We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place and extremely friendly and helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pongwe Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pongwe Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pongwe Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pongwe Beach, Pongwe, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Pongwe
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Beautiful place and extremely friendly and helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We spent the first four nights of our honeymoon at Pongwe Beach Hotel. The cottage with its own private pool was very romantic. Upon entering the room we found the bed covered with rose petals and a bottle of cold champagne waiting for us. The food was in one word excellent - really the quality of a top restaurant. We had our meals every night on the beach, where the staff will upon request put your table for you to be alone with the sound of the waves, the soft sand on your feet, and the starlit sky. The staff and management were extremely friendly and helpful in a very genuine kind of way and did everything they could to makes us happy. Absolutely recommendable!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    443
    88
    24
    4
    3
See reviews for
57
382
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The north of Zanzibar might be a place to go if you are looking for a party but if you are looking for a piece of mind and have a special connection with nature and surroundings, the Pongwe Beach is your ultimate choice. We stayed at Pongwe Beach Hotel for 3 days and have only good things to say about this charming hotel. It is very well maintained and looked after, with friendly staff who are ready to help with anything. We were worried a bit about the food as there is not much of a choice to go around, but breakfast and dinner were delicious and different from day-to-day. Loved the atmosphere where we felt like at home and that white sand beach... check out my photos and for more details visit alextravelblog.com

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The north of Zanzibar might be a place to go if you are looking for a party but if you are looking for a piece of mind and have a special connection with nature and surroundings, the Pongwe Beach is your ultimate choice. We stayed at Pongwe Beach Hotel for 3 days and have only good things to say about this charming hotel. It is very well maintained and looked after, with friendly staff who are ready to help with anything. We were worried a bit about the food as there is not much of a choice to go around, but breakfast and dinner were delicious and different from day-to-day. Loved the atmosphere where we felt like at home and that white sand beach... check out my photos and for more details visit alextravelblog.com

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We just returned from Pongwe and cannot recommend this place enough. While the rooms are fairly basic, and could benefit from an upgrade compared to other mid-range hotels in Zanzibar, this is more than offset by the amazing, friendly and attentive staff and the beautiful beach setting of the hotel. All the staff greeted us by our first names after the first evening and they all took great care in talking and joking with our four year old daughter, who loved this place. Moreover, the beach and sea is absolutely stunning at Pongwe and far better than other places on the East coast of Zanzibar. Amazing. We also truly enjoyed having dinner at the beach and watching the sun set and moonlight. Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We have just returned from 7 nights at Pongwe and cannot stress enough what a brilliant time we had. The beach is incredible and the sea is beautiful. The staff were very friendly without being overbearing and the food (as numerous others have mentioned) is great. We ate on the beach 3 nights which was lovely and highly recommended. A fantastic place to relax and enjoy the surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Pongwe Beach Hotel. The hotel is located on one of the nicest beaches in Zanzibar (or Africa for that matter). Nice, well maintained and spacious rooms and excellent food from a South African chef. Staff was very friendly, helpful and welcoming. A great place to unwind for a couple of days (or weeks). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

A great find, very pleased we were able to be flexible with our dates to find a 3 night stay here in late September (they fill up quickly).

It is a smallish hotel, less than 20 rooms, around a lovely stretch of beach. You can swim in the sea straight from the beach even at low tide (not really possible in all places in Zanzibar).

The food was genuinely really good - the best of our near three week stay in Tanzania - cooked by a young South African chef who knows what he is doing. We opted for bed and breakfast so as to have a choice of evening meal and because we generally only eat one course (either the main course meal offered or lunch menu if the former was not to our taste), but unless you are small eaters like ourselves you are probably better off going for the half board option. It is not as if you can walk out the front gate to a restaurant further down the street (you would need a taxi to take you to another hotel).

One of my favourite experiences was seeing the bushbabies coming into the bar just after sun set, you can even feed them some banana. I have often heard them in Africa and seen them in the distance in a tree, but till then never had a chance to see them close up.

The only real downside is the salt water showers, a fairly big downside for me, but it says something about how much they have got right that I still give it 5 stars.

Finally, the good points above combined with good and friendly management with friendly staff make this a place I would definitely return one day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pongwe Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pongwe Beach Hotel

Address: Pongwe Beach, Pongwe, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Pongwe
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Pongwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pongwe Beach Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on what could perhaps be described as the best beach in Zanzibar, Pongwe Beach Hotel is a tranquil place where one can escape the hustle and bustle of modern day life. It is modestly sized, with ten traditional sea view cottages and has an intimate, personal atmosphere. Set within a secluded bay on the east coast of Zanzibar, Pongwe Beach is a true paradise retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Pongwe Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pongwe Beach Hotel Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pongwe Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.