We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful abbaye that we have enjoyed for many a year....if want a modern hotel do not book,if you want uniqueness stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbaye des Vaux de Cernay Hotel

Save Saved
You added Abbaye des Vaux de Cernay Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abbaye des Vaux de Cernay Hotel
Dampierre en Yvelines | Domaine de l'Abbaye des Vaux de Cernay, 78720 Cernay-la-Ville, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Cernay-la-Ville
london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful abbaye that we have enjoyed for many a year....if want a modern hotel do not book,if you want uniqueness stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed here 7/8 times and it never fails too charm and set our holiday start up or finish it in style....This without doubt is one of the best,magical places to stay,just southwest of Paris.The old hotel is set within a living museum of a kind (and offers a wonderful experience whether in winter sitting by the massive fire in the lounge or in summer sitting in the terrace with an apertif.The restaurant caters for most budgets but the food is outstanding,selection of wine vast and the cheese trolley is the most extensive i have ever seen anywhere. The Cistercian monks lived and worked this land and wandering around the crypt you can see the hand carved afms on the settles depicting their role in the daily running of this Abbaye.Now in the hands of the Rothschilds they hace resisted the idea of building a golf course and set about keeping the grounds and buildings in the best condition possible and should be commended.A leisurely walk around the lake is also a treat as you can literally feel the living past all around you,anyone that knocks this place i would severely take too task as it represents so much of the past with a modern mix that doesnt do detrement to the living museum....book in advance for best rates other hotels within this small Chateaux group are also worth trying....enjoy your stay

Room Tip: The last room we stayed in was the Rothschild at the top of the stairs.We always find the staff very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    46
    29
    24
    14
See reviews for
23
94
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eaton Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We always try to stay at one stunning or unique place on each trip and this one filled the bill! The grounds are amazing. Wandering around at dusk in the ruins of the church is other-worldly. I did not see the cheaper rooms but we reserved a Chateau room and it was wonderful, well-appointed with a comfortable bed and antique looking furniture. No TV but a radio is provided. This is not the type of place where you are going to sit around in your room and watch TV anyway. Also provided are snuggly robes and slippers. We had windows on 3 sides with a view of the church and the garden. The bathtub was a particular favorite of mine, a corner style tub with a mural of swans. Unlike others, I had no trouble accessing the wifi with both my laptop and my Ipad. The staff was helpful and accomodating. We were celebrating our anniversary and when we ordered ice for our champagne, it showed up in less than 10 minutes. The hotel is located in a beautiful forested area not far from Versailles. It was a little weird on our way to the hotel to come across a group of soldiers (or gendarmes, maybe) on maneuvers, complete with machine guns and armored vehicles. I guess it just added to the overall ambience of the area. This hotel was worth every penny we spent during our splurge!

Room Tip: The more upscale rooms (Chateau and up) are expensive but are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stunning and impressive place, great place to relax and enjoy a visit of the ground. 12th century Abbaye, large park, lake..
The hotel is just OK, we had the cheapest room, 125€, size was correct, bed comfortable and no TV, surprising isn't it..WIFI not working
Restaurant was great but the service was not ..maybe because it was August and they have a lot of temp?
Overall great place to stay not for the comfort but for the location and the quality of food.
Definitively a place to revisit but not while on business..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This was our second stay at the Abbaye and it was as wonderful the second time as it was the first time. We were fortunate enough to have been upgraded to a Chateau room which was very large and had a wonderful view over the grounds. I would recommend splurging on one of the higher end rooms because they are worth experiencing. Our dinner in the dining room was exquisite - admittedly expensive - but worth every penny! This hotel is not to be missed if in the Versailles area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This place is just so impressive, you have to have seen it once. It's quite a drive through nomansland to get there but it's definitely worth it! It's a wow feeling from beginning to the end. We took the Rothschild room which was spacious and had a wonderful view on the ruins and the lake. Don't expect anything modern, there is no TV and no minibar. The room has a large corner bath and a good bed (we slept like babies), it has really been kept retro style so it fits the atmosphere of the abbey. The people at the reception are very friendly and so was the service at the restaurant, very professional. Only the bar was a disaster, actually all the bartenders and waiters/waitresses are students from a hotel school, at the bar we asked for our drinks twice and after the second time we waited half an hour. We were pretty sure they forgot it again, we heard the waiters arguing to each other, things were obviously not going right, the tables were left dirty from other customers, apparently they didn't have time to clean up although it wasn't crowded at all. Strange. The restaurant menu was very appealing, the prices were reasonable (of course there were 45€ starters too, depending on what you want) unfortunately we had only one evening. At the restaurant there was supervision from a maître so things were going much smoother, although you could see how nervous and inexperienced the students were. They were trying hard and it was kind of cute to see. We were a bit suspicious about the freshness of the langoustines but otherwise I loved the taste of the food. Breakfast outside with a full view on the ruins was so amazing, the choice is more limited (for example no fried eggs) than at a regular 5 star hotel but with that kind of view anything tastes like heaven! A minus: although it's been stated you have free wi-fi, we didn't manage to connect to it (well, my man managed to connect to it briefly at the reception). You hardly have any reception whatsoever, no internet and no phone. Not so convenient when you are doing business I guess...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Pros:

