We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cristal Resort Ltd

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Cristal Resort Ltd to your Saves list
Cristal Resort Ltd
P.O. Box 3917, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 142 Hotels in Zanzibar
Dar Es Salaam
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We are a family of 4 with 2 children aged 6 and 7 at the time of staying at Cristal in late October 2012. The location is great and the overall experience very good. Swimming pool is great for young kids and there are a variety of different rooms. We had a family room and it was very spacious - the air con did not work the first night and the bed squeaked every time we moved - this problem was solved the next day once we informed reception. The breakfast is OK but the hidden gem is the Thai restaurant next door owned by the same hotel - the food was excellent and we lived in SE Asia for 8 years.
After talking to a friend who looked at a variety of hotels in Paje he said that Cristal was the best value for money in that area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    72
    24
    25
    26
See reviews for
49
96
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jinja, Uganda
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I was worried about staying here after seeing the mixed reviews; however it was a lovely place to stay. The location was fantastic, we were right on the beach and the view was amazing from our room. It seemed very good value for money, although we did go in low season and got a last minute deal. The bungalow was very spacious and pretty and someone came in twice a day to ensure it was clean and make the bed. The kite surfers did become slightly annoying in the water but in general the beach was great. If you want 5 star luxury this is not the resort for you, the staff weren’t particularly friendly and knew very little about paje, also the towels that they provided didn’t always seem the cleanest. Overall a very nice place to stay, very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The food in the restaurant was very good and HB is a good option (3 choices for starter. maindish and dessert). In the surrounding you can find also other restaurants. There is also an second restaurant (thai/japanese) connected with the crystal lodge.We had the eco bungalow. It is a simple bungalow not luxuari, but we didn't expected that for this rate, but stays very romantic on the beach with a nice big terrace viewing the sea. The bathroom gives a nice hot shower. the douchecurtain is a little bit dirty from the moisture. The bathroom/toilet is connected with the bedroom so gives less privacy then in the stone (more expensive) bungalows. There is a cupboard you can locked and a simple safe, we suggested that you use them. We stay from 26-9 until 4-10-12 and had very nice weather (no rain) The beach is lovely, we likes the low tide, then the water is gone and you can make a nice walk to the reef. later or earlier the water is back and you can make a nice warm swim. Diving with Mohammed and Ali (zanziworld diving connected with hotel) is a good choice, especially the dive in the north was lovely. The massage lady is superb and every dollar worth!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Not worth the money, ugly and dirty. Management is not accomodating and the lovely beach is jampacked with kitesurfers. Down the beach aways, there is a better hotel/bungalow, cleaner and nicer. We were told that the bungalows had been upgraded, and that the bug infested rock inside the cabin was a decoration, when it was obvious it was just poorly consructed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

The Cristal Resort has got a nice beach and the overall setting is beautiful. I stayed in two different ECO lodges during my week there. ECO lodge no. 8 (very nice sea view) was ok for the low season price of USD 40 (single, B&B) but I don't think it is good value for money in the high season. The other lodge was a bit run down and I would have not wanted to stay there for another night. I strongly recommend to check out the lodge you are given before moving in. The main problem though and the reason why I would not recommend the Cristal Resort was the food. It was well below average and definitely not worth the money. Maybe I just picked a bad week with the regular chef being on leave but it was really rather disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed 5 nights at Cristal Resort and enjoyed it very much. We enjoyed the long walks on the beach, and the swims in the sea and the swimming pool. The Beach Rooms with AC are really nice, and very pleasant to rest after a walk in the heath. We had Half Board (HB), which we would really recommend, and especially loved the 3 course dinners. If you are looking for a place where you can rest, relax, recreate and reflect Cristal Resort is the place to be!

Room Tip: We live in Africa, so enjoyed the luxury of AC and warm showers in the Beach Rooms. If you come from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Zanzibar was great there was a few things you may be interested to know.

First 2 days no water or electricity then it became an intermittent problem but we survived.

Personally i loved the stretch of beach and the tours.

We wouldnt recommend the "cristal resort" this was due to water issues and ellectricity plus the fact the the advertised the sea food platter every day and we tried ordering it 4 nights in a row and they never had it available. Was always missing Crab and lobster. they made no effort to get these to items.

Coctails were served in beer glassed and I needed to tell the staff which glass to put red and white wine...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cristal Resort Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cristal Resort Ltd

Address: P.O. Box 3917, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Zanzibar
#39 Spa Hotel in Zanzibar
#77 On the Beach Hotel in Zanzibar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Cristal Resort Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cristal Resort Ltd Hotel Zanzibar
Cristal Hotel Zanzibar
Cristal Hotel Ltd

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cristal Resort Ltd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.