We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pongwe Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pongwe Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pongwe Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pongwe Beach, Pongwe, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Pongwe
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

this is the place to be if you just want to chill and reflect and enjoy a natural beach environment. Staff are extremely friendly and looked after our every need and seemed to enjoy their work! Simple accommodation under the palm trees. Go to sleep listening to the waves, there is nothing more soothing. Food and drinks were great. We took full advantage of happy hour cocktails! Gorgeous poolside area for when the ocean is too far away to swim but dont miss the rockpools then! Boat trips available out to the reef, island tours can be booked too if you stay longer than a couple of days. Great place we want to return to one day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    450
    89
    26
    4
    3
See reviews for
59
387
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Amazing place to stay. We spent 1 week there and everything was just perfect, from the food to the beautiful beach.

Don't expect too many things to do as the place is rather secluded (which is a great thing by the way)

A special mention for the staff, super friendly and helpful. Highly recommended, and if you can afford the beautiful honeymoney suite do not hesitate, very nice private swimmingpool...

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We (my husband and I in our mid-sixties) were lucky enough to spend 4 nights in a beachfront room at Pongwe. It was wonderfully relaxing and very beautiful. We were lucky that the high tides corresponded with the middle of the day when we were there, so if that's important to you and you have some flexibility, it's worth checking the tide tables. The high tide made a real difference compared to other resorts on the East coast and also the fact that the Pongwe tide doesn't seem to fluctuate so much as other places (even during low tide) made it a real draw. We only had to use the pool once even though it was quite a nicely designed 'infinity' pool. The seawater was really lovely. It was quite windy on a few days though. I 'd say that Pongwe was my second favourite beach after Kendwa.

The other factor that absolutely made our stay here was the fantastic food - especially seafood; very creative menus, well-cooked with a lot of variety - both lunch and dinner.

It was also great that they had good wifi for $10 per stay, a comfortable room but not opulent, good bed, lots of fresh towels for beach and personal use, and locally-made gowns, plus it was very clean.

I was extremely impressed with all of the happy, smiling starving- whether kitchen, rooms, garden or security; they were all very warm, friendly and welcoming.

We thought the price was good value for low season but sad that there is going to be a significant price hike next year - above our budget although I understand that returning guests get a 20% discount.

Asante sana to all the staff at Pongwe!

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for beachfront if you only have a few days
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Yes I know that the fictional Shangri La was supposed to be in the Himalayas but I just can't get over how idyllic this place was. Lovely surroundings, intimate atmosphere, exquisite private beach and fabulous gourmet food from the new chef.

It all made for a wonderful contrast after a week of climbing Kilimanjaro. My only caveat was the service in the dining room. The toast arrived independently from the rest of my cooked breakfast if it arrived at all and half the time, I did not get the food invoice until the next day. These were minor administrative inconveniencies though in the scheme of things.

I would highly recommend this location to romantic couples and anybody wanting complete peace and quiet in a luxury environment. Book an ocean view room if you like to hear the waves at night as my wife and I do.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, BC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We only had 2 days to enjoy the glorious beach of this charming resort.....but the highlight was the fabulous dining thanks to a new chef from South Africa.....we LOVED his innovative menus - .. Currently there are concerns regarding service in the dining and lounge areas....hopefully this can be corrected in the near future...BC Canada

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breckenridge
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We came to Pongwe after spending 2 days in Stonetown. Loved the beach area with hammocks strewn about...... We stayed in a "suite" at the very end of the resort. Quiet area. The beach area was the best part of this stay. Restaurant large could be more intimate and decorated better. Food was ok. We did a spice tour we arranged ourself with the taxi driver who brought us there. Pool very nice but not much shade around it. Kayaks were fun to use. Lots of sunny and shady area on the large beach area. We would stay here again, if you want a exquisite beach you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The 2 rooms at the end of the resort are nice but basic, choose the smaller one that is closest to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is absolutely spot on for relaxing after a safari or Climbing Kilimanjaro or just to get away from the hub bub of a busy life!

Our room was a Garden view in the little enclave set just back from the beach i.e. rooms 5/6/7

Whilst I supect if I had the choice I would pay the $40 or more per room per night difference for a sea front room I was not disappointed at all.

Free use of laptop in reception and wifi for a small fee was also available...connection was pretty good!

All the staff were extremely attentive and tried hard to help and understand what is not their mother tongue and indeed to educate us with a few words of swahili.

Rooms are very comfortable without being luxurious and extremely clean and well maintained

The beach is wonderful white powder sand with lots of shell seeking opportunities and you can pay a small fee to go out snorkelling or indeed line fising in the hotel boat 'Marie Rose'

Food was a real pleasant surprise the chef Willem and his staff cooked a different menu each night making use of the fine seafood they purchase each day but not leaving out the carnivores amongst the guests...lamb was succulent...the food was both well presented and delicious.

WE loved the ever changing scene changing of tidal waters and whilst the snorkelling was not on a par with the great places on earth like the Great Barrier reef or Hawaii it was fun and you saw some marine life, all be it not plentiful... Captain Ali and his team were great hosts.

The infinity pool was well cared for and a delight to use.....

If you have a birthday or anniversary arrange with the desk for a special private table on the beach underneath the stars surrounded in a perimeter lined circle of exotic flowers in the sand to make it special at no extra cost!

I really cannot praise this hotel enough I really do hope one day we can return but the least I can do is make others aware of the excellent experience which awaits them...don't hesitate book it and go!

All the staff were great and always had a smile for you especially the effervescent Miriam

So it's a big 'Asante Sana' to all at Pongwe Beach!

Just one word of caution this hotel does not take groups/parties of 10 or over which is probably a good thing for those who want a quiet relaxing get away from it holiday!

Room Tip: Rooms 5/6/7 are Garden view rooms set about 20 metre back from the beach down a plesant hedge lined...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pongwe Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pongwe Beach Hotel

Address: Pongwe Beach, Pongwe, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Pongwe
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Pongwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pongwe Beach Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on what could perhaps be described as the best beach in Zanzibar, Pongwe Beach Hotel is a tranquil place where one can escape the hustle and bustle of modern day life. It is modestly sized, with ten traditional sea view cottages and has an intimate, personal atmosphere. Set within a secluded bay on the east coast of Zanzibar, Pongwe Beach is a true paradise retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Pongwe Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pongwe Beach Hotel Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pongwe Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.