- Absolutely stunning abbaye. My husband and I had the the 175 Euro Priure room and my mother had the 225 Euro Chateau room. Both rooms were very large and had lovely bathrooms (bathubs with telephone shower...not an american type shower). The rooms had large closets/bureau as well as a sitting area and table. I like how the toilet was seperated from the tub/sink area.

- beautiful grounds we were free to roam around and lovely outdoor and indoor sitting areas...i wish we had more time to enjoy this.

- clean rooms and comfy bed and pillows.

- nice bathroom amenities and terry cloth robes.

- staff was polite but did not go out of their way to provide information but we pretty much had free reign over the place wandered all around the place.

- buffet style breakfast for 18 euros was adequate and had lots of options.

Cons:

- very weak internet (pretty much non-existant)
- no tv (only a radio)
- no ac (high floors can get warm)
- very few outlets (we had to unplug some of the lamps)
- i wouldn't really call this a real "hotel" in the sense that you had to make reservatons in adavnce for dinner and lunch and if you did not you were out of luck as there are no other food options (no room service). Options in town for food range from 3-15km away and remember they close early on saturday and sunday.
- best excuse ever when we needed an ironning board and were told we would have to wait some time as "everyone was having lunch"...lol....also there was no ironing board.
- housekeeping entered our room even though we had a do not disturb sign outside..very bizarre.

I would stay here again dispite the cons (I write this more for informational purposes for future travellers as I wish someone had told us). The place is absolutely gorgeous and staying at a 500-1000 year old builiding had it's pros and cons so just be prepared. bring bug spray ( i wish i had) in order to enjoy the lovely grounds at night. i recommend bring some snacks and beverages to keep in your room and enjoy outside. They have tennis courts, swimming pool and some sort of hammam, jacuzzi which we did not try.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

From the moment we saw the ancient buildings as we rounded the bend in the road, we were wide eyed with wonder at the beauty of the place. This is somewhere for those who love history, for those who love "splendid isolation" - with all the bells and whistles - and this is the place for lovers! Well-heeled lovers though!
There is so much to see and delight in, from the ancient ruins lovingly restored to the great cuisine in the beautifully vaulted dining room; and then to retire to the library/lounge to ruminate on all you have seen and experienced. Because Abbaye des Vaux de Cernay is an experience, and one that I dearly hope you one day have.

Room Tip: In winter the fires downstairs are lit and smoke does "seep" upstairs into the rooms, so a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abbaye des Vaux de Cernay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbaye des Vaux de Cernay Hotel

Address: Dampierre en Yvelines | Domaine de l'Abbaye des Vaux de Cernay, 78720 Cernay-la-Ville, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Cernay-la-Ville
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Cernay-la-Ville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Abbaye des Vaux de Cernay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbaye des Vaux de Cernay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.