhat overpriced (33e for two). The bed was good although we didn't really like the linens (old blankets) but we had a nice seating area and slept like a baby.

Do eat at the hotel restaurant, it is quite good and the views are magnificent.

Room Tip: The sea-facing rooms are more expensive but take them if you want to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We only had the opportunity to stay one night at this lovely hotel before moving on and up
towards Le Touquet, and I would love to go back there. The staff at this hotel were all, without exception, top class; The room, with a lovely sea view, was not huge but not small either, and beautifully furnished. We stayed for dinner in the hotel, which was hereagain, beautifully done - the only thing we did not have was breakfast as we wanted to spend a bit of time in the village before leaving.
I would not have been surprised at all, if Poirot had walked in with his cane, for dinner, and I
don`t think anybody would even have blinked. !! Lovely stay - and such a convenient pathway down to the sea shore.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dormy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dormy House

Address: Route du Havre | BP2, 76790 Etretat, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Etretat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Etretat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dormy House 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dormy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dormy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dormy House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.