We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pongwe Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pongwe Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pongwe Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pongwe Beach, Pongwe, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Pongwe
Reading
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We have just returned from 7 nights at Pongwe and cannot stress enough what a brilliant time we had. The beach is incredible and the sea is beautiful. The staff were very friendly without being overbearing and the food (as numerous others have mentioned) is great. We ate on the beach 3 nights which was lovely and highly recommended. A fantastic place to relax and enjoy the surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    450
    89
    26
    4
    3
See reviews for
59
387
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Pongwe Beach Hotel. The hotel is located on one of the nicest beaches in Zanzibar (or Africa for that matter). Nice, well maintained and spacious rooms and excellent food from a South African chef. Staff was very friendly, helpful and welcoming. A great place to unwind for a couple of days (or weeks). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

A great find, very pleased we were able to be flexible with our dates to find a 3 night stay here in late September (they fill up quickly).

It is a smallish hotel, less than 20 rooms, around a lovely stretch of beach. You can swim in the sea straight from the beach even at low tide (not really possible in all places in Zanzibar).

The food was genuinely really good - the best of our near three week stay in Tanzania - cooked by a young South African chef who knows what he is doing. We opted for bed and breakfast so as to have a choice of evening meal and because we generally only eat one course (either the main course meal offered or lunch menu if the former was not to our taste), but unless you are small eaters like ourselves you are probably better off going for the half board option. It is not as if you can walk out the front gate to a restaurant further down the street (you would need a taxi to take you to another hotel).

One of my favourite experiences was seeing the bushbabies coming into the bar just after sun set, you can even feed them some banana. I have often heard them in Africa and seen them in the distance in a tree, but till then never had a chance to see them close up.

The only real downside is the salt water showers, a fairly big downside for me, but it says something about how much they have got right that I still give it 5 stars.

Finally, the good points above combined with good and friendly management with friendly staff make this a place I would definitely return one day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Pongwe Beach Hotel for 2 days and it was so difficult to leave - I could have happily stayed there for much, much longer. The beach is truly spectacular - one of the best I've ever seen, rivalling Fiji, Cuba, Indonesia and Thailand. The hotel is gorgeous - the main public area/restaurant is a great place to relax, eat, and meet people. We spent a lot of time playing cards and chatting with the friendly staff, who were thoroughly attentive and kind. The bungalow we stayed at was simple, but impeccably maintained. The attention to detail remains unparalleled.

My husband and I have travelled to many countries and stayed at many beach-front hotels. I can easily say that the Pongwe Beach Hotel blows them all away.

Room Tip: I recommend doing the 'romantic' dinner on the beach - it was gorgeous. Though I don't e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Pongwe beach hotel was our final stop, after a few days in Stonetown and safari at the Selous Game Reserve. After the hustle and bustle and excitement of the previous week, Pongwe offered and provided a pretty much perfect paradise experience. It took a day to fully wind down and get in to the rhythm of Pongwe, which is VERY slow and peaceful. Fairly basic but comfortable accommodation is supplemented by the most gorgeous beach and coral reef protected sea. The hotel staff were friendly, welcoming, helpful and attentive, but not intrusively so. The food was varied, high quality and well presented. The evening cocktails were excellent - quality and value. Overall, a totally relaxing and perfect chill-out before flying home and back to normality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I came here on our honeymoon and our stay was intended to be the relaxing part of our holiday after going on safari. We certainly weren't disappointed. Our sea view suite was large, airy and well decorated and had a great little plunge pool. The grounds of the hotel and the setting (gorgeous beach and turqiose sea on the doorstep) were beautiful. With nothing else nearby, it's a great location to getaway and relax. On top of this, the food was excellent and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. We had a great time and have lots of fond memories of our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Thank you to Imagine Africa - who taylor made a fantasic holiday for us, enabling us to see many parts of Tanzania, including a stay with friends north of Kigoma.
Our last stop was Pongwe Beach Hotel which was the perfect place to end a very memorable holiday

Room Tip: Stayed in room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pongwe Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pongwe Beach Hotel

Address: Pongwe Beach, Pongwe, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Pongwe
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Pongwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pongwe Beach Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on what could perhaps be described as the best beach in Zanzibar, Pongwe Beach Hotel is a tranquil place where one can escape the hustle and bustle of modern day life. It is modestly sized, with ten traditional sea view cottages and has an intimate, personal atmosphere. Set within a secluded bay on the east coast of Zanzibar, Pongwe Beach is a true paradise retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Pongwe Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pongwe Beach Hotel Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pongwe Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.