We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset Bungalows” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Bungalows

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Bungalows to your Saves list
Sunset Bungalows
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 3546, 3546, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 142 Hotels in Zanzibar
Lagos, Nigeria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sunset Bungalows”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Man at front desk was quite rude to my friends and I upon arrival and insisted we give him an extra tip on top of room rate. Resturant is OK, but nothing to write home about. Cheaper beers than next door at Kendwa Rocks. Good place to stay if rooms are full at Kendwa Rocks.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    105
    47
    27
    28
See reviews for
11
112
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The rooms are really nice - large double beds with mosquito nets (although ours did have a hole), ensuite bathrooms, balcony and aircon. The breakfast is basic (eggs, bread, juice, tea/coffee). The daytime/evening service in the restaurant is very slow - but there are plenty of other places to eat nearby. No wifi, but again this is available nearby. We were a bit disappointed by the beach itself - other people have rave about it so we had high expectations, but it was nothing special.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Spent a few very relaxing days here as part of an Intrepid Africa tour. The rooms are very large with good mosquito nets, room safe, clean bathroom and even a balcony.

The restaurant has nice food but the service can be very slow, sometimes over an hour so order early or go next door. Always check the bills they charge to your room as our group had many issues with random drinks etc being charged to us. They also never seem to have change at the bar.

The free breakfast is pretty bad and none of the eggs seem to have yolks (egg white omelets) except the hard boiled ones! The beach is really nice and there are lots of sun lounges available as well as free volleyball.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Hi,

We stayed here for 5 nights in April 2014. This was the cheapest resort available on this side of the island - so we went for it - and I'm glad we did.

It isn't a 5* resort (or 4* or 3*) maybe just a 2*, but the rooms are clean, beds are clean and comfortable with mosquito nets (much needed and appreciated) so for value for your money, in comparison to the other resorts along the same stretch of beach - it's fine. There is always hot water available for showers.

The breakfast is not great, just eggs and bread is part of the B&B deal - anything else (beans, sausages, bacon etc) is extra. However, we could see that construction was underway on the premises for a new restaurant and bar area and the manager told us this would be fully functioning by July 2014. So high hopes for then.

If you choose to stay here I recommend going next door to Kedwa Rocks for food and drinks and partying (but there is no need to stay there as their rooms are the exact same standard and almost exact same furniture as Sunset but Kedwa is more expensive to stay in) as we spent majority of our time on their free sunbeds, getting great food (fresh seafood pizza's were amazing as well as the daily chef's specials) as well as their fresh fruit juices (try passion fruit juice and pineapple - amazing!). It's only a few meters away from sunset - literally the neighbouring hotel.

If you fancy splashing out, 2 hotels down from Sunset (past Kedwa and the next hotel along) called Gold is ridiculously expensive, but they have a nice pool. They charge $20 per person to use their pool - if you like that.

The stretch of beach is just beautiful! Even though we saw 2 small jelly fish, we enjoyed lots of time in the calm crystal clear sea with gorgeous white sand.

This isn't a great hotel, but again - you can't really complain for the prices they charge.


****Management - please keep the grounds maintained!******

Room Tip: We initially booked a Beach Bungalow - but we asked to move due to power outages - we moved to room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Sunset Bungalows was a fantastic break for us.

After weeks on an overland truck we arrived to be amazed by the large clean rooms with four poster beds and big bathrooms. Each room also had a large balcony with nice outdoor furniture. We had several plumbing problems with our room. The hot water hose to the sink burst twice and we saw flooding in other rooms.

The beach that belongs to the hotel is stunning. Possibly the best beach that I have ever been too. But the rooms aren't on the beach, most of them are set up on the hill.

There is no wifi in the hotel but you can get it from the scuba shop next door and it works from the hotels restaurant. The restaurant is ok, I had one good meal there but the rest were very disappointing. I would recommend eating at the restaurants down the beach. Having said that the bar does have a good night life and is a fun place for a few drinks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Me and my colleague were on a business trip to Dar Es Salam....went to Zanzibar island on a weekend....we enquired about the best beaches in Zanzibar...Most locals suggested this place...It was one among the best beaches I have seen...the hotel is just average but the beach was amazing...the restaurant in the beach called bikini bar served drinks and food on the beach ...totally an amazing place...one of closest experience to the nature...three stars for the hotel but five stars for the beach...

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

First let me start off by saying, ''When the deal is too good, think twice"! We wish we did. Rooms are nothing to write home about, nothing fancy. Breakfast, the worst we have ever come across. The coffee was tasteless and just looked like coloured water. Our rooms had a terrible stench from the bathroom. The staff are permanently in a trance, every time was story time, too lazy for our liking thus service was very poor. We cut short our stay by two days to a better place. There are better places just next door.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Bungalows

Address: P.O. Box 3546, 3546, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#80 On the Beach Hotel in Zanzibar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sunset Kendwa, your place to stay in the tropical paradise of Zanzibar's north coast. Fringed by powdery-white sand beaches, azure waters, and thriving coral reefs, the exotic spice island of Zanzibar is the most idyllic of tropical destinations. We offer a wide range of brightly decorated traditional rooms and bungalows, as well as all the facilities you will need to help you ease into Zanzibar's relaxed pace of life. Right on the perfect sands of Kendwa beach on Zanzibar's north coast, this is the perfect place to unwind, spend your days swimming or sun-bathing, snorkelling, scuba diving with our award winning on site water sports centre Scuba Do Zanzibar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Sunset Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Bungalows Hotel Zanzibar
Sunset Hotel Zanzibar
Sunset Beach Hotel Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.