We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great end to 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queen of Sheba Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Queen of Sheba Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Queen of Sheba Beach Hotel
Annex of Santa Maria Coral Park | P.O. BOX 4115, Pongwe, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pongwe
Harare Province, Zimbabwe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great end to 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Me and my Fiancé Linda, had a great 5 day stay at this lovley place. The staff was great and the Manager Petra made sure that all our needs were catered for checking on us everyday. Thank you Petra, Fatima, Musa and Helen for the last sweet/romantic dinner you organised for us.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    4
    4
    6
See reviews for
5
17
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for two weeks. The stay itself was rather pleasant (I do not mind occasional salty water at the showers) and the location was great.

However, for us the experience was totally ruined in the end. When leaving the hotel we found out that some of the money we had left at the hotel safety deposit was changed to fake dollar bills (1200$ worth altogether).

The hotel management played innocent and instead accused us for spreading fake money when we complained about the incident to the local police. We had to stay two extra days on the island and get the help of our country's Honorary Consul to even get the official investigation started. Apparently this kind of thing happens occasionally on Zanzibar.

Ironically, every room at the hotel has a sign reminding guests to leave their valuables to the hotel safe.

The owners of the place (who have a German bank account) have not to this day offered any compensation.

I do not recommend the place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I stayed a few nights at Queen of Sheba, annex of Saint Maria Coral park, in January 2014 and unfortunately would NOT recommend to anyone to stay there for the following reasons:

- (Main issue!) Running water is salty! As you can imagine it's very surprising the first time and not nice to clean yourself after a day at the beach or to brush your teeth!

- No air conditioning which is a must in Zanzibar as the temperatures are very high even at night. There is a van but that's is definitely not enough,

- The beach in the front of the hotel is full of rocks so makes your swim almost impossible without plastic sandals,

- Constant problems with power! The resort has a regenerator for the electricity but won't use it unless you ask!

- The hotel is quite far from everything so it will cost you a fortune to get a taxi anywhere (e.g: 120dollars Paje/return),

- You feel more in someone's property than in a hotel/resort. The directors and their 7years old son have their house next to the hotel so they will always be around, eat at the restaurant, chill at the bar, have their two dogs running around etc. It might not be a issue if the resort is busy but if not you might feel like you are stepping in a family's daily life,

- Expensive for what you get ($50 for a single, $90 for a double, $120 for a triple). You can find a nicer hotel with a better location and facilities (e.g. Internet) for a similar price. Check 'La Madrugada beach resort' or for fans of kite surf 'Paje by night' is the place to be,

- You have to order your dinner min 4hours before you want to eat and the proportions are very small for the price asked,

- Make sure, if you still decide to stay there, you pay everything you order straight away and in Tanzanian shillings otherwise you will have issues with your final bill,

- The vibe is awful, you feel like even the staff is not happy to be there.

Room Tip: I would recommend you to chose a place with a swimming pool. I know it can seem silly but the tight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

WOOOOOW!!!! Memorable time at Queen of Sheba as during our December hoilday my boyfriend proposed to me. The staff are great, warm and friendly. Petra (the owner/manager) goes round every morning and evening asking guests how they are and if they are comfortable.
Location is right on the beach and it's in close proximity to other hotels so you can easliy walk there for lunch or dinner (if tide is low).

An all round awesome budget place!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the Serengeti beach bungalow excellent view of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Quite the worse place we stayed on Zanzibar. Given the number of great places along the beach why should this place be so poor? Beautifully located with as good facilities as anywhere else, it has everything going for it so how does it get things so wrong? Even the marmalade at breakfast is revolting. They really need to seriously review their management as the staff are lovely. Such a shame to be in so lovely a setting yet to leave with such bad feelings. Since this place is part of Santa Maria Coral Park I'd be nervous about going there too.

Room Tip: Try seasons next door and don't put your money in the safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Excellent budget choice. Very welcoming and helpful staff. Location is right on the beach. It's so small it's almost like having your own place and you soon get to know the other guests. The room was wonderful - clean, spacious and everything worked! Safe available at reception. Appeared to be no shortage of hot or cold water. No problem with mosquitos whilst we were there. Food was basic but good and always served at the time ordered in advance - staff actually took the trouble to find us to check if we wanted to order dinner. Can't really snorkel from the beach, but a trip out to the reef was just $15 each for a couple of hours. No beach at high tide but this wasn't a problem as there was plenty of opportunity to go onto the actual beach when the tide was part way in or out, and there are sunbeds, hammocks and shady seated areas available at all times on the beach area in front of the accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room if possible, and 1st floor if possible as this gives more breeze and more priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in August '13. Pros-good value for money, decent room for the price, nice balcony and a very chilled atmosphere. Great shower! Cons - food could get a little repetitive but you can walk to other resorts at low tide to try something different. No beach at peak high tide. Would be a good place to hire out in it's entirety if you had a very large group.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queen of Sheba Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen of Sheba Beach Hotel

Address: Annex of Santa Maria Coral Park | P.O. BOX 4115, Pongwe, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Pongwe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pongwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Queen of Sheba Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Of Sheba Beach Hotel Pongwe, Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen of Sheba Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.