We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, fantastic beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pongwe Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pongwe Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pongwe Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pongwe Beach, Pongwe, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Pongwe
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good hotel, fantastic beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel gives you easy access to one of the very best beaches in the world, and this is probably the greatest asset of this place. The staff are overall very good and very attentive to special needs. Travelling with toddlers, we did have special needs, and felt very well looked after.

The rooms are spacious, but too basic considering the price of the accommodation. The restaurant is okay, not great. The hotel is quite isolated from the real world, which is part of its charm.

I can recommend Pongwe Beach Hotel if you're looking for a quiet tucked away place and scenic beauty is your priority. If you want a cultural experience along with beach life you would want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    445
    89
    25
    4
    3
See reviews for
58
384
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My partner and I spent three nights at Pongwe after a hectic week on safari. It was just what we were after. Complete relaxation, the most stunning setting and the best service of our whole trip. I have nothing bad to say. We would highly recommend staying here for the perfect end to any trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I visited this resort in March 2013. We stayed in one of the sea view suites with plunge pool. It was a very large room with an equally large toilet and shower area. Two large ceiling fans were there to cool us off, but it was often not enough for the hot and humid nights. We enjoyed the infinity pool overlooking the beach which was always quiet and private. The food offerings were very good and the staff friendly. They were very attentive to any dietary needs or restrictions we may have had. Internet access was sporadic due to thunderstorms in the area. We did not enjoy having two cats roam the dining room during meals. It was only once we commented in writing about this that management took care of it. The new management team was very effective and hospitable. The driver of the shuttle service to the airport was very knowledgeable about Zanzibar which made for an enjoyable ride.

Room Tip: The sea view suites with plunge were newer. However we were told that they would be renovating the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Small hotel with charming bungalows scattered on a paradise beach with white sand and transparent water. Beautiful snorekeling spot on the corral reef. Very nice staff and great food. Ideal for relaxation after a sporty trip on the mainland.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I cannot put into words how much I loved this hotel. Went with my other half just before Christmas and it was absolute heaven. It was very quiet during our stay (there were two only two other couples there) so I don't know how much that affected the level of service they were able to provide to us but neither of us have ever experienced such a high level of service before. Left alone when we wanted to be, fresh fruit at 4pm every afternoon, personalised kiswahili lessons! I would highly recommend asking for dinner on the beach which can be arranged for up to two couples per night (we were able to be on the beach every night since it was quiet). Very romantic setting with the tables surrounded by candles and flowers. Food was absolutely delicious, easily of a 5 star standard. The infinity pool was quite small (can imagine in high season it gets quite crowded) but the stunning setting more than made up for it. If you're looking for luxury then this might not be the place for you - the rooms are quite basic (lovely four poster beds, fans, nice big bathroom) but it really is bliss.
Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is not luxury, but it is bliss. The salt water showers (there's no fresh water on site) and basic decor might put some off, and the sometimes haphazard service might frustrate, but you don't go to pongwe if you want 5 star treatment. Go if you want somewhere unique, with character, and in one of the most beautiful settings imaginable. The chef and barman are pretty damn good as well. You'll find fault if you are looking for it, but you'll find bliss if you're looking for that too!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay here. We never knew we could do so little and love it so much! Beach, pool, lobby, patio with private plunge pool, food, service and atmosphere all great. We would come back if we got a chance.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pongwe Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pongwe Beach Hotel

Address: Pongwe Beach, Pongwe, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Pongwe
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Pongwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pongwe Beach Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on what could perhaps be described as the best beach in Zanzibar, Pongwe Beach Hotel is a tranquil place where one can escape the hustle and bustle of modern day life. It is modestly sized, with ten traditional sea view cottages and has an intimate, personal atmosphere. Set within a secluded bay on the east coast of Zanzibar, Pongwe Beach is a true paradise retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Pongwe Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pongwe Beach Hotel Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pongwe Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.