We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and setting but beware - no restaurant and few guests” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Domaine de Rochebois

Save Saved
You added Hotel Domaine de Rochebois to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Domaine de Rochebois
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route De Montfort, 24200 Vitrac, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Vitrac
Old Coulsdon, Surrey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and setting but beware - no restaurant and few guests”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

We booked our September 2010 stay at this hotel back in February through Expedia and at that time the information we found on the hotel's website showed and talked about a lovely gourmet restaurant. So it was with some shock that we arrived to find the restaurant closed and 2/3 of the hotel rooms shut - they've been having a bad year, apparently. The lack of restaurant was very disappointing because it meant instead of the relaxing dining experience we had hoped for we had to drive out to restaurants every night. There is now a notice on the hotel website homepage which explains rather unclearly that they only do B&B (though the pages describing the restaurant are still there). We can't say whether this was there at the time of booking but we certainly didn't see it.
The hotel was very quiet - no more than 2 other sets of guests at any one time while we were there - so there was zero atmosphere. Although it added to the tranquility we would have welcomed a bit more of a buzz..
Our final gripe is that the directions to the hotel on the website and from what one gets from Google maps or on our satnav take you to a completely different road some km away from the actual location. So we spent a frustrating 45 mins driving around and asking passers by for directions. The hotel knew about this but haven't been able to do anything about it, apparently.
All this was even more of a shame given the fantastic setting of the hotel overlooking the Dordogne valley and the beautifully appointed room we had as well as the elegant lounge and restaurant (breakfast only!). Like the other reviewer, we would have enjoyed eating on the terrace but it was a bit too hot.
The staff were friendly and polite but it's an expensive 4* hotel (Euro 215 + 15 for breakfast) and so our impression was inevitably negatively affected by all this.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    19
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

The hotel was exquisite as was the large and spacious room--- the bathrooms were my favorite with a large tub. The staff was courteous and parking was ample. The location was a perfect starting point to explore the whole Perigord region from Sarlot to Cahors. We had a wonderful night dining on the terrace which overlooks the valley. The food was superb! The hotel has many amenities; billiards, bar, pool, golf...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

A wonderful classic hotel with up-to-date amenities. The staff was superb and met our every need. We stayed in the main hotel building rather than the new addition. The rooms (44 and 54) were large with two stuffed chairs and a desk. Decorating throughout the hotel is like a classic movie - elegant, understated and welcoming. The rooms had large windows and good air conditioning. Dinner on the patio overlooking the Dordogne Valley with views of the sunset and villas was something we will remember. The chef and staff delivered a perfect meal.

The hotel is on spacious grounds with a pool and gardens. The car parking area is convenient. It is a 10 minute drive to Sarlat which has stores for everthing. The on-site golf course looked challenging, but we did not play. I saw only a few people on the course. The location is good for exploring nearby attractions. To sum it up I would say elegant, quiet, and great service.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisvilleky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

Our beautifully-appointed room featured a private terrace overlooking a garden of pink hydrangeas and a verdant nine-hole golf course. The modern bathroom was large with a tub and separate shower. Another attractive feature was the swimming pool. Dinner on a terrace overlooking the Dordogne countryside was an incredibly presented gourmet extravaganza.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2008

We have returned from a most fantastic 7 night holiday in the Dordogne. To say we were impressed would be an understatement. The setting is fantastic - beautifully positied overlooking the river valley which reaches across to the lovely village of Domme which glistens at night. Never before have we stayed somewhere which was so spotlessly clean. The staff were first class - welcoming, friendly and very efficient. The food is superb. Our room was incredibly spacious and very comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone in the hotel. Would certainly recommend this to anyone looking for somewhere to be able to totally relax in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

We got to the hotel and found that it wasn't very crowded and we couldn't work out why because the staff were very helpful and it was a very nice hotel.

We were shown to two very spacious rooms with air conditioning and balconys overlooking a big infinity pool. the weather was great and we all enjoyed a dip in the pool to cool off before sunbathing with cool drinks.

We ate our dinner in a cosy room on the first night because it was chilly, the meal was average, but not overpriced. On the second night we ate outside where we sat and enjoyed the view of the mountains and the river.

The week before had not been great, with it being rainy, but this hotel made it up and we go home as happy holiday makers!

  • Liked — the good atmosphere and big pool
  • Disliked — the fact that not many people knew about it
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK and Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2007

We consulted Tripadvisor about this hotel and booked on the basis of the feedback, which was very positive. In particular, we printed a copy of the useful map, showing the location of the hotel as the directions on the hotel website are not very comprehensive. The Tripadvisor map showed the hotel as being located near La Caneda, to the north of Vitrac.
We arrived very tired on the evening of 7th August to find that the hotel was nowhere near where the map indicated ! Luckily we found someone in the La Caneda area, which is sparsely populated, who knew the hotel and was able to direct us. In the event, we still needed directions from another kind lady in Montfort before we found it. We did not see a single sign to the hotel on the way !
We strongly suggest that Tripadvisor update their directions...
As far as the hotel is concerned, it is quite spread out and we were a long way from the Reception and the dining/breakfast area. As we are fairly fit, this was not a problem but it might be awkward for elderly people as there are also a lot of stairs.
The hotel is in a very picturesque location with views towards the river. Unfortunately, there was thick mist every morning which only lifted as we were about to set out for the day, so we did not benefit from the views at breakfasts, which were taken inside. It was also cool in the evenings, so we regrettably were not able to enjoy the terrace, which looked romantic.
The hotel seems very modern and a bit characterless, although we were assured that parts of it were quite old. The room was certainly comfortable but, frankly, we could have been anywhere.
The food was top quality 'nouvelle cuisine' and quite expensive, but certainly worth it at least once during your visit if you do not normally get the opportunity to taste such fare.
The staff were very pleasant but a bit rushed, which is not surprising at peak season.
We were not able to use any of the facilities which included golf and a nice looking pool.
The hotel is very well located for visits to castles etc in the 'golden triangle' in the Dordogne.
In conclusion, we would certainly recommend it for a first visit but, if we were to return to the area we would look for somewhere with more character.

  • Liked — Clean, modern and comfortable, with adequate space
  • Disliked — Lack of character and long way from Reception etc
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Domaine de Rochebois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domaine de Rochebois

Address: Route De Montfort, 24200 Vitrac, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda > Vitrac
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Vitrac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Domaine de Rochebois 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hotel Domaine de Rochebois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine De Rochebois Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Domaine de Rochebois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.