We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As lovely as everyone says” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Domaine de Rochebois

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Domaine de Rochebois to your Saves list
Hotel Domaine de Rochebois
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route De Montfort, 24200 Vitrac, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Vitrac
Holywood, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“As lovely as everyone says”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

You'll not be disappointed. Beautiful grounds, plenty of free parking, and a fantastic location for exploring the surrounding towns and villages. The pool is smaller than it looks in the pictures, though it seems deep enough but it was empty when we were there as it doesn't open until after the first week in June.

Room Tip: We stayed in the villa annex in an "Italian" room and though the balcony had lovely views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    22
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
40
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stumbled across this hotel on our way down to the South of France; we weren't sure if it was a hotel or a golf course and then thought it was closed as there were so few cars in the car park.
But, we were found an elegant room (no balcony or patio rooms available). The bathroom was luxurious but the high light of our stay was the excellent food which we enjoyed on the hotel terrace overlooking the stupendous Dordogne countryside.
We lounged by the pool (deserted) and enjoyed the pretty garden. Breakfast was great. I can thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitwell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

A nice hotel in a nice location was spoilt for us by declaring that the dining room was fully booked and no chance for us to eat at the hotel. There is little point in using this hotel if you are not going to eat there. So be sure to book dinner at the time of booking the hotel.

It is obviously going for the luxury end of the market but as yet not quite there although there is some upgrading of the hotel and golf course still going on

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the chateau overlooking the valley towards Domme
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Spent three nights.This hotel is elegant and very peaceful. It is set in some lush surroundings in the Dordogne region. One could spend weeks here to relax. The rooms are spacious and the food fantastic. The staff are very helpful and nothing is too much a problem. Definitely reccommend.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Connecticut
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This place is truly elegant, in a lovely setting, well situated for exploring the Dordogne Valley, gracious staff, wonderful breakfasts--- everything about it is luxerious except the price tag. I can't understand why they weren't jammed to the gills, but the place was "slow" when we were there in late August. We do not hesitate to give Domaine de Rochebois the highest possible recommendation as a place to stay in the greater Sarlat area. Check their website for "promotions."

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castels, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 12 days and were made to feel very welcome. It was our second visit and we had the same room as previously with a lovely west facing terrace. The food is excellent and good value. Views from the dining terrace are wonderful over the Dordogne Valley and up towards Domme. We watched small aircarft and hot air balloons regularly.
We had half board basis as we were property hunting in the area and on our last evening they treated us to full a la carte with champagne! Can't ask for better.

Room Tip: Choose one with a terrace if you can. The ones in the newer part have lovely terraces - you can get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Latitiude 20/49
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We were touring the Dordogne valley and arrived in Sarlat a little late in the day. Being mid-September, we had not made reservations, so were trying to find the right combination of luxury and price. We just stumbled upon the hotel. We asked for a room with a balcony and a king bed. We had been accustomed to pay a premium for such a room. We ended up in an inexpensive yet luxurious room because we had to go to the villa to have a balcony.

This hotel has all the amenities, including a beautiful pool, wonderful restaurant, several sitting rooms, one with a bar, and, of course, a golf course. The room had a seating area, and large patio. The bathroom had a jacuzzi tub and a large shower stall. There was a separate room for the toilet. Robes and slippers were supplied. We stayed for 2 days because the place was so comfortable.

http://www.rochebois.com/uk/galerie.htm

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony. This will assure that you get the reasonable prices in the villa. The main mansio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Domaine de Rochebois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domaine de Rochebois

Address: Route De Montfort, 24200 Vitrac, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda > Vitrac
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Vitrac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Domaine de Rochebois 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Domaine de Rochebois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine De Rochebois Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Domaine de Rochebois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.