We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great, quirky find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Detective Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Detective Hotel to your Saves list
Detective Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Avenue George V, 76790 Etretat, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Etretat
GreenLeadersGold level
miltonkeynes
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“What a great, quirky find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

You will either love or hate this hotel, we prefer to love it. Charming friendly owners. Excellent French breakfast. Yes the rooms are small and not all the bits work, but 3 nights for £220 including breakfast is fine, especially in France. Etretat is a town on the Normandy coast and a joy to visit. At weekends it is rammed but during the week peaceful and french. Also impossible to buy chicken in any restaurant.

Back to the hotel, no lift so beware if three serious flights of stairs are a problem, or ask for a room on a lower floor.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    116
    35
    18
    5
See reviews for
33
146
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

Etretat is a small village, but this hotel is right on the main driveway and 20 mts from a public parking.
The rooms are interestingly themed around detective tv programs. We stayed at the Magnum PI.
We had booked for a 2 twin-bed room, but found a double bed. The owner immediately offered to change it to a 2 twin bed, much to our relief.
Internet is free. Their wifi was not working well so signal was not working in our 3rd floor room, only in the front desk area. A PC is available also in this area.
No elevators.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

Every room has a different detective theme. The Hercule Poirot was nice without being 'overthemed'. Lots of detective stuff around the hotel which made it quite fun. The bar looked nice but unfortunately closed before we returned from supper - typical small town France. Good breakfast. Overall good value.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

The detective is a very nice hotel. Well situated in the center of Etretat. Rooms are small but nice.
I definitely recommend this hotel. The only point is the poor breakfast. For 8€ you could find much better deal in Etretat.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chiltington, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

Location very good to get around the town and parking nearby in the town hall carpark.
Pictures on web were quite deceiving as we thought the rooms would be better decorated.No space to put clothes just a few hangers.Hotel a bit tired needs updating really but for 2 star ok.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

We stayed one night, and the experience was up and down.

From TripAdvisor recommendations, I googled the property and they have their own website, in French and an English version. I emailed them for a room for two on such and such a date, and quickly a reply, "book through the website." Why only rely on that? Email and phone could be fine enough?

So I went online, and only with the French version is a button "Booking" (or "Reservations" or something.) Which took me to booking.com, so I went ahead and did that, thinking that was their reservations engine. After giving credit card for guaranteeing room, I then searched again the property for its location, and found the room 5euro cheaper on other bucket engines like venire, travelocity.co. uk, etc. Sigh.

We were late getting to the property, and arrived around 9 PM. There was a note on the door with a mobile number (no answer via the doorbell.) Good thing my partner is from UK and had a roaming mobile phone - Americans are often phone-less in Europe!!! Someone came immediately, we entered the dark lobby area, was given a key to the Emma Peel, and she left. We found our way up the stairs by ourselves, and entered the room.

Great room but....bed was concave. ! LIke some 1000 pound person slept in the middle. Room was large! Great 60s decor and had TV too. We were too tired to try to get down in the dark again and find the mobile number for a different room...around 11 PM went to take a shower - the shower was broken. Just the holder for the hose, so no shower - only a hose (use one had to hose, one to soap, you get the idea.)

After hosing ourselves down, went to bed and tried to sleep. Room above us had spring beds? Creaking so loud! I prayed to God, please don't let them have sex. The creaking of the bed above our heads ended by 1 AM, and it was quiet. But two people on an American double-sized bed that was concave.... we didn't sleep.

The hotel is on a main street, but in October, dead quiet. The windows aren't sound proofed, but since the whole town was quiet, that was not a problem.

The proprietress was fabulous - I paid the credit card and said that she probably wants to know but...the shower and bed are problems. She correctly asked why did we not ask for a different room; yeah, in a hotel with reception we would have...but it was late, all was shut up. She was very apologetic and offered us breakfast before we went, which I have to say was fabulous - fresh pastries, juices. I DO recommend the breakfast.

In the daylight, we got to see the downstairs and its lovely - I'm sure a great place to hang out in Summer with the cafe/bar, reading areas, games - lovely!

They do have wifi, but since I got there so late and forgot to ask, had no way to access it.

I would still recommend this hotel to a friend - but next time I'll check the room first. Parking was right on the street, and overnight parking is free in town; otherwise its for pay in many parts, but around the Rue Charles V where this is, there is lots of street parking. I'm sure parking is a premium in July/August.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

We stayed overnight at this hotel and found it very convenient for exploring the town and its unique cliff side areas. We stayed in the Sherlock Holmes room and it was very charming....my only negative would be if you are staying for a longer period of time.....there is absolutely no storage in the room or closet to keep anything in.....the owners obviously take great pride in their establishment and it is reflected in the cleanliness and charm of the hotel. Parking is available very reasonably in a garage next door.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Detective Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detective Hotel

Address: 6 Avenue George V, 76790 Etretat, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Etretat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Etretat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Detective Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mystery of the hotel The chairs were comfortable well be the most welcoming host, a vague apprehension pincer visitors who took the risk to book a room at Hotel Detective . Dim light , dark corridors and creaking floors . Wall , a steel plate shredded shot rocket launcher sets the tone in a setting worthy of a film noir. The country of Arsene Lupin , the ghosts lurking . Miss Marple and Sherlock Holmes Charlie 's Angels Ladies, all the great names of literature the crime series have left here trace of their passage and even hidden in some room some bumps and smaller surveys that must be resolved before you can rest soundly . So open the eye and play finesse ! And needless to slip away , the handcuffs are never far away and the boss is an old fingerprint expert of the Institute of Criminal Research of the National Gendarmerie . Credit text Seine-Maritime Mag # 86 . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Detective Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Detective Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.