We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zanzibar 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilimani Kwetu Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zanzibar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilimani Kwetu Bungalows
P.O. Box 2647 | Bwejuu East Coast, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 115 Zanzibar B&B and Inns
Mfuwe
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Zanzibar 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Wonderful little gem, on the east coast of the island. Our four days were wonderful and idyllic. A very relaxed vibe, and very good value for money. The beachside bar and restaurant was a perfect place to chill and enjoy the beautiful beach. I highly recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I spent 3 nights at Kilimani Kwetu and thoroughly enjoyed it. The people were lovely (staff and guests), really enjoyed the dinners together, the beach is peaceful, lots of options to organise excursions for the day or to just relax.
The rooms are simple but clean and comfortable, we only had cold water but given that it is so warm down there, nothing else is required.
Would highly recommend it to people who are looking for a friendly, peaceful and relaxing place and who like the communal feel of a small hotel.
Would highly recommend hiring a bike and riding along the beach.
Thank you for a great few days of relaxation!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

During our stay on Zanzibar we discovered the perfect spot with a wonderful beach, nice German owner and new and very personal bungalows. Unfortunately it was totally booked out during our time. Nevertheless, we manage to have a couple of meals there: fantastic local chef, fresh food, you can tell them in the morning what you fancy and they will prepare it. Meals are taken at the open air common room in a very intimate yet stylish setting with local fabrics, candles and with some luck live music played by the owner and his friends. The Beach area is simply divine - comfortable beach beds (rare on Zanzibar, trust me!) hammocks and pillows.
As a surplus, the owner owns a boat and will take you out for fishing or snorkeling.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

There are hundreds of nice hotels in Zanzibar-- many fancier and more elegant than this one, with swimming pools and luxury amenities. But if you want a simple, low key holiday with nice clean rooms and decent food, and great low key service-- this is the place for you. It also has a terrific beach side cafe. We liked the fact that it is not walled off from the nearby village, and that people walk across the path in between the restaurant and the beach side garden. We have been here with my family 4-5 times, and liked it each time. The beach does not have lots of tourist hotels or swarms of visitors-- its quiet and secluded. Good for swimming at high tide and for exploring marine life in tidal pools at low tide.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011 via mobile

Remote and simple. But everything you need. Amazing food. Amazing beach. Amazing staff and service.
Highly recommended for a fantastic and relaxing holiday in Zanzibar.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed at Kilimani Kwetu for almost a week with a big group. We had rented all bungalows available for a sensible price and it was no problem at all to fit more than two into each of the huge beds. We had excellent food, fresh fish every day, and something for our vegetarians as well. The beach is close (but swimming only possible at high tide).
Clemens, the owner, made sure that nothing left to be desired. He has a lot of contacts to people organising tours such as snorkeling, swimming with dolphins, ox cart and canoeing.
Definitely a place I would recommend. Just don't expect any luxury such as hot showers, fitness rooms or satellite TV.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

We have been in Kilimani Kwetu for one week end of January, 2011. Really nice place with 4 bungalows, beach bar and dining place. The staff very helpful (especially the owner Clemens, he also can help you to arrange the bicycles for rent, taxi etc).

The rooms are cosy and clean.
The food is very delicious- fresh bread, fruits and omelet for breakfast (you must taste the mango honey, too); wonderful local soups and seafood for dinner- it is only a few meals prepared by local cook. Breakfast and dinner always at big table (you can feel like at home) - it's very good way to meet with other guests (your holidays neighbors).
The beach is quiet. My favorite place in the beach was hammock between two palms.

Everything else in Kilimani Kwetu you must enjoy yourself. I am sure you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kilimani Kwetu Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilimani Kwetu Bungalows

Address: P.O. Box 2647 | Bwejuu East Coast, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Zanzibar
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our little place by the sea is close to the local fishing village of Bwejuu.We have bungalows on a very spacious site with sea views. Each bungalow comprises two rooms and each room has an en-suite bathroom. You can choose between a twin room or a double room. Of course we are also able to accommodate extra beds for children if needed. All the rooms have European sockets. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilimani Kwetu Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kilimani Kwetu Bungalows to your Saves list