We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing ambience, great beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pongwe Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pongwe Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pongwe Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pongwe Beach, Pongwe, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Pongwe
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing ambience, great beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My time here was the most relaxing ever! The food was amazing! You have to order meals a few hours ahead of time as they shop and prepare everything freshly. They have a great infinity pool and a superb beach. You can also request for dinner at the beach at no extra cost! The staff were really friendly. If you get grossed out by insects, take insect repellents to be able to sleep in peace. They have snorkeling gear and two kayaks you can borrow for free. They also organize snorkeling trips and other activities upon request at decent prices. I'm definitely going back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    453
    89
    26
    4
    3
See reviews for
60
389
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We recently stayed at this resort in Pongwe, Zanzibar, and found it to be a beautiful place to relax after the craziness of Dar and Stonetown. Our room was right on the beach front, with the high tide waves lapping at the bottom of our steps. The tide goes out a long way, and you can walk along the sand to the village, or just wander in the shallows. Our room was clean, spacious and has good mosquito netting and fly screens on the windows. There is no air con, but we found the fans, and the sea breeze sufficient to keep us cool. There were nice little touches, like robes and sarongs, sun hats in the room.
The staff here are excellent, they provide the best customer service, in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. There are no touts trying to sell you things on the beach, so you can relax and enjoy the view, the swimming, or snorkelling out at the reef. You can swim here when the tide is in, and there's a lovely pool for when the tide is out. The hotel has its own boat to take you out snorkelling or fishing.
The food in the restaurant was very good, lots of fresh fish and seafood. The menu is limited, but changes daily, and special requirements can be catered for. The wifi internet is not free, but the operators have installed new wifi so that it is available in all rooms, and the signal is excellent, so its good value at $10 for your whole stay. There's no TV, but you can play various board games in the bar. If you want nightlife, this is not the place for you, however, the happy hour half price cocktails were a hit, before dinner each evening.
Overall, this is a really lovely place to stay and relax.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms have been recently refurbished, ours was sea front, and had a new outdoor area wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 10 days during our honeymoon and are very glad we did. The hotel is situation on a cozy strip of white sand beach where you will not be bothered by people selling you trinkets. The hotel has only 20 rooms and definitely has an intimate feel you would expect at a boutique establishment. After only 2 days we felt at home with the friendly staff that all displayed service you would expect at a "typical" five-star hotel. Furthermore, the food was fantastic. The team of chefs consistently impressed us with their offerings for all meals that highlighted local seafood and ingredients. Definitely order a seafood platter and dine on the beach if you do stay here! I high recommend staying here as it is the ideal beach setting to relax at after a safari or just to escape. Kudos to everyone that works at Pongwe I hope to return again in the near future.

Room Tip: Opt for a sea-side view villa with private pool if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

If you aren't sprining for the fancy place out off the coast, then Pongwe is for you! HUGE rooms, amazing, white sand beach, breezy atmosphere. They have a truly spectacular chef, and the food was incredible! Only downside is that it's a bit far from Stonetown, the airport, so would definitely recommend several nights here, and one or two in Stonetown, which shouldn't be missed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel gives you easy access to one of the very best beaches in the world, and this is probably the greatest asset of this place. The staff are overall very good and very attentive to special needs. Travelling with toddlers, we did have special needs, and felt very well looked after.

The rooms are spacious, but too basic considering the price of the accommodation. The restaurant is okay, not great. The hotel is quite isolated from the real world, which is part of its charm.

I can recommend Pongwe Beach Hotel if you're looking for a quiet tucked away place and scenic beauty is your priority. If you want a cultural experience along with beach life you would want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My partner and I spent three nights at Pongwe after a hectic week on safari. It was just what we were after. Complete relaxation, the most stunning setting and the best service of our whole trip. I have nothing bad to say. We would highly recommend staying here for the perfect end to any trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I visited this resort in March 2013. We stayed in one of the sea view suites with plunge pool. It was a very large room with an equally large toilet and shower area. Two large ceiling fans were there to cool us off, but it was often not enough for the hot and humid nights. We enjoyed the infinity pool overlooking the beach which was always quiet and private. The food offerings were very good and the staff friendly. They were very attentive to any dietary needs or restrictions we may have had. Internet access was sporadic due to thunderstorms in the area. We did not enjoy having two cats roam the dining room during meals. It was only once we commented in writing about this that management took care of it. The new management team was very effective and hospitable. The driver of the shuttle service to the airport was very knowledgeable about Zanzibar which made for an enjoyable ride.

Room Tip: The sea view suites with plunge were newer. However we were told that they would be renovating the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pongwe Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pongwe Beach Hotel

Address: Pongwe Beach, Pongwe, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Pongwe
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Pongwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pongwe Beach Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on what could perhaps be described as the best beach in Zanzibar, Pongwe Beach Hotel is a tranquil place where one can escape the hustle and bustle of modern day life. It is modestly sized, with ten traditional sea view cottages and has an intimate, personal atmosphere. Set within a secluded bay on the east coast of Zanzibar, Pongwe Beach is a true paradise retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Pongwe Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pongwe Beach Hotel Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pongwe Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.