We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Part of our Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Palm Beach Inn to your Saves list
Palm Beach Inn
Bwejuu, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 142 Zanzibar Island B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Part of our Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My wife and I went to Zanzibar for our honeymoon. We stayed in four different hotels and Palm Beach Inn was easily our favourite. We felt so relaxed from the moment we arrived and the people working there are brilliant. We stayed in The Kamilo Honeymoon Suite which was really nice and had lots of personal touches. The food served there (we always chose fresh fish) was the best we had on the holiday.

The owner Madfuhd was so interesting - if he’s around definitely have a chat with him about how Palm Beach Inn help the community. The staff also helped organise our tips to Jozani Forest, Kizimkazi to swim with dolphins in the ocean, a tour around Bwejuu village with a local elder, all of which were brilliant.

To avoid any confusion: if you want a large posh hotel with things like satellite tv in your room then Palm Beach Inn may not be for you. If you are looking for somewhere more interesting, a bit bohemian perhaps, to relax, make friends and really get a feel for Zanzibar then this would be a good choice. Palm Beach Inn was the lowest price of all our accommodations but by far the best. If my wife and I ever go back to Zanzibar we will stay there for the whole of our holiday.

Thank you Mahfudh and the rest of the kind staff who made our honeymoon.

One tip is that there are no cash points outside of stone town so make sure you have some cash (dollars or Tanzanian shillings are best). Enjoy!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kamilo Suite which was a separate cottage with it's own little garden. We reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    10
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
17
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

If you want to be in a real paradise, go to this hotel. I had been 17 years ago and my memories were wonderfull so I was a bit afraid of being dissappointed, but on the contrary, the hotel has improved a lot. There is a crystal clear swimming pool, all the rooms have been redecorated tastefully in the nice swahili style, all are ensuite, and very clean. Staff are very friendly, food in the restaurante is very tasty although a bit pricey.

Room Tip: I had the Bimtumwas suite, and it was excellent, the price is like a normal room. The two rooms in t...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Only two nights here, but I left as relaxed as if I'd been here a week. The setting is ideal, next to a beautiful beach which is well worth getting up early to watch the sunrise over. The rooms are pleasant, the wifi the best I found on Zanzibar.

The best bits are outside the rooms though, lovely gardens, a great new pool, plenty of places to sit and relax both in the sun and in the shade. There's also an amazing owner whose family is a part of both Zanzibar and African history, staff who are only happy to help, and a general atmosphere that is second to none.

It's not the hilton, so don't expect it to be, but it has all the facilities one needs and what it might 'lack' in terms of the fluffy towels and marble bathrooms it more than makes up for in the things that you can't see, but you feel, and it wraps you up a lot better than even the fluffiest of towels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you like a place, a hotel, not like the others on zanzibar just go to Palm Beach Inn. The rooms a romantic and clean close to the beach. The staff is very friendly and the food is the best on the island. The hotel manager and his staff will help you with every means to get around the island and have nice experiences. In the evening local musicians will lighten up you're evening.

Room Tip: Kamillo suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

i stayed with a friend at this lovely hotel and were looked after so nicely, like family! we will never forget these people, the island and the warmth that we felt. we would come back any day!
we kept in touch with the family since then, while we were there we were we took all the trips available to swim with dolphins down south and were met at the end of the day with a fish of the day meal home made for us...we recommend...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband stayed 4 nights at the lovely Palm Beach Inn. We chose this location after reading the website and learning about their philosophy on supporting community. The owners, Mama Naila and her son Mahfuhd are doing a lot of great work toward this.

When we arrived at the airport, the owner, Mama Naila came with the driver to greet us. She bought us each a cold bottle or water and directed the driver to take us to the hotel. We were greeted with super friendly staff. Our room opened right onto the beautiful pool and looked out onto the beach. We truly felt we were in paradise.

My husband has some health issues and unfortunately, just an hour after we arrived, we needed to get him to a doctor to get treated for dehydration. Mahfuhd, personally drove us the hour to Stonetown to see his friend, Dr Mehta, who has a clinic in town. He would not allow us to pay him for the transportation costs. He said that it is his calling to compassion and that is just how he lives his life. Mahfuhd waited 3 hours with us while my husband was given some IV fluid. As we were driving back late at night, Mama Naila made us some delicious, freshly caught parrot fish and rice so that my husband could continue to feel better.

The next morning, after we opened our windows, staff brought us some fresh mango juice and coffee to start our day. We had a wonderful, relaxing day at the pool and on the beach and by the next day, were ready to go on an all day boat tour. The staff set us up on a day tour on a wooden sailboat which included watching dolphins, snorkeling, a delicious lunch on the beach and swimming in a lagoon.

The rooms were super clean and very nice too. The overall facility is very nice and charming. The food was fresh and wonderful! Each day, we had fresh fruit, eggs and toast for breakfast. And for dinner, Mama Naila selected the fish that was caught in the waters right in front of Palms Beach.

We enjoyed spending time talking with Mama Naila about her women's group, who make crafts and do some work at the lodge. She spends a lot of time helping to empower local women, which we tremendously admired. Mahfuhd has also done a lot of work through his beautiful music to help promote peace in his community and to help support the local people. He often has beach fires and music for his guests in the evenings.

I loved this place and most of all the people. Every staff person was extremely friendly and accommodating. Mama Naila and Mahfuhd are wonderful, interesting people who are very kind and welcoming! I cannot say enough about our stay at the Palm Beach Inn!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
at sea
Level Contributor
133 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I came across this property by accident...I was facilitating a workshop for UNESCO and needed a place to stay. Arriving at 10pm was not the best time to see things...as well, the electricity was still out and had been for a few hours..(should be no power outages by the end of Nov 2012). In any case my colleague and I were tired and cranky and Che the manager could not have been more helpful in putting us into two very comfortable basic rooms...with ensuite toilet and shower, hot water in shower, and a comfortable bed that has a view to stun you...especially at 6AM when the sun comes up and dazzles the sleep out of you...time for a quick dip in the ocean or the great pool and then a hot shower and on to a grand breakfast. Eggs, toast, fruit, juice, tea, coffee all included with the price of the room.(rooms are AC, fanned, fridges and mozzy nets) Great place on the Indian Ocean, lovely beach with kilometres of white talc like sand and private. Well guarded and maintained, this is a place to treasure, you get a good return on your holiday investment dollar here and the surrounding area has lots to see and do. Stonetown is about 1 hour away by Dalla Dalla and an easy run for touring there as well. Mark this hotel down for a getaway with great staff, good food and not bad on the pocketbook.

Room Tip: take a small room that has an opening window on the Indian Ocean to be gently blown to sleep by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Palm Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Inn

Address: Bwejuu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Zanzibar Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Palm Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Hotel Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.