We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing dinner in fine setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge de l'Amandin

Auberge de l'Amandin
1076 Chemin de la Croix de Marbre, 30300 Beaucaire, France
04 66 59 55 07
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 32 Restaurants in Beaucaire
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing dinner in fine setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Great authentic Provençal food in two options of set menus. The desserts were mind boggling. Great wine. Good host.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    15
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Well worth the short taxi ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We ate here on a previous trip to Beaucaire last year and had a really good meal so my wife booked this for my birthday this year and if anything it has got even better. We ate in the garden by the pool, which is a lovely setting as it feels like you are guests in someone's house. The service was friendly, relaxed and efficient and the food was superb. It is now firmly on our list of favourite restaurants in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, British Columbia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Exquisite gastronomy, ambience and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were staying at le Domaine des Clos and the proprietor booked us into l'Amandin for the first night's meal. I'd been overeating (!) at lunch so regretfully passed on the magnificent menu gourmand. I took my favourite dish, however: tournedos de magret et son foie gras. It was my first time with duck breast in tournedos style. It did not disappoint! A brilliant meal! I, like my daughter-in-law, am a foie gras devotee. My husband enjoyed his punta de lomo. A number of the dishes at the Auberge are Spanish but it is true to its southern French roots. We ate outside, next to the pool, whose beautiful blue reflection contrasted with the brilliant pink of the surrounding hydrangeas. This restaurant is what I think of when I remember typical eating in France: top-notch service, attention to top-quality products and using wine from the region...the delicious Costieres de Nimes. It didn't hurt that they had two sweet cats called Rex and Delhi (missing our four cats after 16 days away!).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beziers, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sadly a restaurant which is on the way down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We ate here in the evening and were the first table to arrive. The restaurant wasn't busy, during the evening there were 4 tables of 2 so 8 customers in total. We were hopeful of a really great experience which didn't arrive. We were on the terrace and the ambiance very very pleasant. My wife is French, I speak French and we live in France. The main problem was the service - the waiter who I'm pretty sure was the owner asked if we wanted a carafe of water 3 times. We said yes each time but it only arrived when we asked for a 4th time. The starters were the best part of the meal. The presentation was o.k. but while the taste was o.k. it was nothing special. I had rib of Bull for a main course, my wife had fish. The rib was very tough , lacked flavour and was generally uninspiring. The fish was better but again lacked the wow factor. By now the mosquitos had arrived in force so the waiter arrived with a candle treated to get rid of them. He couldn't get it to light so just moaned, and left us to get bitten! My cheese (very unexciting choice and small portion, served far too cold) was plonked in front of me with no explaination of what they were. The choice of dessert was sad, strawberries must have been on offer as 95% of the desserts were made with them. No chocolate dessert on the menu. Francky a very bad experience. If it is like this with 4 tables of 2, I hate to think what it is like when they are busy . Don't go!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georges C, Propriétaire at Auberge de l'Amandin, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour
je suis une" cuisinière de cœur" j'aime régaler et que les gens se sentent bien chez moi
Par contre je n'ai pas la prétention de rivaliser avec un chef et vous êtes peut être trompé d'adresse
je suis désolée que ma cuisine ne vous ai pas plu
Vous savez je suis en cuisine a partir de 7 heures et quitte rarement les fourneaux avant 23h
Mes fournisseurs travaillent également très dures pour satisfaire notre clientèle
Alors j’espère qu'HORRIBLE étaient destines aux moustiques car ce soir la ils y avaient particulièrement vous avez raison
sur mon tableau de desserts (12) il y a beaucoup de fruits déclinés car je travaille des produits de saison mais il y a un moelleux au chocolat qui est un incontournable de la carte et il y était ce soir là vous ne l'avez pas vu ?
Je sais que l'on ne peux plaire a tout le monde mais derrière ce repas Horrible il y a le travail d'hommes et de femmes' qui ne mérite pas cela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Well worth finding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This place is a bit outside of the town of Beaucaire, but well worth the finding. Keep an eye out for the signs & you'll turn off the highway onto a little road that leads to a charming setting. We ate out in the garden & it was lovely. We had the "menu" and were both pleased with our choices. The local ingredients, thoughtfully prepared & simply but elegantly presented, made for a wonderful meal. If they are offering the nougat for dessert, snap it up!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge de l'Amandin also viewed

 

Been to Auberge de l'Amandin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge de l'Amandin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.