We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dormy House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dormy House to your Saves list
Hotel Dormy House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route du Havre | BP2, 76790 Etretat, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Etretat
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The location is great, very close to the beach,and the view from the terrace is beautiful.
The staff is very friendly. The bedroom was big and clean. Free parking.
I would recommand this hotel for the view and the location. But I would not recommand to have breakfats there, it is quite expensive for industrial bread and cheese and yogurts from the supermarket, we expected at least a home made cakes and fresh juices.... The only nice thing for the breakfast is the view from the terrace.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    213
    43
    18
    8
See reviews for
58
320
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Without doubt, the most spectacular view in Etratat. Service levels and friendliness of staff, commendable. Facilities, rooms, cleanliness, no complaints. However, the elegant restaurant with a view on the coastline to die for, did not live up to my expectations. For the capital outlay, the food was slightly under par. We had a seafood plate where the crustaceans were, to say the least, a bit on the watery and tasteless side. Our main courses again comprised of fish and could have been enhanced by freshness and a little creativity on the presentation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Pros:
Excellent location with view overlooking Etretat and its cliffs
Easy access to the town
Free parking
Cons:
The facility has seen better days,bedroom is small,bathroom exiguous,toilet an afterthought.
The restaurant has the view but little else to recommend.Staff is on edge and impersonal,food is bland and overpriced.For instance the seafood platter included shrimps that were soggy and disintegrating.
The low point is the wifi that is supposed to work in the rooms but actually does not,an infuriating experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This hotel has a great location with beautiful views over Etretat and the ocean. All rooms have ocean views and are relatively large, although with pretty basic decor. The restaurant also provides great views but the food and service are poor. I would stay at this hotel again but dine somewhere in the town instead.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Monet's famous Impressionist paintings brought us to Etretat, and this was obviously the hotel to stay at. Sited above the town, it is perfectly situated with wonderful views. In fact the hotel consists of three separate buildings which look as if they were constructed at different times. We were in one of the newer ones, whilst the main dining room was in the original building. A separate dining room, in our building, was used for breakfast. We were slightly disappointed not to have our own balcony but nevertheless from our bedroom window we had the same view as the rooms with balconies. The room itself was very clean and comfortable although not enormous. Round the back there was a big lawn with deck-chairs.

We only stayed one night and can recommend dinner in the hotel. The standard was high, with several different menu options. Service was very efficient although neither myself or my wife could understand a single word from our waitress, and unlike others on our week's tour of Normandy, she made no effort to break into English to help us out. As for breakfast, that was fine, with plenty to choose from the buffet. If it had been warmer we could have eaten it on the terrace in front.

However, the highlight of the stay was the walk on the cliffs. I recommend that in the afternoon you ascend the west cliff and go as far as the second headland. You will see the two arches that Monet painted, and also the afternoon sun on the town, the beach and the east cliff. The following morning we ascended the east cliff and saw the morning sun on the west cliff. I hasten to add that we were very lucky with the sunshine!

Room Tip: Demand a room with a view, otherwise there is not much point in staying here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We paid extra to get a room with an ocean view in the main building and it was well worth it. The room was enormous, with beautiful furnishings, a gigantic bathroom, and a balcony looking out to sea, Breakfast was outstanding: lots of choices in a comfortable setting with, yes, another nice view. If you stay, I also recommend dining at the hotel. It's expensive, but the food is great and the sunset view is unbelievable. There's also a lovely terrace with bar, live music, and, yes, the same great view. Just one complaint: we were traveling without a computer and so could not use the wifi in the room. We were pointed to a public computer with a painfully slow and erratic dial-up connection on a landing, for which we were charged 2 euros for 15 minutes. Horrible!

Room Tip: It's worth paying more for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

we were really upset that we did not stay here but we were still lucky since we had a very rich breakfast. Everybody speaks English and they smile:-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dormy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dormy House

Address: Route du Havre | BP2, 76790 Etretat, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Etretat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Etretat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dormy House 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dormy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dormy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dormy House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.