We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kendwarocks Zanzibar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kendwa Rocks Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kendwa Rocks Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Kendwa Rocks Beach Hotel
Kendwa Beach, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Zanzibar
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“kendwarocks Zanzibar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Kendwarocks is a nice place to stay especially if you are looking for more of a party atmosphere. The full moon party is fun. I've stayed at Kendwa twice, once when the full moon party was on. The beaches are nice and swimming in those waters is glorious. The room rates are fairly low and one can get a banda with communal amenites at around 20USD per person per night.
The breakfast and pizza was Ok but generally the food leaves a lot to be desired. Carry some cash with you though, the system was misbehaving last time and we had to pay as we spent, with a percentage increase when you pay by card. It's about an hour's drive from stone town and you can get an affordable taxi from there to stone town or even use the daladalas at a much cheaper rate. We got a van on our day out and managed to do some more sightseeing of stone town before being dropped off at the boat.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    113
    102
    41
    41
See reviews for
23
118
48
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Overlooking swathes of white sanded perfection, Kendwa Rocks offers the perfect balance between tranquility and excitement. The choice of accommodation varies to suit your budget ranging from shared dorm rooms to private beach houses. It is a mecca for backpackers so even if you are traveling by yourself you'll always be among like minded spirits. The staff are friendly, efficient and well managed. The Saturday parties are well worth coming here for with a spectacular array of delicious cocktails and an imaginatively decorated dance floor. There's a great mix of music genre and live performances. In general the food is excellent with a huge variety of foreign cuisine. Try the sushi - it's great. Kendwa watersports offers a range of activites from banana boating to deep sea diving. The sunset cruises are spectacular (when it's not cloudy) and the snorkeling day trip complete with lunch is must-do. The management is incredibly helpful and professional. I thoroughly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Just returned from a 10 day trip to Zanzibar and am happy to say that Kendwa Rocks is easily the best place to stay on the island! This is my third trip to Znz, so I've had the benefit of staying in a few different resorts and Kendwa Rocks is definitely my favourite. All rooms are value for money, I stayed in one of the bungalows on the beach and it was comfortable, nicely decorated and most importantly safe. The staff were all friendly and efficient and the general atmosphere there is just pure vibes. The beach is naturally stunning and the full moon party on the beach is definitely not to be missed. Kendwa was both chilled and buzzing in turns, and provided the space for an amazing cost effective holiday without compromising on quality - highly recommend it!

Room Tip: The bungalows on the beach are beautiful, but all rooms look great from what I've seen :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

It is a nice location, even though there are much nicer spots on this remarkable island. The General Manager is unfriendly and ignorarant and does not respond to obvious customer needs. Consequently the staff is badly trained, slow and does not understand customer expectations. Problems are considered as "customer problem" and not solved with the spirit of helping the client and prividing him an excellent service.
Funny aspect: Good looking girls get a good attention at least from the male hotel staff which kind of describes the spirit the management creates in Kendwa Rocks...
Even the high priced bungalows are quite muffy and dark. The card system was down for quite a long time, so guests had to pay in cash, which was a problem since the next ATM is in Stone Town.
A different management would do Kendra Rocks very good...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Choma, Southern, Zambia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

My experience at Kendwa was outstanding! We stayed for 5 days and it was so relaxing and enjoyable! The bungalows were very cute and tidy, the staff was friendly and hospitable, the food was great and the beach was amazing! The set up on the beach is perfect, plenty of shaded areas and beach chairs to lay out on! The service in the restaurant was some of the best I have had thus far in Africa! I was pleasantly surprise by the sushi and the cocktails were nice! The location is perfect for viewing some of the most beautiful sunsets I've ever seen! Its just a great, easy going, relaxing place with many people that want to make your experience as enjoyable as possible! I LOVED it!

Room Tip: Choose a bungalow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I am staying here for 9 days and I have the time of my life!
They have cheap rooms to sleep and also more expensive rooms, what are better rooms, so there is for everyone a choice. The breakfast is included by every room and the breakfast is good, they have bread, fresh(!) eggs, fruit, pancakes, sausages, juices, coffee and tea! You can relax here, but also partying, if you like to party, make sure that you are here when the full moon party is taking place, it is once in a month! They have a lot of activities to do here, they organize a lot of things and there is a office where you can book great tours for all over the island. There is also a restaurant and a bar, where you can have lunch and dinner, they have a big menu and I tried every night something else, it was always very delicious! Also the staff is great, they are very friendly and helpful!
So if you want to have a great holiday, you should go to Kendwarocks!

Room Tip: The houses on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorschoten
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed in Kendwa Rocks for 9 days and it was amazing!
You could really call it paradise, because that is the feeling we've had every day.
We stayed in a cheap room with two beds and a fan, which was really good and clean.
You can also stay in nicer, more expensive rooms if you like.
You can do everything on the beach, the sunbeds are for free and there is a great restaurant and bar.
There is also an oppertunity to do watersports and be more active if you'd like.
You can get very nice food all day long (there is a lot of choice) and order drinks from the bar; for us that was the best holiday feeling.
The breakfast is like a buffet and is very good, they even make the eggs fresh for you, just the way you like them.
The staff is good and friendly, they make you feel at home. They help you with every question you have and really make an effort.
At night there is a really nice athmosphere, with everybody eating and drinking and chatting together.
If you want to have a great holiday, you should really go to Kendwa Rocks, because it offers so much and everything is really really good!

Room Tip: The houses on the beach are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kendwa Rocks Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kendwa Rocks Beach Hotel

Address: Kendwa Beach, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Zanzibar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kendwa Rocks Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kendwarocks Bungalows Hotel Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kendwa Rocks Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.