We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay in PGH Zanzibar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pearl Guest House

Pearl Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zanzibar Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pearl Guest House
Save
You added Pearl Guest House to your Saves list
Kiponda Street | Darajani, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 148 Zanzibar Island B&B and Inns
Dubai
1 review
“Pleasant stay in PGH Zanzibar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

My friends and I visited Zanzibar from the Middle East, we put up at the PGH which is centrally located in Stone Town close proximity to most amenities. We noticed a lot of refurbishing done and more on the way to upgrade the hotel. The staff are pleasant and ready to assist. Water and electricity was not an issue at all. They had back-up generator to supplement power cuts which were rare. The rates are very reasonable compared to other hotels of the same standard in stone town.
We wish PGH and their staff good luck.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
3
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Excellent:
- Hotel
- Staff
- Price
- Location

For those of you traveling to Zanzibar, checking into this hotel is a must!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

We had a lovely time and very safe with best buy for the money.Very friendly people in Zanzibar.The Hotel is walking distance to all tourist locates.
This journey made me look at how you can be comfortable with such little money.Also feel very safe and quiet and away from long traffic in our our parts of the world.I forgot driving when I was in Zanzibar.
Pearl Guest House is a place to stay and hang around balcony in the morning to see School going kids with their excitements.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2006

We have been to Zanzibar and stayed at Pearl Guest House,which is located at Stone Town.
The staff were extremely good and courtious.The G/House was clean and very safe and location was fantastic since all historical places and market places were within working distances.
The Guest House offers Breakfast in the morning.Bathing is no problem with plenty of hot and cold water.
Beaches can be reached by walking or even biking
There are self-contained rooms and few of them are air-conditioned.Worth considering the value for money.
I like the idea of being made ot feel at home away from home.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2006

We have just visited Zanzibar islands and Tanzania Game reserves. The lovely island of Zanzibar has lots to offer with great beaches and great hospitality.
We stayed at an affordable Pearl Guest House, run by Mr.Champsi who offered us a great rate and friendly services. The staff and hotel is well kept and good for the money.
When landing in Zanzibar, you may be offered several hotels by Taxi drivers but it remains your choice to decide though you may be told the particual hotel you are inquiring is full. I suggest that you call the hotel directly to confirm.
I recommend this B&B for those with limited budget as well as if you are interested in avoiding high beach hotel prices as the island can be covered to any location from the town by an max. of two hours drive.
Pearl Guest House also provided us with extra discount on extended stay and transport to the beaches in the East of the Zanzibar Island. The hotel website is ----

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zanzibar Island hotels
18.7 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#3 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 832 reviews
0.4 mi away
Al-Minar
Al-Minar
#16 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
27.1 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#7 of 9 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#9 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mashariki Palace Hotel
Mashariki Palace Hotel
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
5.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
#5 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl Guest House

Address: Kiponda Street | Darajani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Zanzibar Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Pearl Guest House Hotel Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearl Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.