We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Galiniere

La Galiniere
37 Rue Gambetta, 34310 Capestang, France
0467261477
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Capestang
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A very special meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We are here on canal holiday and had heard good things about this restaurant and they were allcorrect. The food was fabulous as was the service. Greeted by the owner Sebastian and his lovely wife Sandrine, they took our orders. Most of us got the $24 euro meal with 4 large courses and they were all superb. Several in our group had The Camembert in filo pastry which was great, followed by great fish courses, or deluxe hamburger, stuffed pork or goose. The cheese course was delightful and the desserts pushed it over the top.a must do when in Capestang.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    30
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“If you want a good typically French meal, eat here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in Capestang on a 10 day trip along the Canal du Midi. Our cruising guide recommended La Galiniere so we opted for that and we weren't disappointed. There weren't many people eating dinner on Easter Sunday but we were a party of 8 and all of us thoroughly enjoyed it. Most of us went for 24 euro menu which was excellent value. The camembert in filo pastry was the most popular starter followed by fish or pork, a good selection of cheese and beautifully presented puds. On the a la carte menu, the goose was beautifully cooked and the hamburger satisfied one of our American party.

If you're in Capestang, make the effort to eat here - you will be well pleased.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Business as usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We visited la Galiniere for a business lunch last week.
We chose from the set 14 euro menu and were, again, not disappointed. One of our guests was a vegetarian, but he announced his meal was excellent and the house wine, included in the price superb.
Lunch or dinner, we have always enjoyed great food and service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Try the €24.00 Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I have visited La Galinière several times over the past 5 years. Each time has been a pleasure.
Most of the reviews here I agree with totally - you will not be disappointed.
This 4 course menu is great value for such well presented, well cooked innovative dishes.
I started with a Camembert in filo pastry with a lovely fresh salad, to be followed by their very special hamburger (I know, I know) cooked and presented in a rather unique style. Finishing with a cheese platter and a selection of desserts. The house wine is very good.
The owner speaks English. Enjoy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A good find....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The restaurant is a little way past the main square but well worth the extra walk. Nice outdoor area at the front which is popular so advise booking a table during the tourist months. Food is fresh and well cooked with good, friendly service. Probably the best restaurant in town. Not open every day so check.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Galiniere also viewed

 
Capestang, Herault
Capestang, Herault
 

Been to La Galiniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Galiniere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.